KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

GNY Insurance Companies

Engaged Employer

GNY Insurance Companies

Add a Review

GNY Insurance Companies Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 of over 82 reviews

3.9
64%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
GNY Insurance Companies  Chairman, President and CEO Elizabeth Heck (no image)
Elizabeth Heck
35 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Bad pay, terrible office, micromanagement.(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good Company

    Mar 23, 2022 - Claim Examiner Trainee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is good Work life balance.

    Cons

    Limited technology compared to larger insurance companies.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Company

    Mar 1, 2022 - Senior Underwriter in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Leadership Care about their employees Support and autonomy to make decisions Pension

    Cons

    There is not a lot of room for growth

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic Company

    Oct 27, 2021 - Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people I work with are incredible, both my team and boss are extremely are supportive and want you to be successful. My coworkers are always willing to help and have been very patient as I continue to learn .The organization focuses on the betterment of its employees by offering tuition reimbursement and trainings, through employee engagement events and by matching charitable donations throughout the year.

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Top-notch company to develop your career at

    Aug 29, 2020 - Underwriter in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GNY is one of the best players in the niche markets it operates in and is currently in rapid-growth mode. The company has been expanding its geographical footprint and significantly growing its book the last few years, all while maintaining its deeply-rooted culture of underwriting discipline and financial stability. Management has done a excellent job launching the century-old company forward to be more integrated and tech-enabled. Colleagues are pleasant to work with, knowledgeable and highly team-oriented. Effort and results are recognized and there is ample room for advancement. New compensation/performance review program implemented since last year; pay has become more competitive and you are proportionately rewarded for your contributions. Student loan pay down program, 6% 401k match, DB plan, education reimbursement, solid PTO, FSA, etc. Location: If you're a city person: it's the middle of Midtown, need I say more? If you're a 9-5-Home person, location is highly accessible by PT: Grand Central/Penn are a quick 10 minute walk away. You'll also NEVER run out of food options.

    Cons

    - Consecutive years of double-digit growth has strained work life balance. Process optimizations & new hires have somewhat helped to alleviate this.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    On-the-Go Training, Ok Pay, Ok Benefits but BURNT-OUT

    Mar 22, 2021 - Claims Examiner Trainee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very supportive Coworkers; Diverse Culture :) On-the-Go Training (Not formal) , Ok Pay, Ok Benefits (Pre Tax Commute, Student Loan Paydown Plan with Gradifi, Aetna Med and Dent) 5 /+ yr pension program

    Cons

    This is my first and last time doing insurance claims. I'm burnt-out Training wasn't hands on enough and I still don't know how to resolve complex situations and how to negotiate with attorneys I still feel like I don't know what I'm doing. I'm more depressed than when I started Very little advancement

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Not the worst company to work for

    Feb 5, 2021 - N/A in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent work from home policy

    Cons

    Company can be slow to change

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    CIA like environment

    Mar 28, 2021 - Claims Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees are good and bad like every place

    Cons

    supervisor/manager have favorites and everyone else gets left behind

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Look elsewhere

    Jan 3, 2021 - Underwriting 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a laid back company

    Cons

    Sexist company Men are all they promote and usually only promote caucasian people. Hard work never pays off they use you and give you pennies for a raise.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Easy going work environment.

    Jan 31, 2021 - Receptionist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very fair work environment and supported by management.

    Cons

    Could update the computer and phone system for efficiency.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Job searching

    Oct 17, 2020 - Environmental Health and Safety Specialist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Found a job I was interested in

    Cons

    Hard to find not good with computers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 78 Reviews

GNY Insurance Companies Reviews FAQs

GNY Insurance Companies has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 82 reviews left anonymously by employees. 64% of employees would recommend working at GNY Insurance Companies to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, GNY Insurance Companies employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at GNY Insurance Companies. This rating has improved by 13% over the last 12 months.

64% of GNY Insurance Companies employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated GNY Insurance Companies 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at GNY Insurance Companies to be career development, management, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation.

Popular Careers with GNY Insurance Companies Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at GNY Insurance Companies? Share Your Experiences

GNY Insurance Companies logo
or

GNY Insurance Companies Careers

Cover image for GNY Insurance Companies

Standing Strong Since 1914. Greater New York Mutual Insurance Company (GNY) has stood strong through 17 U.S. presidents, 7 major wars and...More

  • Why GNY?
  • Trainee Program
  • Benefits
  • Culture
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

GNY Insurance Companies

0 days ago

Company News
GNY named second on the Top Workplaces of 2022: Best Large NYC Businesses list.
Shared image - Top Workplaces 2022 | The best large businesses in NYC | amNewYork
Top Workplaces 2022 | The best large businesses in NYC | amNewYork
www.amny.com
Logo

GNY Insurance Companies

7 days ago

Company News
We are honored to be recognized on the list of Top Workplaces in New York City by Schneps Media/AM Metro New York! We are grateful for our employees, who are powered by our culture of collaboration and high performance.
Shared image

GNY Insurance Companies Photos

+ Add Photo
GNY Insurance Companies photo of: New Jersey Office
GNY Insurance Companies photo of: GNY's Mid-Atlantic Branch Office employee cruise
GNY Insurance Companies photo of: New Business Underwriting
GNY Insurance Companies photo of: Renewal Underwriting
GNY Insurance Companies photo of: Supporting New York commerical businesses since 1914
GNY Insurance Companies photo of: CEO Warren Heck, COO Liz Heck and team members
GNY Insurance Companies photo of: Connecticut Branch
See All Photos