Gallagher "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gallagher Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Gallagher CEO J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
623 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly Work Environment, Good management(in 56 reviews)

  • "Most people have the opportunity to work from home, which I have been doing for over three years(in 55 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Flexible work day & Work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Resolution Manager in North Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A typical work day is busy, but laid back. For those working in the office, the expectation is that dress is casual (jeans!) most days unless a client meeting is taking place in the office. Most people have the opportunity to work from home, which I have been doing for over three years. I love the ability to work independently and the flexibility that comes from working from home means I don’t have to take sick... days when I have a cold or my child is sick, drive to or from work in a snowstorm, or take off time for a routine doctor appointment. This is the only employer I have known that throws bridal and baby showers for their employees, to celebrate events in their personal lives. It is truly a family atmosphere and I have made true friends while working here. I have been given the tools and training I need to be successful and have supervisors who encourage me to grow and develop my strengths. I feel like I have people looking out for my best interests and in helping me reach the next level of my career. There is absolutely opportunity for growth and advancement; I have been promoted in the last two years and am formally working toward my next promotion with the assistance of upper management. I work on a team made up of talented and knowledgeable individuals who do not hesitate to step up to the plate when someone needs help or is out unexpectedly for a day or two. The case load is lower than industry standards in my experience and completely manageable, allowing me to have work/life balance. You are encouraged to take your time off and when on vacation disconnect completely. I don’t foresee myself leaving anytime in the future and feel lucky to work here.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only negative is that there could be more vacation time, but sick days do not count against your time off and you get a lot of days off for holidays, including the Friday after Thanksgiving, which is nice. The sick policy is you take what you need, but don’t abuse it. Because I have the flexibility of working from home, I find that I don’t need as much vacation time because of my flexible work schedule.

    Gallagher2019-08-20
  2. "Moved to work from home after year in office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager 

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, work from home

    Cons

    Low pay, few growth opportunities

    Gallagher2019-11-28
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (4)

    "It's like working in the 80s, but without the benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are pockets of rational people The new HQ in Rolling Meadows is nice, good cafeteria Can work from home

    Cons

    A lot of red tape to get anything done Finger pointing is common instead of just fixing a problem The company is 100% broker focused; if you aren't a broker, you are dispensable Raises are non-existent unless you fight, even though every year they are profitable The benefits are horrible (only HDHP with expensive premiums) and you only get 10 days off a year (15 after 5 years) Each location has their own rules... and processes, there is no consistency Nepotism is standard practice; if you are family or a friend, you are set! Management has no idea what the day-to-day is for any of the people doing the work Morale is horrible Have to wear business casual every day (no jeans allowed) They focus on being an "Ethical" company, but practices don't reflect it internally

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to evolve to survive and not just focus on stock prices. Try being proactive to take care of your employees instead of treating everyone as if the are dispensable. Take a look at your benefits package and try to offer something modern and takes care of your people, instead of expensive premiums with little to no coverage.

    Gallagher2019-11-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    People people people. Flex time. Work from home when needed.

    Cons

    Large corporation feel at times.

    Gallagher2019-09-17
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Nepotism & Patriarchy: A Corporate Saga"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    -great opportunity to learn about insurance, sales and corporate America -lots of opportunity to grow financially and professionally -opportunity to travel depending on role -work from home option -full benefits package (vision is the best! two pairs of glasses per year) -awesome, family like culture

    Cons

    -very patriarchal (meaning men are usually in leadership roles and "in charge" as producers and regional sales managers) -nepotism openly accepted and encouraged meaning people who have no skills, talents, or intellect are hired with competitive salaries just because they're related to someone in the company -takes a long time to receive a raise-must work very hard to receive a raise, and even then it may be... meager -a lot of conflicting information given -systems can be cumbersome to navigate -high turn over in client service segment -somewhat incompetent practice leaders/subject matter experts

    Show More
    Gallagher2019-06-08
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Senior Resolution Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resolution Manager in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to work from home.

    Cons

    There is not enough of a focus on quality claims handling Too many rules and procedures to follow that limit your ability to complete your work. High case loads Low pay High turnover

    Gallagher2019-05-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Its Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager 

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home

    Cons

    Long hours and no real room for growth.

    Gallagher2019-05-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resolution Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work From Home . Decent Pay

    Cons

    Management can be too particular

    Advice to Management

    No room for advancement

    Gallagher2019-03-23
  10. Helpful (8)

    "No real work life balance, No help when drowning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resolution Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comoany has a recognition program. Company allows work from home for high performing adjusters. My former manager was great but not all managers are as good as she was.

    Cons

    The biggest con for me was I was under paid, I got lots of awards but never promoted after 2.5 years I left. Vacation benefits are only 2 weeks which most companies offer at least 3. The biggest problem is they do not effectively track incoming claims so you often are overwhelmed and there are so many different notes that have to be put in the file in different places that its very time consuming when you get new... files. Compliance standards were becoming more and more extreme. Leaving was the best decision.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote your high performers. Your best people are leaving due to being given too many carriers/ too many incoming claims. Pay above market value so your people won't want to leave. Lower claim counts due to all the extra reports and levels of authority, extra communication needed to do the job. Increase PTO and make sure you do raises same time each year. Offer training before throwing additional states at people.... Hire more people for Carrier Practice since you are growing that aspect of business. When you transfer files to another adjuster/ team make sure they are all compliant.

    Show More
    Gallagher2019-02-08
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I currently work in the affinity division, so this might not pertain to other divisions within Gallagher. I work from home full time and absolutely love it. Gallagher provides you with company equipment to work off of and provides great benefits. Coming from a smaller creative agency that didn't provide very much of anything I'm very grateful. The first 5 years you get 10 paid vacation days with 2 floating holidays.... After 5 years you get an additional 5 days to add on to your vacation time. After 1 year of working with the company they will match up to 3% for your 401K. There is a lot of room for growth as Gallagher is continuously expanding. I enjoy everyone that I work with. There's a reason why Gallagher is named best places to work, and best global company for this year!

    Show More

    Cons

    I honestly don't have any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Gallagher2018-11-15
Found 55 reviews