Gameloft Programmer Reviews | Glassdoor

Gameloft Programmer Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
77%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Gameloft CEO Stephane Roussel (no image)
Stephane Roussel
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fun, friendly, amazing, looooooooooong hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - UI Programmer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gameloft for less than a year

    Pros

    Tight knit community, everyone is friends with everyone. People are helpful, the office itself is cozy, plus comes with free lunches and perks.

    Cons

    It is a game company. It comes with long hours. If you work for the NYC office, your best bet is to live in NYC or to never ever go home.

    Continue reading
    Gameloft2014-12-22
  2. Helpful (7)

    "So-so, crappy upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Programmer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gameloft

    Pros

    You get to work inside the gaming industry World-class company You get to meet very talented people from all over the world Small perks on their bigger studios, like free food, varies from studio to studio Stay for the opportunity to move to a better-paid gaming company

    Cons

    Below-average salary Upper management completely disconnected from each studio Medium-high crunch time No paid overtime Frequent unsound last-minute changes which translate into massive burn-out CEO is completely disconnected from the company No compensation of any kind for super burn-out

    Continue reading
    Gameloft2015-07-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The people are good, but the time management and feedback cycles are frustrating."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gameloft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Studio is expanding and improving. Being attached to large, popular company gives it extra stability.

    Cons

    Time management is poor, with periods of crunching between bouts of doing nothing. Deadlines can be extended indefinitely from QA and headquarters feedback, leading to extended crunching. During crunch, there's a definite preference to keep everyone late, even when the individual doesn't have work to do. Staying late also seems to outrank calling people back in as needed.

    Continue reading
    Gameloft2013-01-28
  4. Helpful (11)

    "They Bamboozled me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 2D Game Programmer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gameloft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got a chance to work in the field of video games which was always kind of a dream of my mine.

    Cons

    They gave me a relocation bonus but. . . after some rash business decisions they decided to lay me off and oh yes. . . I had to pay that back even though I was leaving due to situations outside of my control.

    Gameloft2012-10-17
  5. "11"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Programmer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gameloft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good boss, flexible work time, good peers

    Cons

    downsizing now, a lot of people left

    Gameloft2019-11-21
  6. "Gameloft Kharkiv"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Kharkiv
    Recommends

    I worked at Gameloft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team, good social events.

    Cons

    Because Gameloft is a part of a huge conglomerate, we have a standard set: - mediocre salaries; - tiny bonuses pool only for the projects that ace; - tiny salary raises (by Ukrainian standards); - people never change projects (bare in mind, there are not a lot of creation projects, mostly its GE); - bad overtiming;

    Gameloft2019-10-20
  7. "Good company that's focusing on getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Programmer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gameloft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good management, freedom to ask and try things.

    Cons

    9 hour days, no sick days.

    Continue reading
    Gameloft2019-08-22
  8. "Good for people starting career in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer 

    I worked at Gameloft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good for fresh graduates learning the ropes in game dev

    Cons

    Work can be repetitive from time to time

    Gameloft2019-08-20
  9. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - C++ Programmer 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gameloft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn new skil, easy leveling up position

    Cons

    low compensation , and benefit

    Gameloft2019-07-10
  10. "Great Company for Fresher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Programmer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gameloft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time , Good Colleague

    Cons

    Not work to much , no career path , low salary

    Gameloft2019-03-01
Found 57 reviews