GE Capital Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
GE Capital Chairman & CEO Richard Laxer (no image)
Richard Laxer
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance (although there's a lot of working "off-hours", you can work from home any time)(in 164 reviews)

  • "Benefits are Excellent, Relaxed Work Environment(in 75 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be challenging to manage to meet deadlines by senior leadership(in 59 reviews)

  • "long hours, they should allow flexi time(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "All the Tools"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE Capital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    GE Capital offers every tool to assist you in success. Coaching from your boss, training classes and the very nice commission plan.

    Cons

    You do not get many chances if you do not reach your goals. Fast-paced atmosphere.

    GE Capital2019-07-25
  2. "Was a great place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GE Capital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People, perks, work life balance, senior visibility

    Cons

    commute, IT, management style, location

    GE Capital2020-05-23
  3. "metrics heavy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Portfolio Analyst in Chicago, IL

    I worked at GE Capital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    managers care about your person, employee benefits, comradarie

    Cons

    management split a singular functional process among 3 different teams.

    GE Capital2020-04-28
  4. "Great place to work"

    4.0
     

    I worked at GE Capital

    Pros

    Diversity and inclusion. Friendly and professional atmosphere. Excellent training and support.

    Cons

    The only con was personal to me, not necessarily the company. Advancing to another position would have required more of a commute that I could do at the time.

    GE Capital2020-02-23
  5. "GE Capital"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Manager/Principal in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE Capital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary Benefits Training & Development Great network of people Amazing talent

    Cons

    Too big to fail - evidently not. Unsurprisingly a company this size has a lot of redundancy, a lot of fat, a lot of "talking without saying anything". There were a number of overinflated salaries taking up seats without really doing much.

    Continue reading
    GE Capital2020-01-15
  6. "Great Experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Senior Underwriter 

    I worked at GE Capital full-time

    Pros

    Intelligent Leadership; Innovative Culture; Opportunities to advance

    Cons

    Some Long Hours; Difficult to disconnect while on PTO.

    GE Capital2019-12-26
  7. "Smart Team Members"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Compliance Officer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GE Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company had highly intelligent people.

    Cons

    Big company with many silos that required lots of meetings.

    GE Capital2019-10-18
  8. "Great Company, until it was sold out from under us"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Director, Project Management in Norwalk, CT

    I worked at GE Capital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people working here, and a real passion for excellence.

    Cons

    Long hours. And of course the essential dissolution of the company by GE.

    GE Capital2019-09-22
  9. "Good experience, typical hours for leverage lending, below-average pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE Capital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Immediately get too work and start building reps -Trusted to do more vs. less by senior deal team members -Incredible deal flow and reps vs. competitors

    Cons

    -Below average pay vs. peers in industry -While career advancement is fair, advancement opportunities for management, etc. are limited

    Continue reading
    GE Capital2019-08-13
  10. "Good Place to Work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kettering, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at GE Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training. Good on-the-Job access to resources.

    Cons

    Difficult to advance in career

    GE Capital2019-08-18
Found 1526 reviews