GBMC HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor

GBMC HealthCare Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 133 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
John B. Chessare
41 Ratings
  1. "phebotomist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist in Fort Towson, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    try to acquainted company that no what work ethics really mean .CrITERA definition Job in several synonyms

    Cons

    Down Fall that you got employee don't take pride of belief system treat people right Fake motto commercialize

    Advice to Management

    Management get lazy in don't fulfilled thy end of corporate position ....By leave out value out

    GBMC HealthCare2017-08-29

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    September 5, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your note. Can you please confirm that you are referring to GBMC in Towson, Maryland. Your review states Oklahoma. Please advise as we would like to look into this further.

  2. "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great environment. Great health benefits.

    Cons

    Punching a clock. The 7 minute rule is pretty terrible.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-07-16

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    July 31, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for providing your review. We appreciate the feedback.

  3. "A Community Hospital of Comradery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What makes GBMC so great is that it is one of the few remaining not-for- profit community hospitals that exist within modern society that genuinely evokes a sense of compassion and comradery amongst it's staff; and the community. Being that it is not your large scale industrial big name hospital, GBMC is the kind of place where you slowly develop those special and close personal relationships with everyone from the cafeteria...

    Show More

    Cons

    This is not exactly the ideal hospital to work at if you are looking for experience in more action packed high acuity areas such as shock trauma or advanced cardio-invasive intervention as this hospitals acuity level does not accommodate those cases at this time. The hospital is also not as technologically advanced as others in the surrounding metro area.

    Advice to Management

    Send out courtesy reminders for those who may need renewal of certifications or licenses before expiring.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-06-22

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    June 23, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your review and great feedback, I will pass it along to our HR specialists.

  4. "Medical secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Secretary in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Seeing the same patients all the time and the connection with them. As well as working alongside the nurses was a great experience

    Cons

    The unit was understaffed and made for a very stressful work environment. Even though Friday's are short days, Monday through Thursday turned into 10 hour days because there was too much work for one person to complete in an 8.5 hour day.

    Advice to Management

    Better use of employees and staffing

    GBMC HealthCare2017-06-02

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    June 5, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the review. If you would like to discuss your review with someone in more detail, please send an email to socialmedia@gbmc.org. Thank you

  5. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, proactive management on quality assurance and performance improvement

    Cons

    stand alone hospital among networks

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work,

    GBMC HealthCare2017-05-17

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 17, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the great review. We are so glad to see that you have had a great experience at GBMC. Thanks for being part of the team!

  6. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    lots of clinical opportunities available

    Cons

    lack of opportunities for recent grads

    GBMC HealthCare2017-05-11

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 17, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the review! Have you visited our www.gbmccareers.org page for new opportunities?

  7. "MA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The job keeps changing. GBMC has gone into the Epic program in the last 8 months. This makes information gathering easier.

    Cons

    Working in an offsite office removes you from participating in many events at the hospital for staff. Poor implementation of Epic

    GBMC HealthCare2017-05-02

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 5, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your taking the time to submit your feedback and your review. I will share the information with our human resources team. We appreciate your dedication to GBMC.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "An ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN 

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits package, free parking, some great coworkers

    Cons

    Unfair policies, lower than expected raises, dealing with other departments within the facility can be difficult, not many opportunities for advancement (unless your friends with certain people). I worked here 12 years and never thought the staff turnover rate would be as high as it is now. Don't get me started on lean daily management (it's pointless).

    Advice to Management

    Long time employees will continue to leave if policies and procedures continue to change almost everyday.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-04-13

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    April 21, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. I’m happy to see that you like our benefits package and that you have had positive working relationships with your colleagues. I appreciate your input re: our policies If you would like to talk more at length about these concerns please ...

    Show More
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, enjoyable position, good job while finishing college

    Cons

    I do not have anything negative to report about GBMC.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-03-30

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    April 4, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the review. We are glad that you had a positive experience working here.

  10. "GBMC Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great people and staff shows that they care for all patients. Shift differential unless you are on morning shift.

    Cons

    Pay for my department isn't what I expected.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-03-21

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 23, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

Found 133 reviews