GBMC HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor

GBMC HealthCare Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 123 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
GBMC HealthCare CEO John B. Chessare (no image)
John B. Chessare
36 Ratings
  1. "I loved my time there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deskside Support Technician in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Not an issue to communicate with management.

    Cons

    Process and policies need tweaking.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-01-03

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    February 9, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback!

  2. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Medical Secretary in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Looks our for their employees - Care about their employees - Teaches compassion/respect for our patients.

    Cons

    The dreaded green scrub tops and black pants -- Benefits could be better and prescription coverage could be better.

    GBMC HealthCare2016-12-22

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    February 9, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for the great feedback!

  3. "Great staff and patients, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN 

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    The majority of patients are polite and appreciative of the work you are doing. Many of the staff members have been employees of the hospital for 15+ years are knowledgeable and pleasant to work with.

    Cons

    Management is a revolving door. Communication between management and staff is poor, leading to frustrations among staff.

    Advice to Management

    Openly communicate upcoming changes prior to them taking effect; Be willing to work with staff members to accommodate scheduling conflicts-the more you are willing to help staff, the more willing they will be to help the unit when staffing is short. Policies/procedures need to be reviewed-some are outdated.

    GBMC HealthCare2017-01-05

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 20, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. I’m happy to see that you enjoy the patients that you’re caring for and that you have positive working relationships with your colleagues. A knowledgeable workforce is one of the reasons why GBMC is such a well-respected hospital! I appreciate ...

    Show More
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    Leadership is very involved and has the mindset that it is there job to empower you to do yours. Great flexibility with schedules/work from home/etc.

    Cons

    Heavy workload at times. Seems like there are some departments that are left to do a whole lot with very little resources.

    GBMC HealthCare2016-12-05

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 20, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for the review and your commitment to GBMC.

  5. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bel Air, MD
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, very good benefits

    Cons

    Lack of communication between executives and employees

    GBMC HealthCare2016-11-21

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 20, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. If you'd like to provide additional feedback or information please email socialmedia@gbmc.org and someone will be in touch with you.

  6. "Ok place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Ora in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    Great insurance, great location, free parking, good benefits

    Cons

    Classism, Elitism, and passive aggressive racism. Little job advancement

    Advice to Management

    Do more to increase employee morale. Learn to treat all employees the same from the Janitor to the CEO

    GBMC HealthCare2016-11-29

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 20, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. If you'd like to provide additional feedback or information please email socialmedia@gbmc.org and someone will be in touch with you.

  7. "Employee engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director of Nutrition SErvices in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees regularly boasted about the excellent benefit package

    Cons

    Staff wanted better career opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Get a better pulse on employee concerns to minimize the high volume of negative complaints.

    GBMC HealthCare2016-10-27

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 20, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.

  8. "Great Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great vision and people in the GBMC community

    Cons

    Management, support from leadership, poor resources

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so numbers focused

    GBMC HealthCare2016-11-01

    GBMC HealthCare Response

    March 20, 2017Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

  9. Helpful (7)

    "If you are looking for a job in HR, don't come to GBMC!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Practice Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at GBMC HealthCare

    Pros

    Great benefits you won'f find at most companies

    Cons

    What's up with the HR Department? They have lost three HR Business Partners in the last six months and they were long tenured valued HR professionals. The HR Manager who was hired this summer last only two months! There is something awry in that department. They act like it's a chore to deal with employees and now you must make an appointment to talk to anyone! Talk about close door policy! Rumor is the head of... HR runs everybody out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dr. Chessare, You need to find out what's going on with the leadership in that department. You should talk to those who left and find out why your leader is running them out! It's sad because GBMC is such a great organization. I would never recommend anyone to that department. Never!!

    GBMC HealthCare2016-09-25
  10. "Excellent attitudes toward volunteers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    High School Student Summer Volunteer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GBMC HealthCare for less than a year

    Pros

    Every one of the staff that I interacted with was friendly, happy to give me work to do, and willing to explain what it is that they did and why -- wonderful for an inquisitive and aspiring volunteer.

    Cons

    Many of the menial jobs are boring and don't feel useful -- either in the moment or when you're recounting them to later employers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! Volunteering here got me hooked on providing service to medical institutions and in pursuing a career related to medicine.

    GBMC HealthCare2016-08-12
Found 123 reviews