GNC (PA) Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
GNC (PA) CEO Ken Martindale
Ken Martindale
297 Ratings
Pros
  • "20% employee discount that stacks on current deals(in 184 reviews)

  • "Helping people in improving their health is my passion and I can do that at GNC(in 146 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management could care less about low level employee work environment(in 191 reviews)

  • "Head office is very annoying in trying to keep up with unrealistic sales goals(in 154 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Very Laid Back and Relaxing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GNC (PA) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job is easy. If you know your products, your hourly rate has the potential to skyrocket through the roof. Good source of income for college students looking to get by.

    Cons

    Forced to up sell customers. For example, I do not agree with shoving products in the customers face if they are coming in looking for a protein bar or an energy drink. I am pretty sure GNC is going downhill and the upper management is pressuring the sales associates to bring the company back up. There are not many opportunities for advancement and lunch breaks are non existent.

    Continue reading
    GNC (PA)2019-04-21
  2. "Good Compnay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Store Manager in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GNC (PA) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    commissions, benefits, vendor samples, training

    Cons

    hours, holidays, travel, as a manager there is a high turn over rate for associates

    GNC (PA)2020-05-26
  3. "GNC"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at GNC (PA) part-time

    Pros

    Products well made and well studied

    Cons

    district management not aligned with core values

    GNC (PA)2020-05-25
  4. "GNC"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at GNC (PA) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low pressure sales goals, excellent communication of expectations, training on products, employee product discounts.

    Cons

    Potential odd working hours, entry level pay, slightly higher focus on up-selling vs. helping the customer find what they want/need.

    GNC (PA)2020-05-21
  5. "GNC Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at GNC (PA) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can learn a lot, good sales experience

    Cons

    Management can be out of touch

    Continue reading
    GNC (PA)2020-05-20
  6. "Good First Job!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GNC (PA) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hourly Base, Plus Commission, Help customers be healthy and happy

    Cons

    Management can tend to be a little uneducated and move up faster because of politics.

    GNC (PA)2020-05-19
  7. "Easiest Job Ever but Minimum Wage"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associaate in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at GNC (PA) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is literally the easiest job I have ever had.

    Cons

    You get paid your state's minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    GNC (PA)2020-05-18
  8. "Glorified Sales Position"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at GNC (PA) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Knowledge and opportunity to be passionate with customers.

    Cons

    Miss-focused and micromanaged KPIs, which often conflict with overall health of stores and customer experience.

    GNC (PA)2020-05-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "No internal advancement"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GNC (PA) full-time

    Pros

    Discounts and great to learn supplements

    Cons

    Sales goals too high. Upper management doesn't care about anything but selling certain products. Had to cover anytime an employee calls out.

    Continue reading
    GNC (PA)2020-05-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Con artists"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lease Administrator in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GNC (PA) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team at gnc is great. The other coworkers were a pleasure to work with

    Cons

    Management is awful and very sneaky. No training provided at all.

    Continue reading
    GNC (PA)2020-05-21
Found 2480 reviews