GMS Reviews | Glassdoor

GMS Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
1 Ratings
  1. "The starting point of my Management/Business Administration journey."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GMS full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work, everyday a new learning experience, friendly, fun loving, helpful and motivating director.

    Cons

    Not for the one's who are looking for a corporate culture.

    GMS2017-04-10
  2. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at GMS full-time

      Pros

      good benefits and flexible scheudle

      Cons

      lots of micro management. extented work hours

      GMS2016-03-18
    • "Changing Life Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales in Columbus, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at GMS full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Every time I close a deal my pay goes up, it's great. I closed one deal and it covered my monthly mortgage payment. I don't have the big guy on my back, I just have to do my job. I actually like going to work everyday.

      Cons

      There is a lot of stress, the sales process is long and you lose 10 for every one that you get. We do have to be in the office everyday when it's not always needed and we have a terrible Health Care Dept, they just don't all seem to be on the same page when it comes to selling HC.

      Advice to Management

      Our office has a great atmosphere and it makes it a great place to work. I think the management should be in the office more for some departments and some new people who tend to take advantage of things when the manager is away. I guess it does not matter because if they dont' do their job they will leave, just not soon enough. They are taking time away from the people who need it.

      GMS2014-03-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "HR Generalist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Cairo
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at GMS full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Health care and improniving health servies

      Cons

      Un clear vision with the team work

      Advice to Management

      Take a good care of your communities with the yeam work

      GMS2018-10-30
    • "--"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at GMS part-time

        Pros

        Fortune five hundred company

        Cons

        Didn't work there long enough

        GMS2017-04-10
      • "Lawyer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at GMS full-time

        Pros

        motivation, positive environment, career growth

        Cons

        tropical climate, long working hours, stressful

        GMS2018-01-07
      • "Bad management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fort Lauderdale, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at GMS full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        No drug test full time no selling required

        Cons

        Everything. It sucked working there it's very unprofessional

        Advice to Management

        Be more professional

        GMS2017-07-22
      • "terrible company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Merchant Marine in Galliano, LA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at GMS for more than 6 years

        Pros

        There are no pros for this company they treat you unfairly and do not recognize individual work

        Cons

        These people use you and unless you are in their click of friends you are passed up for positions that you deserve but are given to their buddies

        Advice to Management

        Get,rid of all of the dead weight at the top and rethink how you treat your employees

        GMS2015-11-24
      • "unit mechanic"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in Tilden, IL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at GMS for more than a year

        Pros

        good pay, had some tools available, had PPE to use pretty consistantly, thats about all i can say good about this company

        Cons

        its a contract company, no job security, management changes frequently, management doesn't stand behind their men, employed today, phone call of layoff tomorrow

        Advice to Management

        stand behind your men, be available for conflict resolution, don't hire people and have them relocate their family and lay them off with a phone call. help the men

        GMS2015-08-19
      • "VP Operations"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Vice President Operations in Exmouth
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at GMS for more than 2 years

        Pros

        New Opportunities and great location to work at Irvine, CA or Texas. Mid management level fully guided by Local senior management.

        Cons

        changing values and belief system. constant change, independently run as a separate business unit compared to rest of the organization

        GMS2015-12-10
      Found 10 reviews