Gallagher "high turnover" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Gallagher Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Gallagher CEO J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
623 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly Work Environment, Good management(in 56 reviews)

  • "Most people have the opportunity to work from home, which I have been doing for over three years(in 55 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "high turnover"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resolutin Manager in Duluth, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly, work environment -Career advancement possibilities, although somewhat limited

    Cons

    -There is an invisible glass ceiling -After about 2 years, you are capped at a specific salary -High turnover rate

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2017-06-14
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Team Leader in my department plays favorites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    Health Insurance Benefits Pay was good

    Cons

    High turnover rate, nepotism among employees, singles out employees she doesn’t like, very unprofessional

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2019-09-23
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Senior Resolution Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resolution Manager in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to work from home.

    Cons

    There is not enough of a focus on quality claims handling Too many rules and procedures to follow that limit your ability to complete your work. High case loads Low pay High turnover

    Gallagher2019-05-30
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Stay Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful view of Boston Harbor OK pay The employees who aren't cutthroat are lovely but you have to seek them out Summer perks (casual May-Sept; leave at 2 on Fridays) are great

    Cons

    The turnover is unreal - over 40 people left in the time I was there, and people are still leaving as of this review. Almost everyone I know has moved on to another company. I wasn't convinced that corporate and HR were trying to fix the problem because they completely failed to address the real problem-this office is TOXIC. If you don't fit in or if your boss doesn't consider you their favorite you will be forced out. Everyone is cutthroat and gossipy. Nobody is committed to your success; only your downfall and how they can benefit from it. High turnover is not a sustainable model. Plus the insurance community in Boston is small. Everyone knows how bad it is to work at Gallagher. Word travels quickly. There is only one health insurance plan (BCBS of IL) and they force you to pay for birth control. This is Massachusetts - you're not supposed to be paying for that. Pretty sure it's because it's owned by a Catholic family. The workflows are absolutely ridiculous. You're expected to rotate through every daily task multiple times a day, and if you don't you'll be told that you're not working hard enough. This is basically inviting an E&O. People aren't robots. Training is redundant and is only designed to avoid an E&O - not improve efficiency. I wasn't convinced. I've been in insurance for many years and this job is the reason I won't go back to another position in the industry. I have a lot of issues trusting management after my experience with this company. Not worth the drama and mental health issues. I wouldn't recommend any of my insurance friends to this particular office. I think Gallagher is an okay company but this office in particular is awful and needs a complete staffing reset.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2019-04-02

    Gallagher Response

    April 16, 2019Digital Marketing Analyst

    Thank you for your comments. Leadership in Boston is working with regional support on listening to employee concerns and problem-solving. Gallagher has one insurance provider, but multiple plans that our employees can choose from in order to make the best decisions for their needs. Gallagher’s plans do include a list of contraceptives that are covered at no cost to employees covered under the plans. Contraceptives not included on the list may still be covered under the plans, but at a cost to the employee. Employees are encouraged to report any behaviors that go against our policies to the Ethics and Compliance Hotline, which provides the opportunity to remain anonymous, at (888) 878-6236. Gallagher promotes a working environment free of harassing, abusive, disrespectful, disorderly, disruptive or other non-professional conduct that interferes with another’s work performance or that creates an intimidating, offensive, or hostile environment.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Client Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you get on the right team its a great place to work

    Cons

    Literally no communication as it pertained to performance Certain teams had high turnover only 2 weeks of PTO Not sure who is in charge of what

    Gallagher2018-12-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Financial Benefits Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay Work with a knowledgeable team

    Cons

    Department understaffed due to high turnover No training nor structure Sometimes deal with overbearing or inept consultants

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2018-11-15
  7. Helpful (8)

    "A Throwback Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher

    Pros

    Work from home ability, good employees at my office location, not pressured to travel a lot, good place to work if you have no kids, no family and basically no life.

    Cons

    Every office location seems to run differently. Extremely squeaky tight with $$. Overwhelming expectations with lack of proper tools to meet the expectations. High turnover/high burnout rate. Overtime is an unwritten rule and basically expected. No work/life balance. Low pay and unfair process of how raises are given, if any given.....Hit or miss if some one gets a raise. No personal HR contact ability. Reminiscent of companies of the 50's, 60's, 70's, etc in an age where equality for all is in the forefront. A step backwards in many ways.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2018-03-23
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Great company overall, NYC office is different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -option to work from home

    Cons

    -NYC office has a cut-throat culture -under staffed, high turnover -everyone is always at capacity and in turn treats fellow co-workers like garbage

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2017-12-04
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Company Management Lacks Wherewithal to Stand Up For Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You might be allowed to work from home, but only if the client account you're on will allow for it.

    Cons

    Management and marketing continually promise clients more while keeping offices understaffed so that AJG and the client see a high rate of return while adjusters receive below average compensation. There is extremely high turnover, to the point where I stopped bothering to learn new employees names during my last year there. AJG also has an extremely stingy vacation policy - you only get 2 weeks for the first 5 years, 3 weeks during years 5-10 and 4 weeks after 10 with no possibility of accruing more. The technology is extremely outdated and often times goes down. Additionally, adjuster pendings are unmanageable for most and if you happen to be one of the few people who can manage your desk in 40 hours a week, you will be rewarded by being forced to do other people's work too.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2017-09-17

    Gallagher Response

    September 22, 2017Digital Marketing Analyst

    Thank you for your feedback. In addition to vacation days, which start at 10 per year, employees also get 10 days off for holidays and can accrue two more optional holidays through the year. There is also an attendance policy which incorporates sick days and personal days an employee may need, as we recognize occasional absences may occur.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Inept HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    It is a job.That is it

    Cons

    Inept HR in Boston. High turnover. Lawsuit for wrongful termination. Now a hiring freeze! Just a horrible place to come to work. Poor managers w/o no management training.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2017-08-29
Found 25 reviews