Gander Outdoors Firearm Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Gander Outdoors Firearms Sales Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Marcus A. Lemonis
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Best Management I Have Ever Encountered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firearms Sales in Hattiesburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management for the most part. The pay is really nice, and commission really helps. The give you a lot of freedom when it comes to making decisions.

    Cons

    The hours are really come and go for the most part. They also push credit cards and warranties really hard.

    Advice to Management

    The management is doing well, I really enjoy the attitude that the store manager has and the way he carries himself around staff and customers.

    Gander Outdoors2016-04-14
  2. "Great place to work, with good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firearms Sales in Fort Gratiot, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At my gander were all basically a family that works together to accomplish the goal of being the best, when one of us is having an off day we try our best to bring that staff members moral up. For being one of the smallest stores around we sure rival the bigger stores in sales and memberships.

    Cons

    Having to try and push maintenance plans and memberships to hit metrics.

    Advice to Management

    Better incentives for hitting metrics for the whole crew not just the solo artist.

    Gander Outdoors2019-03-28
  3. "Firearms Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Firearms Sales in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere and staff

    Cons

    management was out of touch

    Gander Outdoors2018-03-21
  4. "Firearms Sales & Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firearms Sales in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Very fun fast paced job, commission was a huge plus, learned a lot of very valuable skills.

    Cons

    Limited pay scale, management turnover, employee morale.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees, treat them like you would want to be treated and not just like cogs in the machine, this speaking at a corporate level, in store management was great to work with and everyone in the store was like family.

    Gander Outdoors2018-03-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Too 'Big Corporate'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Firearms Sales in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    flexible schedule and huge selection of products.

    Cons

    Managers were much more worried about employees selling credit cards and pointless warranties rather than the products themselves

    Advice to Management

    focus on the products

    Gander Outdoors2018-03-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Firearms Sales in Fayetteville, NC
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors

    Pros

    Good people to work with but need to make this twenty words so don’t read any more u less you have to

    Cons

    They accuse you of stealing daily same hint this is total bull crap I just want to look at jobs so

    Advice to Management

    Your corporate people are funneling all your money so quit blaming the low level employees

    Gander Outdoors2018-02-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Glad they went bankrupt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Firearms Sales in Mooresville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Was able to work with firearms

    Cons

    Nearly everything else, too worried about pushing credit cards and 'added protection' for firearms.

    Advice to Management

    Actually listen to the employees on what they suggest to help boost sales

    Gander Outdoors2018-01-20
  8. "Great Crew, Awful Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firearms Sales in Snellville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Nine of the ten guys I work with are awesome knowledgeable guys Decent pay Discounts on store stock

    Cons

    Crap management, they promote on who's been there the longest, not based on competency. Hint as to why they are going belly up. Ridiculous prices on firearms, get ready to hear that from every customer.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company, cash out while you can, and give the employees someone competent to manage things.

    Gander Outdoors2017-04-30
  9. "Firearm sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Firearms Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great customers, Employee discounts, Vendor discounts.

    Cons

    Limited advancement Pushed credit cards and protection plans Poor management

    Advice to Management

    Start acting like you work for the customer, not your profit margin alone. Really, start drug testing managers and above frequently. There was a problem. Helpful hint: If you hire the staff in a district from Comp USA, a company that went bankrupt, your going to have the same problems as Comp USA. Customers were treated badly with no recourse. And let people return items according to policy! Returns were allowed...

    Show More
    Gander Outdoors2017-03-01
  10. "Absolutely terrible to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Firearms Sales in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only good thing about this job was the friendships I made with the fellow sales associates.

    Cons

    Very mismanaged company. It shows a lot when all of your managers are constantly leaving to find jobs at Gander Mountain's competitors. I was constantly scheduled for days when I could not work. I told my manager I could not come that day because of a doctors appointment, he scheduled me for it and then gave me a write up for missing a day of work. Also the company does not train you at all. When filling out the paperwork...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Thoroughly train your employees!!!!!

    Gander Outdoors2017-03-10
Found 59 reviews