Gander Outdoors Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Gander Outdoors Customer Service Representative Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
Marcus A. Lemonis
0 Ratings
  1. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service and Sales Representative in Elysian, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work experience, appropriate wages

    Cons

    There was a difficulty in work schedule communication

    Advice to Management

    Find a better way to notify employees of when the work schedule is released and release the schedule on the same day at the same time so employees know when to look.

    Gander Outdoors2016-11-22
  2. "Biased"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    typical hourly job easy to work for

    Cons

    biased preferential treatment overnight stocking not overly terrible

    Gander Outdoors2018-08-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "really good. Left due to the bankruptcy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in College Station, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    really enjoyable job, was able to work with products i loved to use.

    Cons

    was unable to truly get to experience the growth because they closed down

    Advice to Management

    try not selling so many clothes and random items.

    Gander Outdoors2017-11-29
  4. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Opelika, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time

    Pros

    great experience with face to face customer service

    Cons

    the scheduling could be seen in store and there was no way of finding out if you were scheduled or not. The company is ran poorly and doesn't care about its employees.

    Advice to Management

    keep shutting down stores so you can start making more money on the stores that do matter.

    Gander Outdoors2017-06-12
  5. "Customer Service Representative in Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits (most started first day of training), friendly work environment, employee discount with Overton's and Gander Mountain, set work schedule with schedule usually completed a month (4 weeks) by in advance

    Cons

    Incentives difficult to obtain, dealing with unhappy customers

    Gander Outdoors2016-10-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Turnover; Very Little Chance for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Jackson, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    3point5 and store discounts! Take advantage of these while you are employed! One of the best parts of the company. Hard to beat at any other high end chain.

    Cons

    Terrible management. Just awful. Terrible relationships with their employees. Only want to milk you for your time and barely scrape by with paying you. Our store manager would reprimand us for not offering Summit, Credit Card, etc. but would mark down guns for over half off to talk customer into signing up for GMCC! Very crooked management.

    Advice to Management

    Start promoting from within your company. Stop bringing in hardlines management that has no knowledge of firearms. Turnover wouldn't be so terrible if you gave employees a motivating factor to work for this company.

    Gander Outdoors2016-05-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Laughable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Paducah, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The Discount is the ONLY reason I stayed, you're able to buy firearms and 40-60 percent below MSRP.

    Cons

    Terrible hours. Communication, What communication? I received several calls when the managment would claim I was on the updated schedule when I had checked it the day before and I wasn't on it. If you work hard and do your best they'll use you. They push credit cards like its going out of style. Your hours are based on how many credit cards you can get approved during your shifts. Management is laughable at best...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just quit, If you listened to the needs of your employees you wouldn't lose so many.

    Gander Outdoors2016-05-06
  8. "Call center work, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors

    Pros

    good supervisors, good training, great discounts on products at store and through vendors. good chance to build PTO in the call center

    Cons

    You have to talk all day 8 hours sometimes... its hard and annoying at times

    Gander Outdoors2016-01-15
  9. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Augusta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors

    Pros

    Wonderful people, good decent pay.

    Cons

    Not enough hours its just a part time job

    Gander Outdoors2015-08-14
  10. "Your typical retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    discount was pretty good and the extra perks of different products.

    Cons

    No encouragement Numbers are the most important and getting a good "grade" on store walks some managers are not great leaders and sit in there office and watch you over the cameras instead of helping

    Advice to Management

    none

    Gander Outdoors2015-05-29
Found 11 reviews