GE Appliances Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

GE Appliances Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
71%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
GE Appliances President and Chief Executive Officer Kevin Nolan
Kevin Nolan
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Appliances full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place, Management cares. Goal driven. NON TOXIC!

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of. But, it is a large company and communication can be a challenge.

    GE Appliances2019-12-10
  2. "Not that great of a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accounts Receivable 

    I have been working at GE Appliances full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back environment. Decent benefits

    Cons

    Very slow upward movement.

    GE Appliances2019-12-11
  3. "Boiler operator review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Boiler Operator in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE Appliances full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job isn't physically demanding. People aren't usually rushing to get things done faster.

    Cons

    The pay scale is lower than it should be. There is too much overtime because there aren't enough employees in the division. The division is unorganized in their use of manpower. It's a union shop where employees with the same job are paid different wages. The lower paid employees tend to work the most overtime because they can't afford to turn it down. The position should be considered a skilled trade position... but it isn't.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay all employees in the same division, with the same job, the same amount of money. Reclassify the job as a skilled trade position because it is. Hire more employees because the crew is too small to repair things faster than they fail. Pay for skilled labor and stop hiring people that don't have the correct background for the job. Hiring people based on skills and qualifications means you should pay them top... pay. Set up a proper maintenance crew. Don't have an electrician making decisions on mechanical maintenance. Do away with the two tiered wage system. It does nothing but cause division among employees and cause unnecessary financial burdens on employees. Understand that this division doesn't make appliances. It creates and distributes energy to all of Appliance Park. Stop trying to manage the energy distribution division the same as the assembly lines. They're not the same at all!!! Set a goal!!! Spend some money and make it right!!!

    Show More
    GE Appliances2019-12-09
  4. "Kaizen Promotion Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Appliances full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenges everywhere. Love some of the people. The hours, a straight 8 are awesome.

    Cons

    It's a union shop. Need I say anything else? People, union people backstabbing each other. People abuse FMLA and short term. Slackers and laziness everywhere.

    Advice to Management

    Management is easy to work with. If anything, I'd say promote from within!

    GE Appliances2019-11-22
  5. "Terrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Delivery Support Specialist in Rapid City, SD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GE Appliances full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is zero pros working for this company.

    Cons

    Everything about working for this company is terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Get a life

    GE Appliances2019-11-26
  6. "Taught me everything I know..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Manager - Shop Floor Operations in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Appliances full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a great place to work, especially for someone looking for an entry-level position into the world of Supply Chain. You'll not only learn about leadership, but you'll be able to develop into you're own leadership style as well.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    GE Appliances2019-10-21
  7. "Very good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Co-Op in LaFayette, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Appliances full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees are treated well. Co-workers are very friendly.

    Cons

    There are no enough choices for the food in the cafe.

    GE Appliances2019-10-13
  8. "Great opportunities, fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Appliances full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, lot of growth, many opportunities to work on exciting projects.

    Cons

    Employees have to be prepared to embrace change and uncertainty as the company continues to grow as a standalone business.

    GE Appliances2019-10-12
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Intern 

    I have been working at GE Appliances full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great pay, understanding management and goo work life balance

    Cons

    Not much to do

    GE Appliances2019-09-18
  10. "The best engineer job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Appliances full-time

    Pros

    Overtime is available every week

    Cons

    Lunch break is only one hour

    GE Appliances2019-09-01
Found 141 reviews