GO Transit Reviews | Glassdoor

GO Transit Reviews

Updated Dec 28, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
GO Transit CEO Greg Percy
Greg Percy
3 Ratings
  1. "Station Operations West"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GO Transit full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Long days and stressful at times.

    GO Transit2018-12-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GO Transit full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Descent salary, good benefits, vacation time.

    Cons

    Hierarchical, lack or communication, nepotism.

    Advice to Management

    Improve work culture (meet and greets), listen to staff.

    GO Transit2018-05-08
  3. "Accounting clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GO Transit

    Pros

    Great job, great co workers to work with. The management staff was good, easy to deal with. The salary was excellent.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any cons, it was a positive experience. I don’t know why Glass Door requires a minimum of 20 words here

    GO Transit2018-04-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GO Transit full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    No effort required Good rapport with coworkers Good Pension Pay is ok

    Cons

    Nepotism is rampant Management is poor Supervisors lack skills No room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Poor Management of Wolfedale yard. AsstManager speaks to employees like children and try’s to set up employees to snitch on one another. Befriends employees to acquire information on other employees. Another example of being promoted with no experience whatsoever. Destroying morale just like their predecessors. Poor Management choice. Employees do bare minimum because there is no effort on part of management to improve...

    Show More
    GO Transit2018-04-04
  5. "DRIVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GO Transit full-time

    Pros

    lots of over time available. great group of people to work with for most part.

    Cons

    first 4-5 years will be rough with respect to getting a decent shift. everything is seniority based

    Advice to Management

    hire more supervisors with different levels, i.e junior, senior, chief, etc.. divide work load amongst management more evenly so that they can focus on taking care of the drivers more WHICH in turn will serve the customers better. Also, changes need to be made with respect to booking vacation I understand and agree with the seniority rules, however exceptions have to be made with for certain occasions.

    GO Transit2018-01-08
  6. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Student in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GO Transit for more than a year

    Pros

    > Very friendly and welcoming co-workers > Generally low-pressure environment

    Cons

    > Slow to get anything into production

    GO Transit2017-08-31
  7. "Coop Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineering Coop Student in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GO Transit for more than a year

    Pros

    An amazing team of coworkers. Wonderful work environment. Challenging yet interesting task.

    Cons

    Some of the software provided on the computers are not up to date.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good work going.

    GO Transit2017-05-10
  8. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GO Transit

    Pros

    excellent salary and benefits, interesting work, good hours. There are many opportunities within this company for lateral or upward movement.

    Cons

    I have only been with this company a short time and, to date, there have been no cons...I am happy to have a stable and secure job with a good rate of pay. I have nothing negative to say about this company

    Advice to Management

    I would say to keep doing what they are doing. Like any workplace, there will be really good employees and really bad employees and everything in between - don't get too disheartened by the ones you can never please, you're doing a good job.

    GO Transit2017-04-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Plant service person 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plant Service Person I in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at GO Transit

    Pros

    I am fortunate to work with a great group and I get to see my son develop into a very good bus driver.

    Cons

    It doesn't affect me but the biggest con is the people that have to do sign ups every year . Guys and gals who have to up root their life on a regular basis and is hard on them and I just don't see or agree with managements thinking.

    Advice to Management

    Stop all the sign ups in bus as well as in the garages and let those employees settle in to a sleep pattern that's not going to be changed every few months.

    GO Transit2015-09-18
Found 9 reviews