GROWMARK Reviews | Glassdoor

GROWMARK Reviews

Updated July 2, 2018
54 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jim Spradlin
33 Ratings

54 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great work-life balance is practiced by most" (in 5 reviews)

  • "GROWMARK offers excellent compensation and the benefits package is good as well, highlighted by the pension plan (which so few companies offer anymore)" (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some days consisted of long hours so you must be flexible with your plans" (in 4 reviews)

  • "I hold a lot of company loyalty and also want to benefit from the pension program, so I would rather not look outside of the company for new roles" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great People, Great Culture, Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GROWMARK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fantastic company culture. Great benefits and stability. Working for a large company with a noble cause that gives back to the communities it supports. GROWMARK stays true to its roots, but does a great job of looking to the future and embracing technology to stay competitive in an ever changing industry.

    Cons

    It is a unique company culture due to the cooperative system. Our FS Members own GROWMARK which is great, but also can be a bit challenging because there are so many Members with different needs. It is hard to come up with one size fits all solutions because of the Member diversity.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to put the employees first. Leadership has done a great job setting the tone of the organization from the top down. Access to leadership and being able to mark our mark as employees is what separates GROWMARK from most other companies. Keep it up!


  2. "Good company, lots of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GROWMARK full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, good benefits, opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    weekend work, long hours, some issues not resolved

    Advice to Management

    don't avoid problems because they wont go away

    GROWMARK Response

    May 21, 2018 – System Recruiting Analyst

    Thank you for your review! Employee feedback is very important to us. If there is anything you would like to follow-up on offline, we encourage you to reach out to your supervisor or the HR Service... More

  3. "Growmark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crop Specialist in Bloomington, IL
    Current Employee - Crop Specialist in Bloomington, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GROWMARK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly and Motivated Staff, Great Pension

    Cons

    Very Long hours in season

    GROWMARK Response

    Mar 26, 2018 – System Recruiting Analyst

    We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.


  4. "Big company benefits with small company atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GROWMARK full-time

    Pros

    GROWMARK and the people who work there make you feel welcome from the first day. There are always opportunities to diversify your work experience, and the company invests back in their employees.

    Cons

    Flat company, so lateral job changes are less frequent

    GROWMARK Response

    Mar 19, 2018 – System Recruiting Analyst

    Thank you for your review! Your candid feedback is appreciated.


  5. "GROWMARK Like Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GROWMARK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    GROWMARK's culture is like family - great people to work with who celebrate the good with you and are there for you during the bad. Great professional development opportunities and a variety of career paths to choose from.

    Cons

    Currently, there are very limited opportunities to work remotely or for flexible scheduling, but these opportunities continue to increase as they are requested more and more by employees.

    GROWMARK Response

    Mar 13, 2018 – System Recruiting Analyst

    We appreciate your review! Your feedback is reflective of our current initiatives based on content from our employee satisfaction surveys. We are engaged and actively striving to make improvements... More


  6. "GROWMARK, Inc. company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Associate in Bloomington, IL
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Associate in Bloomington, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GROWMARK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Leadership is completely in touch with the business and employees
    - Most employee friendly company I have worked in
    - Professional, hard working, top notch employees
    - All-inclusive culture. I've been with GROWMARK for 5.5 years, and see myself finishing my career here. I work in an area that touches each part of the organization on a daily basis, and it makes me feel valued every day

    Cons

    Those reading negative reviews are probably trying to find something negative, and, I have no negative remarks for GROWMARK.

    GROWMARK Response

    Mar 19, 2018 – System Recruiting Analyst

    Thank you for your review! It's great to hear the employee perspective and what your experiences are in the organization. We place value on providing a positive work environment where open... More


  7. "Working for Seedway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GROWMARK full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth; experience in the agricultural sect

    Cons

    Can't think of any "cons."

    Advice to Management

    No advice to management at this time.

    GROWMARK Response

    Mar 19, 2018 – System Recruiting Analyst

    Thank you for your review! Your feedback is much appreciated.

  8. "Reccomend Employment GROWMARK 10/10"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GROWMARK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    GROWMARK has a great atmosphere that is very supportive and positive. There are lots of areas for growth due to the many departments - you just have to express interest. I would recommend family and friends to work for GROWMARK, as I have has a great experience within the company and see myself here for many years to come.

    Cons

    Nothing that would deter me from recommending employment.

    GROWMARK Response

    May 21, 2018 – System Recruiting Analyst

    Thank you for your review! We value employee feedback and appreciate when employees are excited to share their experiences.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "GMK Proud"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GROWMARK full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The pay, benefits, and culture of the company are great. There are many career opportunities in a wide variety of areas that allow employees to develop personally and professionally. Love the idea of coming to work every day to support the agricultural industry. The company is in the best financial shape of its 90-plus year history. Run by top management that has the philosophy of "do the right thing".

    Cons

    The company is run very lean, so resources can be tough to come by at times. However, the benefit of this is realized during tough years when there are no layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Change is hard. We are going though some change right now that will have very positive long-terms results. Keep doing the right thing, and encouraging the rest of us to do the same.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GROWMARK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    GROWMARK is a great place to work! The organizational culture is tremendous - kind, happy, positive employees; fun place to work, and a great environment. GROWMARK offers excellent compensation and the benefits package is good as well, highlighted by the pension plan (which so few companies offer anymore). The thing that makes GROWMARK stand out to me is that the organization is filled with people who want to work hard for the company, each other, and our customers. Co-workers will go above and beyond to help one another succeed. As someone with a non-agriculture background, I've leaned on the expertise of others within the organization and countless individuals have spent time with me to help my understand some of the complexities. My managers have been extremely supportive and have given me the necessary tools and training to succeed, while being understanding of work-life balance. GROWMARK does a great job at recognizing you for hard (and good) work. The executive team, led by our CEO, is extremely approachable and genuine.

    Cons

    I don't really find too many significant cons. One of the challenges is understanding the company. It's relatively complex and takes some time to grasp, but GROWMARK does a good job of offering opportunities to learn.

    Advice to Management

    I really appreciate the company management. In other organizations I have worked, you could sense nervous tension amongst employees when the CEO or executive team was around. At GROWMARK, management makes you feel very welcomed. I've found leadership to be very approachable, genuine, and supportive of ideas. I always see our top management around the building and they make a concerted effort to engage and interact with employees.

    GROWMARK Response

    May 21, 2018 – System Recruiting Analyst

    Thank you for your review! Employee feedback is valuable to us and your testimonial is greatly appreciated. The culture of our organization is one of our greatest strengths and everyone works hard... More


Showing 54 of 62 reviews
Reset Filters