Gander Outdoors Reviews | Glassdoor

Gander Outdoors Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 743 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Marcus A. Lemonis
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Like any retailer these days they push their loyalty programs, credit cards, etc(in 132 reviews)

  • "Excessive focus on selling credit cards and protection plans(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in McDonough, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed selling guns, it was fun!

    Cons

    No cons or complaints from me, it pays what retail pays.

    Gander Outdoors2018-11-21
  2. "Retail Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fun staff, interesting product, good discount

      Cons

      Management changes often, hard to get a raise

      Gander Outdoors2019-06-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Only for those who are desperate to get a start in retail, and plan to run within a year to a new opportunity."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Product Manager in Bloomington, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very little structure if you like that type of environment. If you hated college don't worry, you won't be asked to use anything you learned their, as they don't model, forecast, or plan their business, it's 100% reactive.

      Cons

      Sexism - I would advise any men looking to work here to think again. Gander (More specifically Marcus) is about projecting an image, not about their customers or their needs. Thus all of these outdoor categories are managed by women who know little to nothing about the product or uses, but who are very up on their personal image, makeup, and hair styles. Marcus loves the ladies, and treat guys like third class...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Fold, you have no clue what you're doing, you bought the company on a whim, and have yet to produce anything material. For the love of God stop Marcus from participating in your marketing. Everyone can read right through his BS, he's never camped before, he hates the outdoors, and until he bought the company (The number one gun retailer in America) he had never fired a gun, and flat out doesn't like them.

      Gander Outdoors2019-06-06
    • "GO"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Product Specialist 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people Cool products Not very busy

      Cons

      Lack of communication Manager is horrible Way to many sale ads at once

      Advice to Management

      Work on communication with people above the store

      Gander Outdoors2019-06-05
    • "Uncaring and Lying Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Flint, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The actually work of selling product and talking with customers is great. Nice discount.

      Cons

      New policies are not rewarding the best producing employees with more hours. Upper management has flat out lied to employees several times. Reduced pay rate for new hires down from what is was a year ago and the new employees are getting more hours than the older ones do to their cheaper cost of work. Expected to take on the responsibilities of a supervisor after one left without extra compensation or fulltime hours.

      Advice to Management

      Stop lying to your employees and actually take care of your employees and they will take care of you in return.

      Gander Outdoors2019-05-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Listen to the people that know what they are talking about!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great coworkers Nice discount Off Thanksgiving(Gander Mountain worked on every holiday but Christmas)

      Cons

      Everything else...associates scared to lose their jobs constantly because of metrics... Prices on metrics keep changing and increasing..making it harder for associates to sell them.. Very good knowledgeable people losing their jobs because corporate can't get their act together. Managers that left jobs to go back to Gander Outdoors finding themselves unemployed because of issues at the corporate level not being sorted...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please stop putting people from Camping World in charge of large scale operations at Gander Outdoors. They do not know the "outdoors industry" outside of camping. The amount of UPCs compared to a Camping World alone is not considered when making these decisions, People that loved their company are losing their jobs due to very bad decision making.

      Gander Outdoors2019-05-13
    • "amazing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Arlington, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great place to work, caring company

      Cons

      not payed enough money but good experience

      Gander Outdoors2019-04-04
    • "Management could be better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hermantown, MN
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I liked the job and the people I worked with. Decent employee discounts

      Cons

      Really pushed the credit card sales to the point customers wouldn't talk to sales associates. some managers were on a power trip. Very little incentive to actually sell the cards

      Advice to Management

      hire new managers that treat employees like humans

      Gander Outdoors2019-04-15
    • "Great place to work, with good benefits."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Firearms Sales in Fort Gratiot, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      At my gander were all basically a family that works together to accomplish the goal of being the best, when one of us is having an off day we try our best to bring that staff members moral up. For being one of the smallest stores around we sure rival the bigger stores in sales and memberships.

      Cons

      Having to try and push maintenance plans and memberships to hit metrics.

      Advice to Management

      Better incentives for hitting metrics for the whole crew not just the solo artist.

      Gander Outdoors2019-03-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Gander Mountain former employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Signing Specialist 

        I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time

        Pros

        Flexible work schedule. Good management.

        Cons

        Lack of supplies was annoying

        Gander Outdoors2019-03-25
      Found 743 reviews