GNS Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

GNS Healthcare Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
GNS Healthcare CEO Colin Hill
Colin Hill
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "A fun and challenging place to work towards revolutionizing the healthcare industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Science Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNS Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am working here as a data scientist with healthcare payer client. The technologies here are competitive (e.g., REFS proprietary algorithm, daily operation on AWS platform, development of state-of-the-art new algorithm using tensorflow). The colleagues here are genius with sophisticated math and computational background; the research/tech leadership here is wonderful within my team (numeric or R&D team) as I can only...

    Show More

    Cons

    some of the software products need a better graphic interface rather than linux command line manner

    Advice to Management

    Maybe the name of "GNS" could be more generic/straightforward to represent the company's efforts in healthcare and precision medicine?

    GNS Healthcare2017-07-16
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointing leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GNS Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    The company works with big pharmaceuticals and healthcare leads on trending areas.

    Cons

    The leaders of the company don’t understand what they are good at, but pursues unrealistic goals and change them frequently. The leadership doesn’t have good management skills. As an employee, you don’t feel the support or trust from upper management. The company also has a high turnover rate. They hire a lot of advisors and upper management roles, but it never made improvement to the company. When the company goal...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find out the company’s strength and build it up with patience.

    GNS Healthcare2019-02-07
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Worst Leadership Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GNS Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great location in Cambridge

    Cons

    Too many cooks spoil the soup; the CEO and COO views and strategy for the company did not jive - not good for BD; HR is a one-person show and is supervised by the CFO ??? ; too much turnover; on website, it appears to be a big company - just a facade.

    Advice to Management

    Get a "real" CEO

    GNS Healthcare2018-12-13
  4. Helpful (14)

    "The Colin show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GNS Healthcare

    Pros

    Good company culture. Overall it is a great place to work right out of college.

    Cons

    High rate of turnovers. The closer you work with the CEO, the more likely you will get fired.

    GNS Healthcare2018-03-12
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GNS Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Only pros are some of the staff including Bruce Church. Otherwise high turnover, incompetent management.

    Cons

    The CEO is the worst person I've ever worked for. Petty & disagreeable. I should have posted this when I left. Hope this will keep others from taking a job there.

    GNS Healthcare2017-10-27

    GNS Healthcare Response

    October 31, 2017SVP, People & Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We do have many fantastic, committed people here at GNS and we are all working to improve every day. It is unfortunate that you had a less than favorable experience while working with us but we hope you have landed at a company where ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNS Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's very smart and driven people, a very interesting product offering. Theres's also great benefits including unlimited time off. I'm happy to see a lot of diversity in the workplace. Finally, the current company size is ideal to grow, know one another and develop a sense of camaraderie, while at the same time being able to make strides in one's projects.

    Cons

    It seems the company has had some growing pains transitioning from startup mode to a more formal business model, but that seems to be in the past. The company has been active in addressing these issues even before I arrived. My impression is management is concerned about the well-being of their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Management makes great strides to make sure employees are driven. Great contributions include transparency, mentoring projects and plenty of activities

    GNS Healthcare2017-04-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Company + Culture Refresh Paying Off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNS Healthcare full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    GNS Healthcare has made incredible strides in the last 9 months, thanks to the efforts of the employees and support from the executive staff. While employees always recognized that, other than the technology, people are the most valuable asset the company has, leadership has finally caught up. The COO that joined in late 2016 heard the frustrations expressed in earlier reviews and engaged employees early, encouraging...

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is finally putting into place practices and processes that will help the company scale. That can be a frustrating process, but is typical of high growth companies transitioning to a product-centric business model.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work around transparency and communication. Continue to focus on productization and long-term growth.

    GNS Healthcare2017-04-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company with huge potential for growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNS Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, with really smart people--loving working here! Great benefits and collaborative team environment.

    Cons

    Changing culture can cause some growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on bringing in the best talent.

    GNS Healthcare2017-04-21
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Sales & marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GNS Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    interesting technology, but needed upgrading from R&D status to commercial grade software

    Cons

    Leadership publicly criticized sales people, morale was low and many good people left after a short time

    Advice to Management

    Bring in experienced management and let the founders do research and give speeches

    GNS Healthcare2017-03-09
  10. Helpful (4)

    "good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GNS Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    The people who work there are smart as well as educated The CEO is well connected in the space, this leads to interesting opportunities to grow the co. There is money coming in and huge potential.

    Cons

    They are very confused about how to move forward. There is a lot of disorganization at the higher levels and between departments. Growth plans seem ill-considered

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the direction of the company. Come up with a viable exit strategy. There is a lot of talent in the company, and a lot of talent that left the company. Focus on retention through setting a clear direction moving forward.

    GNS Healthcare2017-01-17
Found 27 reviews