GBMC HealthCare RN Reviews | Glassdoor

GBMC HealthCare RN Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
John B. Chessare
5 Ratings
  1. "A Community Hospital of Comradery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What makes GBMC so great is that it is one of the few remaining not-for- profit community hospitals that exist within modern society that genuinely evokes a sense of compassion and comradery amongst it's staff; and the community. Being that it is not your large scale industrial big name hospital, GBMC is the kind of place where you slowly develop those special and close personal relationships with everyone from the cafeteria...

    Show More

    Cons

    This is not exactly the ideal hospital to work at if you are looking for experience in more action packed high acuity areas such as shock trauma or advanced cardio-invasive intervention as this hospitals acuity level does not accommodate those cases at this time. The hospital is also not as technologically advanced as others in the surrounding metro area.

    Advice to Management

    Send out courtesy reminders for those who may need renewal of certifications or licenses before expiring.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-06-22

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    June 23, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your review and great feedback, I will pass it along to our HR specialists.

  2. "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    Patient population , staff support services and technology

    Cons

    Location and using beltway is a nightmare

    GBMC HealthCare2019-07-11
  3. "💰"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Modern hospital with updated resources

    Cons

    No support from management .

    GBMC HealthCare2019-05-11

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 21, 2019GBMC Relationship Manager

    We are surprised by your post and we would like to learn more about your experience at GBMC. Please feel free to reach out to our Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer, Anna-Maria Palmer, at 443-849-2033. We want to ensure you have an enjoyable employment experience.

  4. "Community based"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN-II in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Longevity of the older staff that has worked there. Patients are from the community. Patient appreciative of their care.

    Cons

    Low hourly pay. No lunch breaks. No teamwork.

    Advice to Management

    Trust in your staff

    GBMC HealthCare2019-04-01

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    April 8, 2019GBMC Relationship Manager

    At GBMC, we pride ourself on our culture and compassionate care. Our workforce longevity speaks to this. Please feel free to reach out to Anna-Maria Palmer, Chief Human Resources Officer so she can better understand your comments. Anna-Maria can be reached at apalmer@gbmc.org

  5. Helpful (1)

    "An ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN 

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits package, free parking, some great coworkers

    Cons

    Unfair policies, lower than expected raises, dealing with other departments within the facility can be difficult, not many opportunities for advancement (unless your friends with certain people). I worked here 12 years and never thought the staff turnover rate would be as high as it is now. Don't get me started on lean daily management (it's pointless).

    Advice to Management

    Long time employees will continue to leave if policies and procedures continue to change almost everyday.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-04-13

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    April 21, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. I’m happy to see that you like our benefits package and that you have had positive working relationships with your colleagues. I appreciate your input re: our policies If you would like to talk more at length about these concerns please ...

    Show More
  6. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    Good benefits and hours but that is it

    Cons

    Poor management. What would you do if it was your daughter is the motto but this does not apply to the staff. I had a hostile work environment with a manager. She was nasty and rude. I actually had to file a grievance with HR. She was unstable.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to trust your staff for the professionals they are and stop treating them as disposable commodities. This is especially true of seasoned senior nurses. I realize you can hire new grads for less but then spend thousands training them just so they move on due to poor treatment by management

    GBMC HealthCare2017-04-16
  7. "Great staff and patients, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    The majority of patients are polite and appreciative of the work you are doing. Many of the staff members have been employees of the hospital for 15+ years are knowledgeable and pleasant to work with.

    Cons

    Management is a revolving door. Communication between management and staff is poor, leading to frustrations among staff.

    Advice to Management

    Openly communicate upcoming changes prior to them taking effect; Be willing to work with staff members to accommodate scheduling conflicts-the more you are willing to help staff, the more willing they will be to help the unit when staffing is short. Policies/procedures need to be reviewed-some are outdated.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-01-05

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 20, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. I’m happy to see that you enjoy the patients that you’re caring for and that you have positive working relationships with your colleagues. A knowledgeable workforce is one of the reasons why GBMC is such a well-respected hospital! I appreciate ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Be Careful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Has a very good vision statement, the organization needs to take their vision and treat employees the same. Maybe they should change the vision statement from "Treat every patient as if they were a family member" to "Do unto others as you would like done to yourself"

    Cons

    Cannot speak up without retaliation! Leadership titles such as VP and others given to people who do not have a degree. What organization do you know that a Masters Degree is not required for a VP position, well go to GBMC and you may have a chance. But wait, it is not what you know it is who you know. Dictatorship, many silos, one person or department does not know what the other is doing. No advancement!!

    Advice to Management

    Break the triangle that came from New England. Instead of laying honest and good employees off, consolidate upper management. The organization is not that big. You want to stay independent downsize the C suite, i.e. Most small organizations don't have a VP of risk/legal and a VP of Quality and Patient Safety. One VP oversees risk/legal/quality/patient safety; then have directors for each entity. This would save $$$$$$$.

    GBMC HealthCare2016-07-08
  9. "Good place to work despite poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Joppa, MD

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare for more than 8 years

    Pros

    supportive co-workers opportunities for advancement wonderful benefits

    Cons

    Patient-nurse ratio disorganized lack in leadership budget limited supplies to do your job

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the needs/concerns of your employees and really make an effort to find a solution to some of their needs.

    GBMC HealthCare2015-11-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "This used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No assigned uniforms......YET. My co workers are amazing and when you have to work under staffed that means a lot. Also the parking is free too employees however all employee parking areas are inconvenient and force some people to leave 15-20 minutes earlier just to clock in on time. But hey its free, I guess.

    Cons

    Management is horrible, there is a lot of favoritism. Pay is low in comparison to other hospitals. Employees aren't valued or even equal to other employees. Chain of command is pretty non existent. If you have a problem on your unit everything is at the "managers discretion" and if your manager is the problem there is pretty much nothing you can do but switch units. Even then it's up to your manager if you can go. Management...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house!!! Get more nurse managers that understand TEAMWORK and need less underlings (CUC's) to do their jobs!!

    GBMC HealthCare2015-09-05
Found 12 reviews