Gaco Western Reviews | Glassdoor

Gaco Western Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Peter Davis
24 Ratings
  1. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gaco Western full-time

    Pros

    Gaco's management truly cared about their employees and fostered a family atmosphere; Salaries were very competitive in the Seattle market.

    Cons

    Growth of personnel within departments did not keep up with the growth of the company.

    Gaco Western2018-06-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gaco Western full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The Actual Job (a fun job that gets you out of bed everyday to go hunt) -Compensation( pretty good) -Support -New Opportunities The people who work here are amazing. Everyone from the president to the manufacturing plant crew are good people who only want to help you succeed. With being acquired by FSBP nothing has changed for the sales side yet.

    Cons

    -None With the recently being acquired we knew changes were coming and nobody like change but it hasn't been necessarily for the worse. We lost a lot of our original leadership team but retained a few key figures. Unfortunately FSBP closed our Seattle office and our teammates that we rely on and talk to everyday are now uncertain about their future. No real negatives from the sales side.

    Advice to Management

    We have been growing for the last 20 years. Keep the ideas behind that growth the same. Don't change too much. There is a reason we are the standard of the industry.

    Gaco Western2017-12-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good for Right Now, Better to Get Out Soon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gaco Western full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    With the acquisition by Firestone Building Products, we have been given a lot of input as to the way that our positions are transitioned into FSBP. Very little has changed yet, as it was not a hostile take-over by any means. All of our managers have been extremely supportive as to how we individually exit the company through the transition.

    Cons

    We are being asked to move to Nashville from the Seattle office, or lose our jobs, and there is no option besides those two.

    Gaco Western2017-11-10
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waukesha, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gaco Western full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    They care about their people and safety - always upgrading and working to improve operations.

    Cons

    Processes must be conducted as outlined or product has issues - must be very careful when going about your business because a small mistake may damage product.

    Gaco Western2017-03-10
  5. "Pressure Cooker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory in Waukesha, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gaco Western

    Pros

    Technically adept company that actually develops advanced products.

    Cons

    Somewhat of a pressure cooker environment, especially due to recent down sizing. HR needs an upgrade.

    Advice to Management

    Don't believe everything you hear.

    Gaco Western2016-09-21

    Gaco Western Response

    September 28, 2016ELT

    As with any high-growth company, this type of sustained performance presents opportunities which requires Gaco to seek and hire the best in their field to help meet our growing needs. The company has not experienced any downsizing activities and has continued to grow as evidence ...

    Show More
  6. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Gaco Western

      Pros

      Great people, great benefits, awesome company!

      Cons

      There are no cons that come to mind.

      Advice to Management

      n/a

      Gaco Western2016-09-02
    • "Area Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Area/Distribution Manager in Shawnee, KS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Gaco Western full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Established quickly growing company with semi positive upsides

      Cons

      Not a lot of trade reference support

      Advice to Management

      Constant change is never good in a region

      Gaco Western2016-08-28
    • Helpful (3)

      "Employment failure"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gaco Western full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      None come to mind but the rubber ducks make me laugh. People in customer service do a great job and that is nice to see.

      Cons

      Too many to list but the major problems originate with the executive leadership. Very poor skill sets or no skill sets would best describe them. The incompetence trickles down hill pretty far into the middle management.

      Advice to Management

      With the owner recently resigning it would have been a good time to source a President capable of making mature decisions. I would highly advise Gaco to sell to the first bidder. Once the company is sold, new owners can clean house.

      Gaco Western2016-09-09

      Gaco Western Response

      September 14, 2016ELT

      The Executive Leadership Team including the CEO work hard to make decisions for the short and long-term benefit of Gaco Western. The top seven executives have now worked together as a team for over five years and during that time, Gaco’s revenues have grown over three and a half ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gaco Western

      Pros

      nothing i can think of

      Cons

      please keep in mind that all the positive reviews are from Seattle and Wisc (people in marketing and customer service not sales people). The sales department is a mess and it all starts with upper management. poor vision, poor market identifications and unrealistic sales goals.

      Advice to Management

      not all geographic markets are the same!!!!!

      Gaco Western2016-04-20
    • "Senior Customer Service Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waukesha, WI

        I have been working at Gaco Western full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        I enjoy working with my customer base

        Cons

        some days can be more stressful than others due to workload chaos

        Advice to Management

        Better communication throughout the company

        Gaco Western2016-03-04
      Found 31 reviews