KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

GCS Recruitment

Is this your company?

GCS Recruitment

Add a Review

GCS Recruitment Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 108 of over 111 reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
GCS Recruitment Managing Director David Bloxham
David Bloxham
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "work hard play(in 13 reviews)

  • "Incredibly quick career progression(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "very long hours but that is the nature of the industry(in 23 reviews)

  • "Fairly regimented working hours, not much working flexibility until at a more senior level(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place

      Apr 14, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team & work environment

      Cons

      NA all good to go

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      From the orientation you can tell this place is not professional

      Jun 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Long Island City, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      its virtual so that's the only pro.

      Cons

      They make it seem like its a wonderful place to work but I can tell its not, one of the education managers was really rude and it was only our first day. You can tell the job is not worth it for the measly pay they are giving. If its a customer service job they need to work on their attitudes and how they speak to people.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      High expectation to work overtime

      Apr 12, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Help to succeed if you want to work hard

      Cons

      Have to make many placements to actually get a reasonable commission

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Negative Experience

      Oct 31, 2019 - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Potential to make money but must be willing to work hard.

      Cons

      - Non ethical UK business attempting to make it in America. - The business doesn't prioritize benefits. - Benefits such as healthcare, flexibility, PTO, are all very minimal and expensive. 401k is not offered - The environment in the office is very toxic. You are expected to work long hours arrive early stay late. -Talking to your peers during work hours is strongly discouraged. - No flexibility. You have an hour break that is very strict from 1-2pm and you are expected to be back at your desk on time. - All incentives are based on your billings and not on your work ethic or the work you put in everyday. - Training is very minimal and never structured. You rarely receive feedback or words of encouragement. -Management is made up of top billers who haven't received the leadership training they need in order to run a successful business in a different country. On the contrary they find it difficult to see junior succeed and often train to benefit themselves first. - Feedback is not shared with the team in a constructive manner to ensure confidentiality. - Resources & tools needed in order to succeed were taken away to save the business money but you are still expected to continue to bill just as much. - There is no room to grow your skills but only to grow in earnings. - The commission structure is changed often and not communicated with the team. Communication is very poor overall in the business. -Expectations are unrealistic and not achievable with the training in place. - The salary and commission structure is too low and realistically you will not make enough to survive in New York your first year as a junior consultant.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      GCS Recruitment Response

      We are so sorry that your time with GCS was not a wholly positive one. We are always striving to improve our workplace so we would be love to discuss your experience in more detail anonymously so we can act on your comments to make the experience better for the many GCS employees that are building successful careers within our company. Please email hr@gcsrecruitment.com. Good luck for the future.

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      GCS

      Jul 8, 2019 - Recruitment Consultant in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The life at GCS was great. The people that you work with from day 1 are all welcoming and make sure that you have the tools you need to succeed. There are hours that you have to put in but that is not anything to be unexpected, especially in the recruitment space. The hours that you put in will turn into the money that you make in the end. All upper management is there to help you and it is definitely a work hard, play hard environment (can't emphasize that enough). You hit your goals and do what you need to do it will be celebrated. All individuals were treated with respect and giving time to handle outside responsibilities. If your dog was sick, dealing with personal issues, or anything else you could handle it without issue from management

      Cons

      This type of work is not for the faint of heart. You will have good weeks and bad weeks, that is really just the recruitment space as mentioned though. Training program could be improved slightly but know that recently a new training program was put in place so should be much better. The environment is not for the weak of heart as you will deal with rejection on a daily basis, that is really just sales though.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Positive Experience From Start To Finish

      Jan 30, 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had an incredibly positive experience at GCS for the year I worked there. I came to GCS with no prior recruitment experience, and I learned everything on the job. From day 1, I felt like my manager really invested his time to make sure I was learning and comfortable. Once I started to become more independent, he always checked in to see what other resources or advice I needed to be successful. There was a constant open flow of communication from my manager to make sure I was as successful as possible in my role. I felt he expected a lot from me, but he was also my biggest supporter. In recent months, GCS has also implemented additional training and coaching to reinforce learning and improve the basics. It was nice to look at problems with advice from a different perspective, and group sessions were a good way to discuss what other methods might work for you. I also felt like GCS had a great team environment. Senior consultants were always available and eager to help when it came to brainstorming ideas, sharing materials, and other tips and tricks. Everyone was also very inclusive. We had lunch together as a team, celebrated birthdays and anniversaries, and there were frequent company events and outings. I don't drink alcohol, but "work drinks" weren't uncomfortable because the team at GCS was so supportive.

      Cons

      Recruitment, in general, is not right for everyone. High turnover is not exclusive to GCS. If you're not prepared to hustle and put in the work and hours it takes to build your way up to being a top biller, then recruitment is not right for you. It's also easy to get caught up in other people's success and think it comes easily or naturally to some people. You do not see the time and energy those people are putting in after hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The place to be if you want a career

      Oct 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The managers reward hard work, are incredibly driven and smart, and respect their crew. I am so excited to be here. GCS Austin is a rocketship on its way to huge success. It is great to be a part of something that is growing and getting stronger. There is so much room for promotion and career advancement.

      Cons

      Wouldn't necessarily consider this a con - but if you want to be great, you've go to put in the extra hours.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Start Up Going Places

      Jul 3, 2019 - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of startup perks like early finishes, entire office incentives, business decision making involvement along with unrelieved career opportunities & constant support. Fantastic 14th-floor office with amazing views of downtown Austin. I love being involved in the growth of a business from scratch and being rewarded for the hard work put in. Early Friday finish for achieving weekly team targets, plenty of memorable night out, great incentives (Europe 19 / Caribbean 2020). A work hard, play hard environment which is required in any start-up business. Those dedicated to the cause will succeed and be rewarded the most.

      Cons

      Nothing worth mentioning considering really. We are the chosen one's building this business, culture and future! It's not easy but that's to be fully expected.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Anything else.

      May 7, 2020 - Technical Recruiter in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GCS will quickly make you aware of the type of company you do not want to work for.

      Cons

      Bad leadership, training, morals, ethics, and culture. Every man for themselves environment, which can be a good learning experience but not to the extent that team members will work to bring each other down rather than gain a win for the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent career opportunities

      Jul 10, 2019 - Recruitment Consultant in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in the Austin office, which is one of GCS's newest locations. There was always support from management, and the career progression is fantastic! The close-knit team worked closely together to make the Austin team successful, and we loved to celebrate one another's success. Your progression and commission are all down to the work that you do - the opportunity is there, you have to grab it with both hands if you want it! There are so many opportunities to work towards - your progression, commission, holiday incentives, team celebrations, and award ceremonies.

      Cons

      This isn't a 9-5 position. But you don't get these opportunities in 9-5 positions!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 108 Reviews

    Popular Careers with GCS Recruitment Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at GCS Recruitment? Share Your Experiences

    GCS Recruitment logo
    or