GNY Insurance Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

GNY Insurance Companies Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
GNY Insurance Companies CEO Elizabeth Heck (no image)
Elizabeth Heck
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "UW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies full-time

    Pros

    Only pro is that I don't have to worry about the job after i leave the office. the 9-5 is good

    Cons

    it is 9-5 but no flexibility, the managers are constantly on the look out to see what time you come in. they say there is a grace period but it is not followed. there are favorites in the company and it feels like i am back in middle school. there should be work from home. The pay is very mediocre. they need to start more flexibility and trusting their employees more. The morale is very low. The communication from upper management to staff is horrible! the dept managers dont even convey important changes to their staff, how are we supposed to do our job if all the information isnt given?

    Continue reading
    GNY Insurance Companies2016-05-11

    GNY Insurance Companies Response

    May 16, 2016VP Human Resources

    GNY knows employees value their personal time. Employees at GNY enjoy a 35 hour work week but are expected to perform during the seven hours they are scheduled to be at work. Managers would not be doing their job if they did not appropriately supervise incidences of poor attendance and poor performance by closely monitoring employees on performance improvement plans.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GNY Insurance Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Greater new york has no pros u lucky if they like you and treat u like a real employee it's all about who you like

    Cons

    They contradict what they say and do they make up there own policy and not even written on there handbook they track your in and out like we are in JR high school let's be real we are adults now the new HR Director is nothing like the old HR Director I give anything to have Bill back

    Continue reading
    GNY Insurance Companies2016-04-26

    GNY Insurance Companies Response

    May 16, 2016VP Human Resources

    GNY has definitely raised the bar for our expected service level to and from our business partners. Expectations have grown of our staff in our efforts to continue to improve and grow. Those resistant to change often feel the organization has failed them rather than the other way around.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies

    Pros

    Competitive salary Good work environment easy interview

    Cons

    very few if any cons

    GNY Insurance Companies2015-12-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies

    Pros

    Currently hiring a lot of young employees.

    Cons

    Management treats each employee differently off their first impression.

    Continue reading
    GNY Insurance Companies2015-12-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Collaborative Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flat management by engaged senior people makes the work environment not only a very good place to learn, but the people are friendly and approachable. Ideas are encouraged making it a place to grow and learn.

    Cons

    pros out weigh any cons.

    Continue reading
    GNY Insurance Companies2015-08-13
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Financially Strong Company but Poor Pay & Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Claims in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GNY Insurance Companies

    Pros

    The company is financially strong and has been around a while. The people that work there are friendly.

    Cons

    The pay and benefits are extremely lacking against other companies and will continue to lead to turnover unless addressed. Pay is much lower than it should be. Switched to PTO but less days than comparable companies. 401k lacking (not 100% vested until 5 years). Lack of paid maternity leave. They give you $90/week which is almost insulting. As a company with a woman CEO and a woman HR leader you would think they would be more progressive then this. They will fail to retain successful woman like myself due to this.

    Continue reading
    GNY Insurance Companies2015-08-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Underwriter in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GNY Insurance Companies for more than 5 years

    Pros

    company offers excellent medical and dental plans

    Cons

    Senior Management needs to value experienced staff

    GNY Insurance Companies2015-07-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Legal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Legal Secretary 

    I worked at GNY Insurance Companies

    Pros

    Good benefits and good people

    Cons

    None that I could think of

    GNY Insurance Companies2015-04-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Junior Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNY Insurance Companies full-time

    Pros

    This is a 9-5 job and you are off every weekend. GNY just switched over to a PTO schedule where you get 19 days off throughout the year to use for any reason which is more than what most companies offer.

    Cons

    They say its a salary job but they still make you clock in and out everyday like we're children. The worst part about the job is the pay. The cost of living is so expensive in NY and GNY does not pay enough which is the reason they have so much trouble retaining their employees.

    Continue reading
    GNY Insurance Companies2015-04-22

    GNY Insurance Companies Response

    May 5, 2015Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We recently changed to a new payroll system and we are now having our Junior Underwriters record their time weekly which is similar to salaried employees.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rater in Glastonbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GNY Insurance Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Office was close to home. Good parking.

    Cons

    Not allowed to think for oneself. Not respected by management always felt as if I was not appreciated for doing a good job. Never any praise for doing a good job but always called out if the job wasn't done the way they thought it should have been done. Even if your way was better. Pay was not up to par compared to other companies in the area. No advancement opportunities. Co-workers were friendly and easy to work with. Office was close to home and there was ample parking.

    Continue reading
    GNY Insurance Companies2015-02-27
Found 55 reviews