GECU Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
GECU President and CEO  Crystal Long (no image)
Crystal Long
12 Ratings
  1. "Great CU in El Paso, TX"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Risk Analyst in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GECU full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment that is always busy.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any because I was only there a short while.

    GECU2020-02-21
  2. "Not great but not the best"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Customer Service Representative in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GECU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above minimum wage, benefits are acceptable, discount on loans as an employee(provided you finance with them)

    Cons

    No sick time, you will work most Saturdays, easy to burn out in this role as the calls are the same, over and over again. They also force you to receive your direct deposit at GECU, which i did not like since i really like my bank.

    Continue reading
    GECU2020-04-24
  3. "Great Department"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Loan Officer in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GECU full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, career advancement opportunities, employee perks.

    Cons

    Covering for other departments, lack of communication within departments and older employees lack of commitment to the task at hand. Too many employees remain complacent and lack ambition.

    GECU2020-02-06
  4. "great job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Loan Officer 

    I have been working at GECU full-time

    Pros

    overtime, co-workers, management are great

    Cons

    there are no cons for this company

    GECU2019-10-31
  5. "Never good enough"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Smart Call Representative in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GECU full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Banking knowledge you obtain from the job is helpful.

    Cons

    Calls are never good enough as they are looking for ways to bring your scores down.

    Continue reading
    GECU2019-03-06
  6. "Great place to work however work/life balance can be challenging."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Sales & Service Officer in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GECU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation and really friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    Relentless goals and some really relentless managers.

    Continue reading
    GECU2018-08-11
  7. "VOE- General Clerk"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GECU part-time

    Pros

    Good environment, lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    The pay is really low, no benefits

    GECU2018-08-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GECU full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Decent pay and benefits for El Paso. -Some excellent coworkers. -Surface level community-oriented mission. -Friendly, small town work culture.

    Cons

    -Lack of opportunities for growth on an organizational and individual level. -Company culture prizes conformity and appearances over resolving conflict. -Vice Presidents, Managers and Supervisors frequently make problematic statements targeting individuals gender, race, ethnicity, and background, without consequences -Rampant favoritism. -Company prioritizes passing out free ice cream and having pep rallies over monetary incentives, despite repeated requests from employees. -Employees are put under extreme pressure to donate to charities and campaigns on a weekly basis, which can add unneeded stress when you're already paying off student loans, paying on a mortgage, car payments, utility bills, etc. -The formal system for addressing and resolving harassment functions as a de facto method for management to locate and retaliate against the aggrieved party. -A lack of consistent planning across the credit union means there is an increased focus on aggressively cross-selling to members, even when it is not in their best interest. This is often demoralizing. -Lack of SOP's, procedures. -Internal guidelines for work were unclear and often fell below industry standards. -An overload of work was not a chronic condition, it was the norm. -Inconsistent or nonexistent processes created a lot of waste of time, effort and money. -Skills acquired here do not necessarily transfer throughout the industry.

    Continue reading
    GECU2018-07-11
  9. "Virtual Member Service Representatice"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GECU full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, plenty of opportunities to move up

    Cons

    Favoritism, sometimes not willing to work with you

    GECU2018-04-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Sales Service Officer in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GECU full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees get along well. Some managers are caring while executives show no regard for employees.

    Cons

    This company makes bad and unwise decisions without reason or evidence.

    Continue reading
    GECU2018-02-17
Found 29 reviews
</>Embed