Find jobs for Transcriptionist

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

GMR Transcription

Is this your company?

GMR Transcription

Add a Review

GMR Transcription Transcriptionist Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 of over 57 reviews

4.4
96%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
GMR Transcription President Beth Worthy (no image)
Beth Worthy
26 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Flexible job, and I'm learning a lot as I go

    Jun 14, 2021 - General Transcriptionist in Tustin, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I applied and was accepted as a contractor for a couple transcription companies, but this is the one that I enjoy working for most! It feels personal. I'm working from home but communicating with real people. I'm not afraid to ask questions when I need guidance, and I always get a response within an hour, 6 days a week. The people are lovely, and (so far) there is a lot of work to be had at the moment. Also, it's super flexible as long as you only take as much work as you can finish.

    Cons

    You get paid per audio minute, but some files just take a lot longer to do than others. I'm still learning and getting faster, but according to my calculations I'm currently making about $8.00 to $12.00 per hour, depending on the file -- that's what you get for having high work standards and taking the time to proofread! That said, I still have faith that I'll get faster with experience. This is a really interesting side gig, but I think it would be difficult to do full time. Emotionally, it can be draining, too, depending on the topic you are working on.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Contractor

    It pays

    Sep 5, 2021 - Transcriptionist in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Make your own hours, work from home.

    Cons

    Lots and lots and lots of typing, listening, rewinding, and more typing. Hours of listening and typing.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Very good company to work with

    Jul 30, 2021 - Transcriptionist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really pay well and they have good audio quality.

    Cons

    Always pay on time and flexible work schedule.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    One of the good ones

    Jul 25, 2021 - Transcriptionist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work was readily available. They always had work for me. Communication was flawless. I always knew the difficulty of the file before taking in on and if I didn't, I would always submit a ticket and it would be corrected. Generally they have good file quality. Their legal work was the most exciting. Pay was fair considering that they had good quality audio. The work sustained me through the second half of 2020. Good company, good team.

    Cons

    Not much that I can think of. Except that maybe they should consider paying for the training files as they are live work.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Extremely Flexible

    Jul 6, 2021 - Transcriptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Flexible schedule -Great pay the better and more efficient you get -Interesting assignments -Great for stay at home parents -The admin ladies are great to work with

    Cons

    -Very strict to get into -You definitely need to learn how to set personal boundaries with accepting assignments

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great Company

    May 7, 2021 - Transcriptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GMR Transcription was a great company to work for. They have plenty of work available and you can choose which assignments you want to take on. All of the employees were always kind and helpful and were always there whenever I needed assistance. Whether you are an experienced transcriptionist or a new transcriptionist, they are a great company to work for.

    Cons

    I would say the only con would be the pay. The pay may be sufficient if you're a very fast and experienced transcriptionist, but if you tend to work a bit slower (like myself) you may find it difficult for assignments to be worthwhile.

    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    IC transcriptionist review

    Jan 31, 2021 - Transcriptionist in Millersville, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you ever have any questions, the support team is always available. You can work any time of day. There is consistent work.

    Cons

    I just started working for GMR, so I have no cons at this stage.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Sep 7, 2020 - Transcriptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work with

    Cons

    Wouldn’t want to leave here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Great Option for Deadline-Driven Individuals

    Apr 22, 2020 - Transcriptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent way to gain extra cash. Attention to detail gives you access to higher paying jobs. The ladies at GMR are understanding of life stresses and issues as long as you are communicating with them in the case of any issues that come up.

    Cons

    This is not a job you can do while multitasking; focus is required. You have to submit several test transcriptions using their formatting before accepted as a transcriptionist. If they're not perfect, you don't get the job. These are not paid.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Contractor

    Nice people but very low pay

    Mar 18, 2020 - Transcriptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice staff and timely communication

    Cons

    very low pay and kept getting lower

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews

GMR Transcription Reviews FAQs

Transcriptionist professionals working at GMR Transcription have rated their employer with 4.4 out of 5 stars in 35 Glassdoor reviews. This is a lower than average score with the overall rating of GMR Transcription employees being 4.5 out of 5 stars. Search open Transcriptionist Jobs at GMR Transcription now and start preparing for your job interview by browsing frequently asked Transcriptionist interview questions at GMR Transcription.

Transcriptionist professionals rate their compensation and benefits at GMR Transcription with 3.5 out of 5 stars based on 35 anonymously submitted employee reviews. This is 13.3% worse than the company average rating for salary and benefits. Find out more about Transcriptionist salaries and benefits at GMR Transcription.

96% of Transcriptionist employees at GMR Transcription would recommend their employer to a friend. This rating has decreased by -1% in the past 12 months. Transcriptionist professionals have also rated GMR Transcription with a 4.4 rating for work-life-balance, 3.7 rating for diversity and inclusion, 3.8 rating for culture and values and 3.6 rating for career opportunities.

Work at GMR Transcription? Share Your Experiences

GMR Transcription logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

GMR Transcription Photos

+ Add Photo
GMR Transcription photo of: Amanda Tarney, Beth Worthy,  Vanessa (From Left to Right)
GMR Transcription photo of: Vanessa - Celebrating Her Birthday At GMR Transcription
GMR Transcription photo of: Julie and Vanessa
GMR Transcription photo of: Beth and Jenny

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

GMR Transcription Job Seekers Also Viewed

GMR Marketing Logo
GMR Marketing

3.8

558 Reviews
Compare