GQR Global Markets Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
GQR Global Markets CEO & Managing Director Steven Talbot (no image)
Steven Talbot
97 Ratings
Pros
  • "I genuinely enjoy being part of the GQR family and going to work every day(in 41 reviews)

  • "High earning potential fresh out of college(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours but it takes what it takes to build your business(in 41 reviews)

  • "zero work life balance: hours are 8-7 but really, if you leave at 7, you're going to have a problem(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very happy working at GQR, plan to spend my whole career here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EVP 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time

    Pros

    An amazingly talented and aspirational group of people who genuinely care so much about their success and the success of their peers. I genuinely enjoy being part of the GQR family and going to work every day. The firm hugely values innovation is ahead of the curve in so many ways compared with the rest of the market.

    Cons

    Recruitment and GQR are not for everyone. The industry itself is extremely hard to break into and get up and running in. GQR has much higher standards at all experience levels than any recruitment firm I have been exposed to. The firm is extremely ambitious and full of ambitious people. Some of the biggest top billers in the industry have joined and done exceptionally well (myself included)- largely due to surrounding yourself with other like-minded people. This is not for everyone though, I think a lot of people join us thinking they are ambitious, hard-working, and with a "do and improve" mindset but soon realize that they don't really and those people never work out. What I find funny about reading some of these negative reviews is that you really have no one to blame but yourself if you do not succeed at GQR, you get a tremendous amount of support from management and learning and development and all the tools needed to do the job. The firm is extremely open-minded and proactively seeks feedback constantly. You are given every opportunity to succeed here.

    Continue reading

    GQR Global Markets Response

    May 28, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback! We certainly agree that recruitment and GQR are not for everyone. But it's people like you that truly embody GQR's culture code, aspirations, and dedication to succeed and be apart of the GQR family. We wish you continued success at GQR! Thank you for all of your hard work.

  2. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open Conversations with leadership, Good pay if you work hard

    Cons

    No cons as of yet

  3. "Comp"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for upward progression at times

    Cons

    Low base salary for cost of living in nyc

    GQR Global Markets Response

    May 28, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We certainly agree with you that GQR offers upward progression and provides employees the platform to succeed. In regards to compensation, we feel it’s important to stress that you are embarking on a career path when you join our team. We offer exceptional exposure, long-term development and the opportunity for high earnings to those who approach the role with drive and who are opportunistic. Again, thank you for your feedback.

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Just another sweatshop"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GQR Global Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are extremely fun to be around

    Cons

    Extremely long hours for very low pay, No professional development opportunities, Unless you are determined to be a recruiter, stay away!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Think again!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time

    Pros

    Do not apply !!!

    Cons

    PLEASE READ If you are planning to move from ABROAD weather it’s to NYC, LA, Austin, San Francisco and Chicago... think twice Gqr makes you lie throughout your visa process then you end up getting DENIED! do not trust this firm it Happened to many people so far and -The lawyers they use, they work with gqr and they are pathetic lawyers who claim they’re are the best Who also makes you lie throughout your visa process on what you should tell the embassy! It happened to many many applicants Please guys just beware. Be cautious.

    Continue reading

    GQR Global Markets Response

    April 20, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Dear Review and Audience, This review is factually incorrect and written without the knowledge of our business, process or our practices. We invest heavily in our talent and provide a wide support network for people who are joining GQR, especially where relocation is concerned. GQR works with one of the leading London based immigration companies who have provided a trusted and successful process going back over five years. GQR takes its responsibilities to the multiple national Immigration Services we work with incredibly seriously and vehemently deny any of the allegations made in the inaccurate account provided. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact our legal team at https://www.gqrgm.com/people?division=Mission%20Control&specialism=Legal

  6. Helpful (7)

    "Don’t pay comissions"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate - Advisory in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GQR Global Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing good other than beers after work on fridays.

    Cons

    They have no cash.

  7. Helpful (8)

    "Good Culture with Poor Back Office"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GQR Global Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At GQR you will develop the soft skills necessary to rise to the top in just about nay industry, and meet like minded and driven individuals that are usually great people. There are usually some fun office incentives, and it can be a really good environment to work in.

    Cons

    GQR encourages its employees to be "money motivated" but does not hesitate to mess around with your money in the back office. Earning statements are confusing to review, come out the day you are paid so any miscalculations usually can't be dealt with on that check and at times I felt like GQR was being dishonest when it came to how much work I had done vs how much commission I was earning. GQR also has a habit of making any legal documents intentionally vague or overly complicated which in my opinion is used to convince employees to sign poorly balanced employment contracts

    Continue reading

    GQR Global Markets Response

    April 16, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Dear Reviewer, We certainly agree with you that throughout your time at GQR you will collaborate with likeminded, driven individuals globally that share our culture code (3 A's: Ambition, Accountability and Adventure). We are glad to hear that you enjoyed office activities and our global office environments. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with the back office team. If you feel feel you have further questions, we encourage you to please contact one of our back office team. https://www.gqrgm.com/people?division=Mission%20Control

  8. Helpful (9)

    "New grads: steer clear at all costs"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GQR Global Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You build great relationships with the dozens of people that also leave: suggest you reach out to past employees before accepting an offer

