Gadens Lawyers Reviews | Glassdoor

Gadens Lawyers Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Solicitor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time

    Pros

    Reasonably good quality of work, most people are pleasant to work with. Hours are generally reasonable depending on the workload / areas of work.

    Cons

    Very limited amenities with fruits and biscuits often run out early in the morning. Little appreciation and recognition of the work done, especially the juniors tend to be treated more like replaceable parts in a corporate machine (well, we all are but a little human touch would be nice). Compensation arrangements not competitive at all.

    Advice to Management

    More engagement with the non-partner employees and recognition of talents and efforts.

    Gadens Lawyers2016-10-17
  2. "Mortgage Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Gadens Lawyers full-time

      Pros

      Fun working environment - work itself is quick to learn

      Cons

      The skill ceiling is low and excelling is not encouraged

      Gadens Lawyers2019-02-26
    • "Mortgage Clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mortgage Clerk in Melbourne
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great experience as an entry level legal job. High exposure to many facets of the business. Friendly partners who want you to do well.

      Cons

      Not nearly enough training. You are thrown in the deep end.

      Gadens Lawyers2019-01-22
    • "Associate at Gadens"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      great team and friendly culture, reasonable billable requirements and good quality work.

      Cons

      technology is woefully out of date. Pay is pretty average for a very profitable firm.

      Advice to Management

      invest in the future (employees and technology)

      Gadens Lawyers2018-10-09
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate in Melbourne
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Gadens Lawyers full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I've worked at big international top-tiers and in comparison the people are Gadens are approachable, friendly and genuinely interested in your career development. It sits comfortably as a mid-tier and isn't interested in becoming yet another massive firm where everyone feels like a cog in a huge wheel where you have to compete against 10 other colleagues for a promotion. Junior lawyers get exposed to interesting work...

      Show More

      Cons

      The offices are in need of an upgrade, but I understand Gadens is moving to a brand new building in 2019

      Gadens Lawyers2018-09-20
    • "Awful place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lawyer in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Location and office and not much else

      Cons

      Awful partners No training No support Boys club Often yelled at Blame culture HR are spies checking when you arrive and leave work

      Advice to Management

      Worst experience of my career

      Gadens Lawyers2018-10-06
    • Helpful (3)

      "Beware - hideous"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Solicitor in Brisbane
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Gadens still looks pretty good on a resume. You can learn legal skills and will have the opportunity to work with some impressive people. Client are great.

      Cons

      Expect sexual harassment, widespread bullying, incompetent management and a constant dread that you will be fired. As a young woman I was groped by a partner, repeatedly belittled by several different supervisors and felt increasingly depressed and anxious.

      Gadens Lawyers2018-09-20
    • "Mortgage Clerk at Gadens Lawyers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Gadens Lawyers full-time

      Pros

      Nice building and mid-size firm

      Cons

      Recent segregation of national office

      Gadens Lawyers2018-03-20
    • "A fish rots at the head"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Paralegal in Brisbane
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      If you work extremely hard and long hours, you may just get recognition and opportunities. May...........But you will constantly be in the crosshairs unless you join the 'Boys Club' so beware.

      Cons

      The culture starts at the top for bullying, back biting, poor management tactics and a complete lack of recognition for staff equally. HR part of the butt kissing gang so little assistance there. No matter how hard you work or go over and above, if someone above you who is part of the 'KB gang' doesn't like you, you get squashed and nit picked for minor matters while others around you who are lazy but KB get salary increases....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      No point.......senior management and Partners interested in their back pocket's, nothing else. They are constantly buying up/merging to get client lists and profits only to shed staff en masse and move onto the next target. Predatory behaviour rather than being known for excellence seems to be their preference.

      Gadens Lawyers2018-02-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Poor remuneration and poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Some flexibility for family and study.

      Cons

      Pay well below market rate. Manager in my team was hands off to the point of unapproachability, and patronised more junior staff. Staff overworked with no recognition, creating a strong culture of resentment negativity about the firm.

      Gadens Lawyers2017-11-28
    Found 30 reviews