KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

GSD&M

Is this your company?

GSD&M

Add a Review

GSD&M Employee Reviews about "gsd m"

Updated May 12, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 190 reviews

4.2
90%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
GSD&M CEO Duff M. Stewart
Duff M. Stewart
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "In the heart of downtown Austin(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great location, good perks(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Top 5 reasons to not intern at GSD&M(in 9 reviews)

  • "none to speak of outside of some long hours(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    What people are saying about GSD&M

    Join the conversation on

    Job Board - Advertising

    7m

    works at 

    GSD&M

    GSD&M is looking for freelance account directors, strategy directors, and creative directors to start next week on an exciting new business pitch! Message me if interested.

    9

    7 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "gsd m"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't let their history fool you into working here

      Jan 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most of the people you work with Company Events Founders Roy Spence and Judy Trabulsi are some of the nicest people in the agency Vacation Company Culture

      Cons

      Pay. My salary was a joke compared to the amount of roles I had to take on. Nor did management want to bring the fact up that I was being paid so poorly for the amount of work I was putting in everyday. Plus everyone would always complain about how much little they were getting paid. It's one of the biggest reasons why people leave GSD&M. Hard work receives little recognition if any. There were countless times where I went above and beyond what was asked of me, yet I received little recognition from management. It would have been nice to get a little bit of recognition more than just once or twice and even better if it wasn't through email. Meetings, meetings, meetings. Too many meetings. Politics and there were countless times where it felt like a high school with rumors flying and a ton of gossiping

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Intern

      Great Internship, but good luck getting hired

      Aug 25, 2013 - Account Service Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome agency, very young-hip crowd, cool office with great perks, free food, many parties, etc. You'll learn a lot and it's a great resume booster. Given actual work to do and are respected as a full-time employee.

      Cons

      Pay is low. GSD&M tries to make it sound like you have a great chance of getting hired after interning, but no matter whether you work extremely hard or are a complete slacker, chances are you probably aren't going to get hired. After interning there, I don't know a single intern that got hired.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to start, ok place to have a career if willing to settle for just being ok

      Nov 28, 2013 - Account Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people who are willing to go above and beyond personally and professionally Great building - it's great but feels kind of empty Parties and stuff - get some good parties and bands in for events

      Cons

      Settling for just OK - whereas most agencies seem to want to push it, GSD&M seems fine to just do as their told Lack of vision - I've heard "in the old days" there was a sense of where things were going. Don't see that anymore. A lot of senior people who just seem to be getting by -

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A False Sense of Superiority

      Jun 6, 2012 - Media in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GSD&M has had some good accounts and good names. Working at GSD&M will get you a GREAT, solid foundation for the next steps in your advertising career. You will work, you will learn, and you will be productive. I am glad to have earned valuable experience at such a reputable company, but...

      Cons

      People are NOT happy at GSD&M. I don't see people smiling, ever. When I interviewed other place and people actually talked to me in the elevator, I had no idea what to do. The only words I can use to describe the culture are "cold" and "unnurturing." It's truly everybody for themselves. They are also losing accounts. Mastercard. AT&T. BMW. Southwest just announced they were opening their creative for RFP. It's not looking bright with only one big win over the past year. On my particular team, advice was given by bringing your errors back to your intelligence level. I can name several times that interns or entry-level employees were aggressively addressed for even the smallest of mistakes due to miscommunication, where a simple correction would have been just as productive and resulted in less self-depreciation. An intense hierarchy... the assistants go through the planners, who go through the senior planners, who go through the supervisors, who go through the directors before anything can get done. Archaic, almost. They pay the lowest salaries in Austin for the industry, and rather than promoting within, they seek outside of the company. I wouldn't recommend entry-level people work at GSD&M, but it could be better for those who are entering the company at a more senior level.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      All Mystique

      Jun 21, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • The people. There is talent and occasionally a project can bring the right forces together and when it does the creative and efficiency are great. • Great if you are fresh out of school. There is plenty of work to be done and if you can get on the right team you can put together some good work to take your next step. • Great place to have on your resume • You'll meet some great connections that are just passing through

