Gagosian Reviews | Glassdoor

Gagosian Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Larry Gagosian
16 Ratings
  1. "Unique iconic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gagosian full-time

    Pros

    - #1 company in the art world -- leading the way in so many facets - Filled with passionate people who are talented and do great work

    Cons

    - As with other high-performance companies it can be intense at times. Steve Jobs at Apple once said "we're here to make a dent in the universe". It's like that.

    Gagosian2018-11-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gallery Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gagosian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The name and the artists. That's it.

    Cons

    - Everything. The 2nd worst place I've ever worked in my entire life. - Health based discrimination. - Nationality based discrimination. - Awful and idiotic managers. - So much nepotism. - Pay is atrocious!

    Advice to Management

    HR should retrain you terrible managers and directors.

    Gagosian2019-05-02
  3. "Enjoyable/Instructive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gallery Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gagosian part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - learn a lot - great team, dependent on gallery location

    Cons

    - not much hands on training

    Gagosian2019-02-27
  4. "Fine for a minute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gagosian for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn a bit about how mega galleries work.

    Cons

    Learn far less than in other internships at galleries.

    Gagosian2019-02-08
  5. "Former Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gagosian full-time

    Pros

    While the internship starts out with ordinary tasks that can be expected at any internship, as it progressed you really get to work on meaningful projects. Advice to interns: do not think you are better than the mundane tasks, if you take them seriously employees will take you seriously and trust you.

    Cons

    Some of the employees never really warm up to you as an intern. The hierarchy is very evident.

    Gagosian2018-10-31
  6. "Archivist Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gagosian full-time

    Pros

    Interesting Art, Creative Environment, Good Location

    Cons

    lots of over time, no feedback

    Gagosian2018-11-09
  7. "Gallery Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Gagosian part-time

    Pros

    + Exposure to the art world through a blue chip gallery + Gain knowledge on gallery systems + Meet people + Potential to get hired

    Cons

    - basic level involvement

    Gagosian2018-07-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "dissappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gagosian full-time

    Pros

    learning about the publications and artists works

    Cons

    low pay, classist, unethical, culture of the gallery was a huge dissappointment

    Gagosian2018-05-12
  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gagosian

    Pros

    I gained a lot of knowledge about art while working at the Gagosian.

    Cons

    At the time they did not have a good intern program set up so I was often given tasks that meant little to my position.

    Gagosian2017-12-18
  10. "Great place to intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gagosian

    Pros

    I worked as an intern, and found the experience great. I worked under an amazing employee, and was able to get a lot of personal growth, in regards to the direction that I was heading towards.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to remember everyone's name, especially on the first day. It gets easier though.

    Gagosian2017-09-19
Found 36 reviews