GSW Marketing & Advertising Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

GSW Marketing & Advertising Reviews

Updated February 21, 2018
119 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Sonja Foster-Storch
4 Ratings

119 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The management and teams have respect for work/life balance (in 15 reviews)

  • Good people, fun culture, lots of autonomy (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • It was the least welcoming place I've ever worked at and that includes retail jobs back in high school (in 6 reviews)

  • Lack of leadership, weak creative, and extremely political- pretty much like a high school with the amount of gossip and undercutting that goes on (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A new day at GSW NYC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Project Management in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GSW Marketing & Advertising full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Awesome award-winning creative
    -Fusing with PALIO is bringing new culture, new leadership and new approaches
    -Commitment to cool pro-bono work
    -Office planned to right across from Chelsea Market (hooray lunch options!)
    -New leadership that is onsite, involved, and brings the small agency perspective that worked so well at PALIO

    Cons

    Change is always hard, but the teams are ready to make something new and great
    Challenges with working across two NYC locations at the moment

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep people informed and involved in building the new company. Look ahead to new wins!


  2. "Great Team and atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newtown, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newtown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GSW Marketing & Advertising full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at GSW for almost 8 years and we have had ups and downs like any other ad agency. Currently there is a great team in place and new management cafes about the people and business.

    Cons

    The benefits could be better

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward the way you are today.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "AVOID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at GSW Marketing & Advertising full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I had some very talented and competent creative and account teammates, whom have since left

    Cons

    1. The NYC office now only has two brands. The office recently went under and merged with PALIO, so they're packing it up and moving downtown.
    2. Management is completely out of touch, have little understanding of the brands they manage and day to day process.
    3. Absolutely zero training of new employees. No one is properly onboarded to their teams, or taught anything about brand guidelines and process. In the last 5 months there has been a huge wave of resignations of competent senior employees, leading to a huge loss of expertise. Even simple projects are incompetently managed which leads to many late nights.
    4. The last I checked there are barely any people left at the office. Between lay-offs and resignations, the number of full-time employees is 1/3 of the number it was a year ago.

    Advice to Management

    Start from the ground up and rebuild your employee training and process. This is the only way you will win produce competent work and win new clients


  4. Helpful (5)

    "A Dying Agency Run By Dinosaurs and Beancounters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Management in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Middle Management in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GSW Marketing & Advertising full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good pay for Columbus, OH
    Good sized budgets

    Cons

    • A total cube farm, building is like a bank or insurance company. Depressing.
    • Upper management hasn't changed in 20 years- literally. An old boys network full of frat boys.
    • Input is never heard or acted on
    • Private equity owners are scary. Layoffs and cutbacks every month
    • Creative team is immature, don't understand pharma
    • Loads of back-stabbing and politics
    • Re-do the timesheet reporting system, it is oppressive

    Advice to Management

    • Fire the Columbus management team. Bring in new blood that understands pharma and has connections for new biz
    • Move the Columbus office to NYC

    GSW Marketing & Advertising Response

    Feb 3, 2018 – VP Human Resources

    Hi. Thank you taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate the importance of listening to our people and taking action. Each employee’s personal point of view is an important consideration... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Classic agency life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GSW Marketing & Advertising full-time

    Pros

    Lot of passion in people, pretty good work/life balance, understanding of health issues and willing to allow long period of remote work.

    Cons

    Pretty young crowd but everyone is looking for a chance to shine and not everyone plays nice on the design side. Dev is understaffed and under-appreciated for the crunched timelines.

    Advice to Management

    It's agency life, there are lulls and peaks--be transparent, honest, and believe in your employees.

    GSW Marketing & Advertising Response

    Jan 5, 2018 – VP Human Resources

    Hi. Thank you for posting your thoughts about our agency. It is so nice to see those positive comments and areas to continue to focus on. We appreciate your note!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "I loved working here..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at GSW Marketing & Advertising full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    * Nice and talented individuals
    * Interesting work, especially if you enjoy healthcare
    * Wealth of learning opportunities
    * Likely that you can contribute to other areas if you wish to do so
    * Adaptable to individual life events
    * Fair/above average benefits
    * Good work often gets recognized

    Cons

    * Lots of negativity in office
    * Limited career advancement/promotion opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Continue open/honest communications with staff

    GSW Marketing & Advertising Response

    Jan 5, 2018 – VP Human Resources

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is so nice to see those positive thoughts. We appreciate your note!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Complicated Mess in NY Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Operations in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GSW Marketing & Advertising full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Some talented creatives. The physical space is open and relaxed.

    Cons

    No personal accountability. No training. No growth. No proper management of budget, forecasting or staff allocation. Dept Heads have no idea what's happening on any of the actual brands and are ineffective, mediocre figureheads that people do not respect or feel inspired to do great work by. With the loss of businesses, and subsequent terminations and resignations of dozens of stakeholders, this place is a Ghost Town with 2 clients and a handful of over-worked, gossipy, egotistical and reckless team leads digging themselves further and further into the sinking hole that has enveloped what was once a great agency.

    Advice to Management

    Pack up and get out.

    GSW Marketing & Advertising Response

    Jan 5, 2018 – VP Human Resources

    Hello. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. The leadership team and I are looking for feedback as we are fully committed to following through to ensure we have a great place to... More

  8. "Sometimes change is good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GSW Marketing & Advertising full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Knowing that what we were doing was going to help patients in the long run is what drives most of the employees working there.

    Cons

    Management tends to leave a lot to be desired.

    GSW Marketing & Advertising Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – VP Human Resources

    Hello. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. The leadership team and I are looking for feedback as we are fully committed to following through to ensure we have a great place to... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "GSW Advertising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GSW Marketing & Advertising full-time

    Pros

    Great hard working conscientious people.

    Cons

    Owned by a Private Equity Group that does not understand what we do.
    Cliques, favoritism and office politics

    Advice to Management

    Grow up and quit acting like 8th grade.

    GSW Marketing & Advertising Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – VP Human Resources

    Hi. We appreciate your feedback and want to ensure we are using it to better our organization. We fully agree that our people are the best and want to do everything we can to support them. Please... More


  10. "They are blind pirates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at GSW Marketing & Advertising full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Payment is fair.
    Work space is cool.

    Cons

    I would try to keep the list short:
    - They hire a decent amount of bad professionals
    - Most creative leads (Not all) are dated. Their ideas are back from the 90s
    - They lack of vision and how to lead the Pharma Ad Industry
    - Some account people think the rest of the agency are their shop not their team
    - Timesheets, intranet, and project management tools are so old and bad that it takes a considerable amount of time to finish simple tasks.

    Advice to Management

    I would rebuild PM department and in general be more thorough in the hiring process.

    GSW Marketing & Advertising Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – VP Human Resources

    Hello. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are always looking to better our organization, and hearing an individual’s thoughts is important to that process. I’d really like the... More


Showing 119 of 127 reviews
Reset Filters