GBMC HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor

GBMC HealthCare Reviews

Updated October 3, 2017
89 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John B. Chessare
23 Ratings

89 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great benefits package, free parking, some great coworkers (in 10 reviews)

  • Friendly work environment, very good benefits (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • Not a lot of chance for advancement on the non-clinical side (in 2 reviews)

  • Dictatorship, many silos, one person or department does not know what the other is doing (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    The people are innovative and the atmosphere is comfortable.

    Cons

    The salary increase/raise is too little.

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review!


  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Positive focused mission on the patient, healthcare on premises

    Cons

    Multiple priorities, conflicting messages from senior team

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for the review! If you have additional comments, please contact socialmedia@gbmc.org.

  3. "Patient Services Assitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    The employees are pleasant and the pay is okay

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement on the administrative side

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review GBMC. We appreciate your feedback.


  4. "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great environment. Great health benefits.

    Cons

    Punching a clock. The 7 minute rule is pretty terrible.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for providing your review. We appreciate the feedback.


  5. "A Community Hospital of Comradery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Baltimore, MD
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    What makes GBMC so great is that it is one of the few remaining not-for- profit community hospitals that exist within modern society that genuinely evokes a sense of compassion and comradery amongst it's staff; and the community. Being that it is not your large scale industrial big name hospital, GBMC is the kind of place where you slowly develop those special and close personal relationships with everyone from the cafeteria worker to your fellow RN colleagues to your supervisor. It is one of the least punitive health care environments I have had the pleasure to work in, where instead of persistently scrutinizing and discouraging employees, they focus on ways in which an individual may improve and implement plans to improve accordingly.

    Cons

    This is not exactly the ideal hospital to work at if you are looking for experience in more action packed high acuity areas such as shock trauma or advanced cardio-invasive intervention as this hospitals acuity level does not accommodate those cases at this time. The hospital is also not as technologically advanced as others in the surrounding metro area.

    Advice to Management

    Send out courtesy reminders for those who may need renewal of certifications or licenses before expiring.

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your review and great feedback, I will pass it along to our HR specialists.


  6. "Medical secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Secretary in Towson, MD
    Former Employee - Medical Secretary in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Seeing the same patients all the time and the connection with them. As well as working alongside the nurses was a great experience

    Cons

    The unit was understaffed and made for a very stressful work environment. Even though Friday's are short days, Monday through Thursday turned into 10 hour days because there was too much work for one person to complete in an 8.5 hour day.

    Advice to Management

    Better use of employees and staffing

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the review. If you would like to discuss your review with someone in more detail, please send an email to socialmedia@gbmc.org. Thank you


  7. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, proactive management on quality assurance and performance improvement

    Cons

    stand alone hospital among networks

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work,

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 17, 2017 – GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the great review. We are so glad to see that you have had a great experience at GBMC. Thanks for being part of the team!

  8. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    lots of clinical opportunities available

    Cons

    lack of opportunities for recent grads

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 17, 2017 – GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the review! Have you visited our www.gbmccareers.org page for new opportunities?


  9. "MA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The job keeps changing. GBMC has gone into the Epic program in the last 8 months. This makes information gathering easier.

    Cons

    Working in an offsite office removes you from participating in many events at the hospital for staff. Poor implementation of Epic

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 5, 2017 – GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your taking the time to submit your feedback and your review. I will share the information with our human resources team. We appreciate your dedication to GBMC.


  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Towson, MD
    Former Employee - Cashier in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, enjoyable position, good job while finishing college

    Cons

    I do not have anything negative to report about GBMC.

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the review. We are glad that you had a positive experience working here.


Showing 89 of 95 reviews
Reset Filters