GNY Insurance Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

GNY Insurance Companies Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
GNY Insurance Companies CEO Elizabeth Heck (no image)
Elizabeth Heck
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some good people that work here, who are courteous and knowledgeable(in 3 reviews)

  • "Competitive salary Good work environment easy interview(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Underwriters have no authority to make decisions and everything must be referred(in 4 reviews)

  • "There is a huge disconnect between senior management and lower level employees(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The attorneys and staff are very experienced and helpful. Your always busy. Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Advice to Management

    None. You are doing a great job!

    GNY Insurance Companies2019-03-14
  2. "Friendly people, good work-life balance; pay could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GNY Insurance Companies for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance Good benefits Good location in midtown

    Cons

    Pay could be better Not many opportunities for promotions

    GNY Insurance Companies2019-08-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Production Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Production Underwriter in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great teamwork environment, great people to work with, great benefits, supportive management, work from home, company car. The company is rapidly changing and growing so I feel like I got on board at the best possible time. A lot of workflow improvements and technology integration going on, so that is always a good sign.

    Cons

    I am new to the company and I'm still learning, but overall I am very happy that I was given this opportunity. No cons to list at this time.

    GNY Insurance Companies2018-10-24
  4. "Production Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies full-time

    Pros

    GNY is a growing and progressing company. Management is approachable, reasonable, and flexible. Coworkers are welcoming and helpful. Definitely a team environment.

    Cons

    If anything, technology. The systems are fine and on par with the industry. As an UW, I'd always like them to be faster.

    GNY Insurance Companies2018-10-24
  5. "Loss Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies full-time

    Pros

    - The work staff here is very friendly and welcome you with open arms. - Your bosses value your input. - The benefits provided to employees are outstanding. - Working environment is terrific. - Do a great job at furthering experience in the Insurance field. - Do an excellent job of preparing new employees for their roles in the company.

    Cons

    No true cons that exist within the workplace. The only con of working with GNY is commuting to New York City. However GNY is in a great location in relation the Subway and LIRR making the commute less time consuming.

    Advice to Management

    Provide employees with Wi-Fi, although it is not a necessity with computers provided.

    GNY Insurance Companies2018-10-24
  6. "A+ Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies full-time

    Pros

    GNY is a joy to work for. Fellow employees are kind, courteous, and helpful and everyone gets along very well. Senior staff will always take the time to help subordinates or answer questions.

    Cons

    I have yet to experience negativities during my employment.

    GNY Insurance Companies2018-10-24
  7. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GNY Insurance Companies full-time

    Pros

    Stability, Understanding of family issue, PTO

    Cons

    No room to grow, pay is too low

    GNY Insurance Companies2018-09-26
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Enter at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The compensation isn't too bad.

    Cons

    No teamwork, no trust, micro-managing. Dont bother speaking your mind, no one will listen. Oh, and the benefits aren't good either.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. They might be telling you something for a reason. And don't just hear want you want to hear... Try listening, and maybe you'll learn something about what's really going on in office.

    GNY Insurance Companies2018-08-27
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Underwriting Trainee/Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - UA/Trainee 

    I worked at GNY Insurance Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GNY has a decent training program that will build your insurance knowledge.

    Cons

    old school managers, over time is a NORM, severely understaffed, the responsibility of the UA/Trainee is very high and no rewarded with proper compensation. Use and abuse mentality

    Advice to Management

    more opportunities for team building and put less pressure/dependance on UAS/trainees. "nurture"/ mentor the employee as you preach.

    GNY Insurance Companies2018-08-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, approachable management, great place to grow

    Cons

    low authority levels which result in micro-management

    GNY Insurance Companies2018-06-09
Found 54 reviews