GBMC HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

GBMC HealthCare Reviews

Updated Sep 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
GBMC HealthCare CEO John B. Chessare (no image)
John B. Chessare
37 Ratings
  1. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, proactive management on quality assurance and performance improvement

    Cons

    stand alone hospital among networks

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work,

    GBMC HealthCare2017-05-17

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 17, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the great review. We are so glad to see that you have had a great experience at GBMC. Thanks for being part of the team!

  2. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    lots of clinical opportunities available

    Cons

    lack of opportunities for recent grads

    GBMC HealthCare2017-05-11

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 17, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the review! Have you visited our www.gbmccareers.org page for new opportunities?

  3. "MA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The job keeps changing. GBMC has gone into the Epic program in the last 8 months. This makes information gathering easier.

    Cons

    Working in an offsite office removes you from participating in many events at the hospital for staff. Poor implementation of Epic

    GBMC HealthCare2017-05-02

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    May 5, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your taking the time to submit your feedback and your review. I will share the information with our human resources team. We appreciate your dedication to GBMC.

  4. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    Good benefits and hours but that is it

    Cons

    Poor management. What would you do if it was your daughter is the motto but this does not apply to the staff. I had a hostile work environment with a manager. She was nasty and rude. I actually had to file a grievance with HR. She was unstable.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to trust your staff for the professionals they are and stop treating them as disposable commodities. This is especially true of seasoned senior nurses. I realize you can hire new grads for less but then spend thousands training them just so they move on due to poor treatment by management

    GBMC HealthCare2017-04-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "An ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN 

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits package, free parking, some great coworkers

    Cons

    Unfair policies, lower than expected raises, dealing with other departments within the facility can be difficult, not many opportunities for advancement (unless your friends with certain people). I worked here 12 years and never thought the staff turnover rate would be as high as it is now. Don't get me started on lean daily management (it's pointless).

    Advice to Management

    Long time employees will continue to leave if policies and procedures continue to change almost everyday.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-04-13

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    April 21, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. I’m happy to see that you like our benefits package and that you have had positive working relationships with your colleagues. I appreciate your input re: our policies If you would like to talk more at length about these concerns please feel free to reach out to Stacey Rotman, MSN, RN Nursing and Human Resources Administrator SROTMAN@gbmc.org or 443-849-2483

    Show Less
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, enjoyable position, good job while finishing college

    Cons

    I do not have anything negative to report about GBMC.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-03-30

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    April 4, 2017GBMC Relationship Manager

    Thank you for the review. We are glad that you had a positive experience working here.

  7. "GBMC Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great people and staff shows that they care for all patients. Shift differential unless you are on morning shift.

    Cons

    Pay for my department isn't what I expected.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-03-21

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 23, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

  8. "Nurse Support Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free parking for the employees

    Cons

    You have to cover your facial piercings

    GBMC HealthCare2017-03-01

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 20, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your review and your long-term commitment to GBMC!

  9. "Patient Coordinator Front End Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great employees, dedicated workers, full coverage health benefits

    Cons

    No room for occupational growth.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-02-16

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 20, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your review.

  10. "Unit secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    I love it here the people are great the benefits are even better and it's an all around great place

    Cons

    Very under staffed at times

    Advice to Management

    None

    GBMC HealthCare2017-01-18

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    January 23, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for the great feedback!

Found 124 reviews