GE "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

GE Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
GE CEO H. Lawrence Culp, Jr. (no image)
H. Lawrence Culp, Jr.
395 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance can be challenging at times(in 367 reviews)

  • "Long hours - my observation is that most salaried people work more than 40 hours a week(in 194 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 

    I worked at GE

    Pros

    there was good money yes

    Cons

    there were long hours for sure

    Continue reading
    GE2019-06-20
  2. "Top engineering terible work like balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great engineering, leading-edge technologies, great opportunities to move into different engineering specialties or management. Decent base salaries. Good healthcare programs but negated by unhealthy work balance.

    Cons

    No work balance, working long hours, no pay for long overtime hours, subpar 401 options, no pension for new employees.

    Continue reading
    GE2019-08-31

    GE Response

    September 3, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Sorry to hear your take on the work life balance, but appreciate your comment.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Happy here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FP&A in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers - smart, hard working, passionate about what they do Continued education encouraged... tuition reimbursement up to a cap, numerous non-degree classes offered internally on job related skills Career advancement - lots of opportunities to try new roles and people tend to move jobs every few years

    Cons

    Long hours - my observation is that most salaried people work more than 40 hours a week

    GE2019-07-26
  4. "not for the faint of heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer 

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    paycheck cleared every 2 weeks

    Cons

    long hours, lower than average pay, politics

    GE2019-07-24
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at GE for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great atmosphere -Great Pay and bennefits

    Cons

    -They may ask you to work long hours

    GE2019-06-06
  6. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Good salary and career advancement

    Cons

    Long Hours, fast paced projects

    GE2019-04-29

    GE Response

    May 7, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, growth, great team, good management

    Cons

    High expectations, lots of long hours

    GE2019-01-08

    GE Response

    January 11, 2019Employment Branding Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We find that work/life balance varies by the job, but we work hard to give employees as many flexible tools as possible. We appreciate the insight on how individuals are experiencing that.

    Continue reading
  8. "electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    great company with great incentives and benefits

    Cons

    long hours and you get shocked sometimes

    Continue reading
    GE2018-11-05

    GE Response

    February 11, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Appreciate your recommendation, thank you.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Uncertain Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers and coworkers are very nice.

    Cons

    There does not seem to be much direction from upper management. Budgets are tight and workers are expected to work long hours with no overtime compensation.

    Continue reading
    GE2018-10-23

    GE Response

    February 11, 2019Social Media Consultant

    We work hard to integrate all parts of our business and appreciate your comments on this subject. Thanks for sharing!

    Continue reading
  10. "OMLP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE

    Pros

    Great benefits and nice people

    Cons

    sometimes you have to work long hours

    GE2018-10-08

    GE Response

    October 10, 2018

    Glad to hear you're having a great experience as an OMLP!

    Continue reading
Found 194 reviews
</>Embed