      Cons

      • Pay is low. L-O-W. 25% lower than anywhere I have seen. Negotiate upfront, as your pay may never change. • No bonuses. Only once did we get a Christmas bonus. It was a few hundred bucks cash handed out. A little degrading. • No raises but free title changes if you push. A common trend in recent years has been title changes with little compensation increases or a delay in receiving pay increase. Get everything in writing with dates. • The people. Along with the great talent there are high ranking self promoters around every corner and in all departments to derail most projects and client work once it becomes successful. A lot of the sabotaging self promoters can be found as department heads or middle managers. Their inability to actually do work or understand how the work must get done end up sabotaging projects and eventually clients. Known for the million dollar meetings of giant non essential teams are common and a complete waste of time. Additionally managements inability to read any emails or even overview project statuses makes large changes midstream quite common. Finally, these leaders are generally out of the office, leave early and procrastinate on the work making teams suffer. • Worst new business team. It was joked about by the leadership team at multiple company events the lack of success of the new business team. Any other employee or department with that bad of a track record of success would be up for termination or review. Instead this group of self promoters joke with “the boss” slap each other on the back and continue to underachieve and get paid more than those doing the actual client work. • Distrust of new ideas or new ways of thinking in process. Leadership follows no process when inserting themselves into a project and few actually use the tools that teams are expected to use. • Distrust of new ideas or new ways of thinking in creative. When there is a creative success the norm is for all work across clients to mimic the prior work. Pitches look the same, concepts look the same. This isn’t a problem at the creative execution level. It’s a problem because creative directors push all the ideas to follow what is perceived as the only path for success, copying what worked before. • High attrition rate. You hear about the long tenures at GSD&M because of how great the company is. Those days are gone. The remaining folks who have been there 10+ years are mostly checked out, are looking for other jobs or are the self promoters that will end up sucking the company dry. The current trend is to leave not stay. • Decisions being made by flipping a coin? The longer you are at GSD&M the more you realize that decisions are not always made in an informed manner or based on any actual data or logic. There were some financially unsound decisions being made that caused me to begin my job search.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Losing Mojo Everyday

      Aug 31, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was a big fan when I started working at GSD&M. The energy was great and the people were worth looking up to. So over 5+ years working at the agency, I saw what was a great company flounder. When the original partners stepped down a lot of the energy dried up. I'll stick the "pros" of GSD&M, and that would be the Austin office space – particularly the backyard. I loved coming to work seeing such beautiful grounds.

      Cons

      I know when people look at these ratings they think of some disgruntled former employee making a desperate and angry review. To be completely honest I have nothing against GSD&M. It's been a few years since I've been there and I'm in a great job. The only feelings I have is pity for the people who are slaving away with some fantasy that they'll rise to the top. Not going to happen guys. Senior management is entrenched and have no ambition to move on. They (for the most part) have done their time and have been protected from the roller coaster ride of agency hires and layoffs. It's a good place to put in your time (oh and you will do that) as a young employee. As for the the leadership of GSD&M. Duff is a #2 guy. He's NOT a Roy Spence and will never be. (By the way he's very insecure about that) Now I'm not saying Roy is perfect. But he has the ability to command a room and lead a company. Duff is not that guy and his hire of "senior" management hasn't been one of confidence. So, like I said the agency is floundering while the older folks fight for their paycheck. When these guys retire there might be a spark of passion. One thing is for sure, they will use you and use you without the thought of a decent bonus. Yep bonus' are rare at this company. Good luck. Really, good luck.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      You don't want to intern here.

      May 12, 2017 - Intern - Hourly 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people I worked with were nice, wonderful humans. They were smart, motivated, and genuinely wanted to see me succeed. I think that the upper management is aware of problems with their intern program, so hopefully changes will be made. You will learn a lot about the industry working here, and that knowledge might help you land a full-time position....elsewhere.

      Cons

      Top 5 reasons to not intern at GSD&M. 1. The pay is awful. $10.50/hour for a college degree? You will make more money mindlessly working the registers at Whole Foods across the street - and they offer benefits... 2. They will not hire you after your internship (which is the point of taking an internship after graduation). They take advantage of your (essentially free) labor and you better believe that they bill clients for your time at a much higher rate. 3. They will not tell you they aren't hiring you until the day you leave. Even if you have inquired about it mid-way through. However, they will let you intern indefinitely and that kinda looks good on a resume? 4. There is no "intern program." You will be stuck in your department unless you reach out to make friends elsewhere. 5. Friendly people, cool parties, and a sweet backyard are not enough. Interns need proper mentorship and opportunity (not just busy work). Keep in mind that the people you work with will be awesome, but their bosses and/or Omnicom will prevent you from making any further advancement in the company. Interns are a stock commodity that they consider to be dispensable. In all fairness, interns kind of are...but we shouldn't be treated that way.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Assistant Media Planner

      Mar 29, 2016 - Assistant Media Planenr in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company culture cannot be beat! This is a super fun place to work where you are guaranteed to make new friends and learn a lot.

      Cons

      GSD&M has a reputation for being high-pressure for a reason. Expect to be stretched to your limits and challenged every day.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Intern

      Not What I Thought

      Mar 29, 2017 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working as an intern, I met some of the most hardworking and genuine people.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, this wasn't the GSD&M I grew up idolizing. Full of politics and under appreciated people. I witnessed lots of over worked and underpaid entry level employees.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with GSD&M Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at GSD&M? Share Your Experiences

    or