Galt House Hotel Reviews | Glassdoor

Galt House Hotel Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Galt House Hotel General Manager  Patrick Gregory
Patrick Gregory
8 Ratings
  1. "I hope to retire at the Galt House"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeping Manager in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Galt House Hotel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are many opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    If the river floods the hotel.

    Galt House Hotel2020-01-21
  2. "Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Galt House Hotel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Galt House did a great job bringing me on to the team. They gave me proper training and constant feedback to let me know how I'm doing. This is the first place i've ever worked at that has chef's cook a free meal for you for every shift! I would highly recommend anybody to join the Galt House team.

    Cons

    No cons about the Galt House!

    Galt House Hotel2020-01-20
  3. "This place is a wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Galt House Hotel full-time

    Pros

    The team is great. everyone works hard to make the guest happy and help each other.

    Cons

    I wish the incentives to do better were more adult. a pizza party is great but an extra paid day off would be better.

    Continue reading
    Galt House Hotel2020-01-20
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Galt House Hotel part-time

    Pros

    Good was very good for me

    Cons

    Was not fun all the time

    Galt House Hotel2020-01-09
  5. "Good place to make money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage in Louisville, KY

    I worked at Galt House Hotel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co workers and managers. Best place to stay and work for Derby.

    Cons

    very bias if your from different nationality. Most of the customers are racist but you have to be patient and understand them. Need to prepare yourself for any circumstances. It will help to gain skills in problem solving and communication skills. Very worth experience

    Continue reading
    Galt House Hotel2020-01-13
  6. "Wonderful Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator Human Resources in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Galt House Hotel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guidance and Coaching from Management to help you grow Great Employee Benefits & Perks Management does not micromanage, they want you to succeed Opportunity for advancement Great pay scale for your job duties/responsibilites Currently undergoing an 80 million dollar renovation that will not only help our guest but our employees

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say about the property, location is great only waterfront hotel, so a little traffic but nothing major

    Galt House Hotel2019-09-04
  7. "manager F&B"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Galt House Hotel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    lots of positive changes going on

    Cons

    nothing. You get paid well for doing your job

    Continue reading
    Galt House Hotel2019-07-03
  8. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Administrative Assistant in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Galt House Hotel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great family atmosphere Offers the opportunity to learn and Grow (Invest in theirs associates) Free Lunch Free parking

    Cons

    Nothing - They are always trying to improve the quality of the employee work.

    Galt House Hotel2019-07-02
  9. "Great part of Louisville's hospitality industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Galt House Hotel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of opportunities for advancement if you show your superiors that you're an asset to the company. With tourism and hospitality booming in Louisville, the Galt House is a great place to cut your teeth in a new industry, or take your career to the next level.

    Cons

    I came to the Galt House from a more traditional 8am - 5pm, Monday through Friday office environment. It's been a huge transition to a business that is busier on weekends than it is on weekdays.

    Galt House Hotel2019-07-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A Company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Director of Sales and Marketing in Louisville, KY

    I have been working at Galt House Hotel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I just started with the Galt House Hotel in April of this year after working with Marriott for 15 years. I have been blown away by how great they take care of their associates 1) Free downtown parking 2)Free buffet meal and salad bar everyday 3) Local & Global hotel discounts. 4)Leadership Academy investing in training and developing hourly associates into Leaders. There is an associate that started shinning shoes and a bellman that is now a salaried employee (You don't see that opportunity anywhere). 5) Completing an $80 million renovation using the local work force for the majority of the renovations. 6) There are employees that have worked here for 47 years and the average tenure of the associates is 15 years, there is a reason why people want to stay they become family.

    Cons

    It is the largest hotel in KY and downtown which can make traffic busy.

    Galt House Hotel2019-06-21
Found 43 reviews