Galaxy Desserts Reviews | Glassdoor

Galaxy Desserts Reviews

Updated Apr 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Galaxy Desserts CEO Paul Levitan (no image)
Paul Levitan
2 Ratings
  1. "I love working with hard-working, fun and creative people who respect a healthy balance between life and work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Richmond, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Galaxy Desserts

    Pros

    The pastries and desserts!! ...of course. A smal-medium company that allows for creativity and hard work to shine through. They are always looking for ideas outside the box and are open to new ideas. It's a small enough company that you can try new projects and be part of the process.

    Cons

    Too much eating and I can't stop : )

    Advice to Management

    Continue rewarding hard-working employees. Have an exercise program for all the goodies!

    Galaxy Desserts2011-02-17
  2. "Compagny in transit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Galaxy Desserts for less than a year

    Pros

    it provides a great learning experience.

    Cons

    nothing that i can think of

    Galaxy Desserts2019-04-16
  3. "Sales Ops."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Galaxy Desserts full-time

    Pros

    Great desserts and ability to learn and grow. International and domestic food industry exposure due to acquisition by Brioche Pasquier.

    Cons

    Poor pay that is losing its soul to a company vision that is out of tune to the United States market. People are your greatest asset yet are being treated as easily replaceable with less experienced people or requesting those who are currently there to do the work. I agree that you need to make a profit but you also need right people to do the work correctly.

    Advice to Management

    Pay people what they're worth...People are not always looking for a lot more money but recognize those who are pushing themselves to learn and help the company grow. Directors need to realize that this is not Europe and they need a specific strategy for the US market.

    Galaxy Desserts2018-11-12
  4. "smells nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Richmond, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Galaxy Desserts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great deserts, wonderful teammates

    Cons

    didn't speak french or spanish

    Advice to Management

    none

    Galaxy Desserts2018-10-13
  5. "quality technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Galaxy Desserts full-time

    Pros

    Learning new type of quality experience

    Cons

    still trying to learn more about company

    Galaxy Desserts2017-08-28
  6. "Doesn't Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Very Hard Worker in Richmond, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Galaxy Desserts

    Pros

    1 CEO is leaving 2 Free parking 3 Easy freeway access 4 Some really cool and fun co-worker

    Cons

    Mami and Papi environment: Upper management has a need to know all of the latest gossip and encourages tattletelling - nothing is confidence Low, low, low pay on every level Lack of training on all levels Favoritism and nepotism run rampant Benefits are pitiful Since being bought by French company, the culture is even more distrustful and a backstabbing environment Upper management knows very little about... managing people and processes Company values that apply to some but not all - depending on how much you're liked or disliked Poor managers are idols and they hire more of the same No plan to help all employees advanced Co-workers leave all the time Poor communication and zero transparency Six holidays per year

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Encourage and support training - begin with yourselves in learning how to manage Create a trusting work environment at all levels Develop an organized company Learn to manage (not avoid) conflict Follow the rules because following your own is clearly not work

    Galaxy Desserts2016-03-20
  7. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Galaxy Desserts full-time

    Pros

    Daily samplings of delicious pastries and desserts. In close proximity to the Richmond Marina and Point Richmond.

    Cons

    Upward mobility was limited when I was employed there, however that may have changed in the past couple years.

    Galaxy Desserts2015-07-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A very disappointing company indeed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Mail Order in Richmond, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Galaxy Desserts for more than a year

    Pros

    There are not too many positive reasons to work at that company. The company is pretty bad and there's no opportunity there.

    Cons

    Super low pay, few benefits, unhealthy environment, incompetent leadership, the company is not even profitable and it runs on credit all the time. That's why you can lose your job anytime.

    Advice to Management

    Please, do our galaxy a favor and stop running Galaxy Desserts.

    Galaxy Desserts2013-09-29
  9. "Galaxy Desserts - probably worst company in the galaxy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Galaxy Desserts

    Pros

    free, frozen, sometimes expired desserts

    Cons

    low salary incompetent management the company runs on credit no budget

    Advice to Management

    learn to run a company

    Galaxy Desserts2010-03-13
Found 9 reviews