GEAR for Sports Reviews | Glassdoor

GEAR for Sports Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
76%
Recommend to a Friend
GEAR for Sports CEO Gerald Evans (no image)
Gerald Evans
0 Rating
  1. "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - RMA Representative in Lenexa, KS

    I worked at GEAR for Sports part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, nice coworkers. Was only 20 when I did the job but still treated me as an adult.

    Cons

    Since I was just a temp they sometimes forgot to give me work

    GEAR for Sports2019-08-13
  2. "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GEAR for Sports full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Teams Healthy atmosphere to work

    Cons

    There is nothing as of

    GEAR for Sports2019-07-15
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Inventory Control Clerk in Lenexa, KS

    I have been working at GEAR for Sports full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits, Vacation Time, 401K

    Cons

    No Complaints at this time.

    GEAR for Sports2019-06-03
  4. "Gear for Sports Temporary Packager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GEAR for Sports part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gear for Sports is full of great people!

    Cons

    Warehouse gets very hot during the summer. Warehouse doesnt have air conditioning.

    GEAR for Sports2019-05-05
  5. "GEAR is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GEAR for Sports full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Paid time off. - Overtime pay for hourly workers. -2 weeks paid vacation, and you get more time the longer you've worked there. - Company wide activities (Lunches, fundraisers, ice cream socials, etc...) -401K, Health, Dental, Vision, ADD, Life insurance. -Summer hours. -Everyone is very nice. -Adequate amount of holidays per year, they close for about 1 week around Christmas time. Black friday is a paid holiday as well as other days.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Lower than average pay. -Cramped parking, especially in the summer. -Depending on your position, could be hard to move up.

    GEAR for Sports2018-09-18
  6. "Finisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finisher in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GEAR for Sports full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leaves a lot of time for a second job or just free time if that’s what you want.

    Cons

    Not easy to make quotas

    GEAR for Sports2018-09-16
  7. "Needs an Update in Promotion and Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GEAR for Sports full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, Nice facilities (could use an update on decor but I'm a creative so naturally, anything visual is an influencer.)

    Cons

    There is no process in place for promotion and development. The only way for Gear/Hanes to raise wages is if they actually start losing people and losing profit margin based on turnover. Since their turnover rate maintains an acceptable level, then there’s no need to raise wages or provide steps for promotion. This type of mentality rewards mediocrity, but in an environment where “time in job” is rewarded more than performance, that’s what you get.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please do not be afraid to reward your people with promotions and raises. It would modernize the culture, increase employee engagement, and boost morale in a positive way.

    GEAR for Sports2018-09-07
  8. Helpful (3)

    "coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GEAR for Sports full-time

    Pros

    It was fun to travel to college locations.

    Cons

    management, corporate culture, no advancement opportunities, unethical business practices

    GEAR for Sports2017-10-06
  9. "Embroidery Machine Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Embroidery Machine Operator in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends

    I worked at GEAR for Sports full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's great for people who don't really want to work with the public. They pretty much leave you alone to get your work done without someone hanging over your shoulder telling you what to do every few minutes. Paid holidays and vacation, and overtime available at certain times of the year. 3 shifts available, so great for antisocial night owls!

    Cons

    The work can be tedious and monotonous. You do the same thing over and over all day long, and the sound of the machines whirring puts you to sleep.

    Advice to Management

    An extra break would be nice, to let employees shake themselves awake after being lulled into a stupor by the machines.

    GEAR for Sports2017-02-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Art Support in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GEAR for Sports full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and the management is pretty laid back. Facility is nice but outdated in some areas.

    Cons

    Haven't had a raise in 2 years. I feel under appreciated, under paid, and under utilized. The entry level artist positions are very easy to work but while they say a 2 year degree will qualify you, it absolutely will not.

    Advice to Management

    Stay relaxed! I feel like a micro management style is creeping into the culture. I know you can't control the pay since Hanes has really taken over but please please fight for us!

    GEAR for Sports2017-02-09
Found 35 reviews