Gameloft 3D Artist Reviews | Glassdoor

Gameloft 3D Artist Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
50%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Gameloft CEO Stephane Roussel (no image)
Stephane Roussel
1 Ratings
  1. "GLNOLA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Artist in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Gameloft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Limited crunch, decent benefits, friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Lack of project freedom since HQ will do whatever they want (even if its a terrible decision). Overall low salary for everyone and company does not pay for parking. Proprietary tools are a mess making it difficult to have a smooth workflow. Workstations are slow and hinder production speed.

    Gameloft2015-12-05
  2. "3d artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Artist in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gameloft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good location, nice people. working environmet is good

    Cons

    every works were needed to be approved by headquater in France.

    Gameloft2015-09-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great for short term experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Artist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gameloft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Very exciting projects Your work will determine the quality of the project

    Cons

    They run a very tight budget, Lack of employee appreciation or perks. Sub standard competitive wages A lot of employee turnaround

    Advice to Management

    Often teams tend to have too many junior level workers and not enough mid to senior level. Projects can steer in the wrong direction if there isn't enough mid/senior art veterans. I also noticed teams tend to have an off balance of skill. Could be senior level engineers teamed with junior artist/ designers or vise versa. Keeping a strong team is essential to project success. Good employee talent should... be giving raises sooner then later for talent retention. Otherwise they may find something else appealing.

    Show More
    Gameloft2013-10-19
  4. "Good working environment and all my team members are really friendly and helpful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Artist in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gameloft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment Awesome Team

    Cons

    Can not think of any

    Gameloft2019-10-09
  5. "Very good company for start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Artist 
    Recommends

    I worked at Gameloft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    One of the best company in country

    Cons

    Low growing salary in my city

    Gameloft2019-07-30
  6. "A real good peoples around you, a very poor payment for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Artist in Minsk
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gameloft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best peoples in my gamedev career, good office (in Minsk, Belarus). It's hard to get fired, because all managment work with you to avoid your departure.

    Cons

    A very poor payment. Hard to get a raise. Hard comunnication with head office and some bureaucracy. Your initiatives may be unanswered. Internal tools for gamedev (game engines) is so uncomfortable and outdated. It's a real butthurt which can deliver you to the Mars.

    Advice to Management

    Invest time and money in modern technology like Unity\UE4 and you can develop games more faster and comfortable for your personal. Dont be a shy to pay your employees better ;)

    Gameloft2019-08-12
  7. "It’s ok company to in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Artist in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gameloft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have a great opportunity to learn and practice in here.

    Cons

    Hierarchical company structure and bureaucracy.

    Gameloft2019-01-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It's a Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Artist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gameloft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It's a job, and we should all be grateful to have one.

    Cons

    Not very fulfilling , But that depends what you need out of your work.

    Gameloft2018-11-07
  9. "Rapidly Improving Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Artist in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gameloft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A recent change on the top management has generated a visible improvement on the work environment.

    Cons

    Some aspects of the work culture remain under the shroud of the previous management holding back some of the improvements.

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication and further the efforts on improving the employees well being.

    Gameloft2017-06-28
  10. "A good place to start in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - 3D Environment Artist in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gameloft for less than a year

    Pros

    As an environment artist I have a good range of freedom and creativity. I have a good salary for a junior and people are really nice here.

    Cons

    So far I didn't have any problem.

    Gameloft2017-01-19
Found 20 reviews