GE Healthcare Design Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

GE Healthcare Design Engineer Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
83%
Recommend to a Friend
GE Healthcare President and CEO Kieran Murphy (no image)
Kieran Murphy
0 Rating
  1. "awsome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Design Engineer II in Westborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare for more than a year

    Pros

    no stress, flexible timings, lovely work to my passion, friendly staff, they dont want to dump lot of work on you.

    Cons

    none. no need to give cons here. becoz they take feedback from employes and try to satisfy them. so you can ask them rather posting here

    Advice to Management

    none

    GE Healthcare2017-07-03
  2. "GE Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture is good in general, everyone is trying to do good job, have many talented people, there is a good cause for doing the job

    Cons

    Managers are not chanllenegd for doing bad job, orgnjzation structure is too complex, lack of opportunity for promotion, low efficiency

    Advice to Management

    Respect employees and realize often you are the problem!

    GE Healthcare2017-11-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lead Service Integrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, resourceful company

    Cons

    beaurocracy, slow processes, poor talent identification

    GE Healthcare2016-03-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Waukesha, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can learn a lot about processes and systematic approach to doing stuff. If you are valued, opportunities exist for continuing education.

    Cons

    This is my opinion, others may think and feel differently and so what I am writing here may or may not be true for all. Excessive stress and pressure. Leaders and managers are mostly concerned with making themselves look good and if you are meeting your goals and numbers you are hot otherwise not. Highly bureaucratic. Executive management are so arrogant and behave as though they are the know-all and end-all. There is collaboration without camaraderie as if all the employees are programmed robots whose only goal in life is to perform the job at hand and nothing else matters. There is much more to life than just working 15 hours a day so you can keep your job. There are benefits such as a gym but just no time to use it. If you fall sick do not be surprised if you manager calls you at home just to find out when you will be back at work. HIghly political environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Again just my opinion expressed here which may or may not be true for all. Think about why so many employees quit voluntarily every year. If you are truly doing a great job as executives why does this happen? Clearly you think you are doing a great job but you are focused on one aspect and not on the employees. Learn to be humble. You yourself could lose your job some day so learn to be emphathetic towards employees.

    GE Healthcare2014-04-29
  5. "Mechanical Engineering Internships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Mechanical Engineer - Design in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE Healthcare for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is very good with a strong effort to organize free intern events that are a lot of fun. I was able to do real design work and received an incredible amount of support and advice from coworkers.

    Cons

    My main complaint is that work always moves slowly at GE due to all the necessary approvals. Additionally my experience seemed unique at my location. Most other interns were bored with too little to do and/or the work was very tedious. But I guess someone has to do that work.

    Advice to Management

    I learned a lot from every project I was involved in. Designs are made better with a group reviewing them. Including interns in more projects will keep them busy, help them learn more and lead to better designs. Last thing, international opportunities would be amazing for students since GE has such an international presence.

    GE Healthcare2012-11-10
  6. "Great Technology, but highly political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The product technology is unreal. When you stand back and look at the overall system its just amazing what it can do. You get a real good feeling when you see your equipment in a hospital..you feel real proud

    Cons

    The "Code 4 out the door" mentality regardless of performance is grating.

    Advice to Management

    Blow up the evaluation procedure...Forced Ranking...as bad as it gets

    GE Healthcare2012-10-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Waukesha, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You learn a lot from the job. The tools are available for you to do your job. Workers are friendly and the job is family friendly

    Cons

    Upward mobility not clear and the salary was not that good

    Advice to Management

    Pay according to experience and qualification. Look out for and reward people who are not your go- to people

    GE Healthcare2012-09-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fascinating Products to Improve Lives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Lead Design Engineer in Waukesha, WI

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Brilliant engineers, global exposure, leadership training, ability to form a large and effective network, fun celebration events that build a sense of family

    Cons

    Manage by meetings, always under staffed, short term vision only - very focused on the immediate quarter, very poor program execution, unrealistic scheduling that force teams in to hiding information about realistic progress

    Advice to Management

    Empower your program team and realistically work with the schedules, staff realistically to provide both time to market and fantastic quality

    GE Healthcare2012-08-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good until I got laid off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Software Design Engineer in Burlington, VT
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare

    Pros

    Compensation is high for this area. If you want to work in a very structured environment with heavy process overhead (Lean Sixth Sigma, internal GE program structure), and can land a good job, then this is the place for you.

    Cons

    It's great if you like the heavy bureaucratic process environment, until the area you work in is targeted by upper management for contraction. Unfortunately with all of the overhead, less time is available for actual innovation. That's what is killing the product I used to work on.

    Advice to Management

    GE is full of secrets and therefore the rumor mill runs wild. Be more transparent and realize that in healthcare systems, the assets you have are in people's heads. When you lay them off, it's gone and you can't always get it back.

    GE Healthcare2011-03-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company, great techincal people, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Design Engineer in Waukesha, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare

    Pros

    -Challenging work -Excellent co-workers -Some of the best technical talent in the world

    Cons

    -WAY to much bureaucracy -Lots of talk about quality but it's all just talk -Upper management only focuses on short term gains -Schedule is king, over EVERYTHING

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your technical people and the engineers who want to do the right things for the product. Stop rewarding politcial bureaucrats and focus on actual measureable results. Don't believe everything you see just because it's in a slick Power Point presentation.

    GE Healthcare2010-06-02
Found 60 reviews