KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Gameday Media

Is this your company?

Gameday Media

Add a Review

Gameday Media Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 of over 122 reviews

2.4
30%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Gameday Media Owner & President Charley Cobb (no image)
Charley Cobb
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Every role in the company contributes to helping high school athletic programs across the nation, achieve their fundraising goals(in 9 reviews)

  • "Friendly staff, room for advancement, daily cash bonuses(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Little to no training on anything, although that's promised in the job listings(in 9 reviews)

  • "All record keeping on calls where you did not make a sale is on you(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work if you work hard

      Aug 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No trash cans in the kitchen

      Cons

      Trash cans by the desk

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      I learned a lot, but this company is awful

      Apr 1, 2021 - Sponsorship Coordinator in Arlington, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I learned how to cold call like a maniac. This has served me extremely well in my time moving forward. I also became extremely good under pressure. This job was like a refining fire. It was pure torture most days, but I became a better salesman from working here. There is also a ton of money to be made and the company insurance was awesome.

      Cons

      EXTREMELY high pressure environment. This isn't for fragile people. If you go three days without selling something, someone from corporate will call you on the phone and fire you on the spot. It doesn't really matter how long you have been with the company. I was there for 9 months and consistently had sales on the board. I entered a 3 day slump, and was fired mid way through my third day.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Super mixed feelings. Decent starter job for a design career.

      Apr 12, 2021 - Graphic Designer in Tigard, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in the art department for several years (which is a pretty long time at a place like this). It's a decent place to get your feet off the ground as a designer. Here's how it worked when I was there. The art department is split into 2 parts - an ad design team (which is a thankless, rough gig involving some phone customer service) and a book design team (the infinitely better job of designing the media guides). I was lucky to spend almost all of my time there on the book team. Most designers get hired onto the ad team, and if they are doing well in that role, there are opportunities to potentially be promoted to the book team. If you make it to the book team, you get to spend a lot more time developing ideas over the course of weeks and months, and honestly, the media guides are an awesome portfolio piece and a fairly rewarding design project. The pay isn't great, but quality work is generally rewarded with substantial raises. Access to the Moda Center suite was a pretty sweet perk that I used frequently. If I could sum it up - the status quo for design quality is kind of low and the work environment isn't great, but if you really push yourself, the book design team is a solid place to jumpstart your design career. Don't plan to climb the ladder here.

      Cons

      Avoid the workplace drama - there was a good amount of it, and some toxic personalities here and there. The overall culture feels pretty immature and not very design-centric at all. Starting pay is pretty bad. The nature of the work gets more repetitive each year you're there (3 sports cycle per year, same product, wash, rinse, repeat). Art dept management is super hit and miss - ranged from engaging and fairly encouraging to petty and standoffish. High turnover company with zero trust in employees (they will fire people lightning fast if problems come up). The cubicle farm is drab and cold. All PC work stations.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not worth it

      Jul 14, 2021 - Training Coordinator in Arlington, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay raise within the 1st month

      Cons

      Loose your salary the 2 month after you have received a pay raise

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Only the strong survive

      Apr 26, 2021 - Sales in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you can survive (few do) you’ll be paid well.

      Cons

      It’s stressful, just like all other true cold calling operations.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Do not work here

      Jun 19, 2021 - Sales in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I cannot think of even one

      Cons

      Scammers, long grinding hours, managers even steal your sales and cash grabs

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Scam company. Massive hire and fire to avoid benefits

      Nov 2, 2020 - Sales in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are zero pros. Try and see

      Cons

      Watched them fire everyone that was hired with me. * you call business from phone book pages and basically con am them into thinking they are getting some great add slot for a high school season mag or a banner on field for hundreds of dollars. Scripted sales pitch. Asking for credit cards over phone to someone that has never heard of you in a world of scams! The company has zero value points to build that are proven. Company owners that you talk to by accident, that paid for it before will not do it again and actually tell you off bc they seen zero increase in business from the con. Office is crap with old phones and no auto dialers. They literally are like a ghetto call center and not one bit is sales. Calling and asking someone for money to put their add in a school book is no diff than charity imo.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Make them a lot of money or get out

      Jan 20, 2021 - Sales Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -You can technically make a lot of money if you are already good at cold calling and don't have a rough week early on in your employment -Solid schedule of 8 to 5 Monday through Friday

      Cons

      -Entirely cold calling -If you have a rough week, you will be fired -Little to no training on anything, although that's promised in the job listings -Greedy corporate office that doesn't help the branches

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      wasn't for me

      Mar 9, 2021 - Sale Representative in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my co-workers, everyone was very friendly and helpful

      Cons

      cold calling, not many clients happy with the company, felt like a scam.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great team, but toxic environment

      Feb 1, 2021 - Designer in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome coworkers at least for the art department

      Cons

      Sketchy business model. A lot of work for a small compensation.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 121 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Gameday Media Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gameday Media? Share Your Experiences

    Gameday Media logo
    or