    Cons

    - company hides behind awards they receive, but they're a total sham, get ready to be yelled at every single day - zero work life balance: hours are 8-7 but really, if you leave at 7, you're going to have a problem - bro culture to the extreme: you're expected to join company happy hours and participate in drinking games

    GQR Global Markets Response

    April 13, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. GQR is proud of its role as a trusted advisor to elite institutions and aspirational leaders across the globe. To remain diverse and inclusive of the needs of our people and to best support the markets and businesses we serve, each of our global offices maintains hours unique to them. However, we strongly champion the idea of working smarter, not harder – so hours may vary from person to person based on their ability to meet or exceed their targets. And, some individuals might feel the need to work outside regular office hours to achieve success. We hope that we have provided some clarity. If you are reading this review and feel you have further questions, please reach out to our talent acquisition team. https://www.gqrgm.com/people?specialism=Talent Acquisition

  9. Helpful (7)

    "Reality vs Expectations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Vice President in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GQR Global Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GQR is a very ambitious business that has a lot of potential for high-performers. Total Compensation Rate if you are a $400k+ biller is unbelievable! The business is going through lots of internal investment and is making strategic decisions to accelerate growth. That means new tools, investment in your career, and opportunities are regularly being created. Very smart individuals in the leadership team in NY & CA that are inspiring and will challenge you always to be improving.

    Cons

    The reality of my experience did not live up to expectations due to a combination of growing pains and direction of the Austin office specifically. Just in Austin, turnover was at least 15 people (more than half) in my time there, including the Office Head and other members of the Leadership team. Everything is looked through the lens of growth potential and is turned into a KPI, process or model which you need to fit in. This can feel restricting, pressured, and that you are dispensable when decisions are made about your livelihood without compassion. It can very quickly become an environment where you do not enjoy going to work. Threshold is not explained very well and it feels like the business is trying not to pay you or make things unnecessarily complicated. Your debt front-loads quarterly and commission takes a long time to be paid out, so even though the money sounds great, it will take a while to make.

    GQR Global Markets Response

    December 17, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear Reviewer, We appreciate you taking the opportunity to provide insight into your time at GQR. We’re sorry you did not have a great experience while here. Change is constant in the business, however, GQR is proud of the development and investment we put into our employees. Our leadership team is aware that we are in developing markets, especially in Austin, and with that comes to transition, culture shifts, and a necessary investment in back-office functions to make it all work. We hope that we have provided some clarity on our culture and environment at GQR. If you would like to discuss in greater detail, please reach out to the Austin Office Head, Shawn Dargusch. We wish you success in your future roles. If you have further questions, we encourage you to please contact one of our talent acquisition specialists. https://www.gqrgm.com/people?specialism=Talent Acquisition

  10. Helpful (8)

    "Would not recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -fun people, fun happy hour parties -depends a lot of your manager- some are great/supportive and others will fire or drive away every employee they bring on

    Cons

    -the internal GQR hiring team pressures the current employees (especially new employees and high performers) to post positive glassdoor reviews so that the bad ones can be covered up/less prominent- so just be wary of that when reading the reviews on this page -very long hours, discouraged from leaving at actual day-end time (7PM) -constant turnover- most are in and out within a year-- a few have long tenure, but they are the exception, not the rule; significantly higher turnover than the average for a recruitment agency or sales role-- there is constant fear of being fired or being put on warning for not performing -heavy drinking culture -interview process is long, but they are not selective- will basically take anyone with a decent education background -lots of office politics/ favoritism -low base salary, bonuses that are not achievable -very tedious job-- phone based, lots of cold calling-- office based, but still do not allow casual dress

    GQR Global Markets Response

    December 17, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. We’d like to highlight that the official office hours for New York are from 8 AM to 6 PM. We offer competitive opportunities at GQR and find that the people who realize the greatest success do not confine themselves to designated office hours. Regarding our culture, we’re always looking for ways to improve and would like to discuss this directly with you. Please reach out to our New York Office Matthew Kent if you are open to it. Regarding your narrative around GQR “Pressuring Current Employees To Leave Glassdoor Review,” we’d like to stress that we do not have the resources or time, in truth, to dedicate to this. We certainly champion feedback – positive and constructive and would not prohibit anyone from sharing their authentic experience. It is a Glassdoor best practice to remind our people that the platform exists, but again, we would never solicit anyone to write a positive review. In regards to compensation, we feel it’s important to stress that you are embarking on a career path when you join our team. We offer exceptional exposure, long-term development and the opportunity for high earnings to those who approach the role with drive and who are opportunistic. If you are looking for a comfortable base, we agree that GQR might not be the best fit for you. If you are looking for the chance to operate autonomously with an uncapped commission structure, GQR most definitely is the place for you. We offer several communication channels – anonymous and open – that we regularly encourage our people to use to solidify our commitment to transparency in the workplace. We can, and do, escalate issues from our feedback channel directly to leadership. We hope that we have provided some clarity. If you are reading this review and feel you have further questions, please reach out to our talent acquisition team. https://www.gqrgm.com/people?specialism=Talent Acquisition

Found 168 reviews