Gander Outdoors Customer Service Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Gander Outdoors Customer Service Associate Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
Marcus A. Lemonis
0 Ratings
  1. "Customer Service Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in McDonough, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great management staff & environment. Friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Not enough hours as promised. Always took the customers side when there was a negative comment

    Advice to Management

    Try to be more understanding when it comes to scheduling hours and stick to the promise made when hiring

    Gander Outdoors2016-02-22
  2. "Job outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co workers, friendly environment

    Cons

    Hours depend on sales of a membership. Management can be contradicting

    Advice to Management

    Dont just focus on sales. Also look at employees work ethic

    Gander Outdoors2018-04-23
  3. "FT Customer Service Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Decent Pay Okay Discount Decent Benefits Strong Team Members Ability for flexible scheduling Outright Relaxed Environment most of the time.

    Cons

    No job security (Company Filed Chapter 11) Management structure broken Zero Reliability when it comes too scheduling SO MUCH PRESSURE TO SELL CREDIT CARDS AND SUMMIT PLANS. (When nobody wants a card with 25% APR) Very Repetitive Work, No challenges In-Store Management conflicts each other, nobody is on the same page yet everyone trips on their little bit of power.

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing so much on pushing credits and summits. Take a look at your employees and their needs, its your job to take care of US! Let us take care of the customers. Happy Employees = Happy Customers.

    Gander Outdoors2017-04-20
  4. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Greenfield, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I work with is super friendly. The managers genuinely care about their employees and there is a community atmosphere.

    Cons

    You are pushed to get people to sign up for credit cards and sell them protection plans on pretty much everything with no compensation. Your hours depend on performance so if you aren't a good salesperson, you won't get many hours.

    Advice to Management

    Don't make hours dependent solely on credits and protection plans. Some people are really friendly and good with customers, but aren't able to convince people that another credit card is a good idea.

    Gander Outdoors2016-06-27
  5. "ok..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Knoxville, TN

      I worked at Gander Outdoors

      Pros

      easy scheduling, customers were usually pretty nice, most of the other employees were nice to each other, easy uniform requirements

      Cons

      drama at times, organization of the store was not great, pay was low for massive amount of responsibility, raises not frequent

      Advice to Management

      make sure that all employees feel valued, do not show favoritism, only focus on metrics if you yourself can also attain the high metric standards set

      Gander Outdoors2016-06-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Friendly family ridiculous credit card"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Detroit, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Co workers are awesome. The employee discount is great. Lots of perks as far as discounts on clothing and gear.

      Cons

      Not a lot of training. Systems are old and don't fiction well. It's sink or swim a lot of the time. No employee benefits unless you're full time and they do everything they can to keep you under 20 hours. They strongly push you to sell the credit cards and summit protection plans. The protection plans are awesome, the company really backs their products. However the interest rate on the credit card it ridiculous 16%...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Don't cover up empty pegs with other product. Let corporate see their ordering system is jacked up.

      Gander Outdoors2016-02-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Dont."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Gander Outdoors

      Pros

      Discounts. Friends worked there. Discounts.

      Cons

      No room for advancement, no raises for the 2 years I was there, the manager acted like he ruled the world. I was given the wage of 7.50 at the beginning.. My best friend she and two other people (who got hired on same time) said they got started at 8.00. Why did I get 7.50?? Because my last job was at 7.25 and I guess they thought "lets just save .50 cents". Cheap.. The hiring manager even said "Don't discuss pay rates,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop being cheap.

      Gander Outdoors2016-01-08
    • "seasonal associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Tyler, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun laid back environment, everybody has common interests

      Cons

      Overworked, always called in on days off

      Advice to Management

      Don't overwork employees

      Gander Outdoors2015-08-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great employees, but too much pressure to sell credit cards."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 

        I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Working among others with similar interests was the most enjoyable, and I met many great people during my 4 years at Gander Mountain. When I first started, the hours were decent, everyone was friendly and helpful, and it was generally a happy place to be.

        Cons

        As time went on, my hours were lowered significantly. Work was no longer enjoyable because it was all about selling protection plans and credit cards. Management tried to make it a friendly competition, but it was more about picking favorites and letting those that didn't get as many of these extras know that they weren't as valued as others. It became more about who could sell these extras, in any way possible, rather...

        Show More
        Gander Outdoors2015-09-05
      • Helpful (2)

        "A company that fights hard to fail"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Winston-Salem, NC
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Gander Outdoors

        Pros

        Good discounts & the occasional competition to get a $10 gift card for every credit card/ summit plan was useful. Some co-staff were knowledgeable about their area & pleasant, the main store manager was a decent guy but his underlings left a lot to be desired with few exceptions. Scheduling of time was usually easy to do.

        Cons

        I was there when the store first opened & for approximately 2 years more. There was NEVER a loss prevention officer on duty yet the store lost $72,000 in the first 6 months it was opened. They said 40% of that was ammo & since 72,000 X 40 /100 = $28,800 . This is significant because management adamantly refused to place the shells behind the counter, instead preferring them to leave them out to be robbed blind. This...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Stop trying to micro manage & let the store managers actually manage the store. Listen to your employees who want you to succeed out of their own best interest. Get LP involved in your stores, don't' just buy an empty police car to sit out front. Stock more employees before black Friday so they have time to get trained before throwing them to the wolves.

        Gander Outdoors2015-09-07
      Found 24 reviews