Gander Outdoors Reviews | Glassdoor

Gander Outdoors Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 736 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Marcus A. Lemonis
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Managers were much more worried about employees selling credit cards and pointless warranties rather than the products themselves(in 131 reviews)

  • "Upper Management not communicating to each other(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Archery Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors

    Pros

    Great environment, Great benefits, Great People

    Cons

    Poor Scheduling, Poor Corporate management, Regional Managers are not very professional

    Gander Outdoors2017-09-18
  2. "amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place to work, caring company

    Cons

    not payed enough money but good experience

    Gander Outdoors2019-04-04
  3. "Management could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hermantown, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I liked the job and the people I worked with. Decent employee discounts

    Cons

    Really pushed the credit card sales to the point customers wouldn't talk to sales associates. some managers were on a power trip. Very little incentive to actually sell the cards

    Advice to Management

    hire new managers that treat employees like humans

    Gander Outdoors2019-04-15
  4. "Great place to work, with good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firearms Sales in Fort Gratiot, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    At my gander were all basically a family that works together to accomplish the goal of being the best, when one of us is having an off day we try our best to bring that staff members moral up. For being one of the smallest stores around we sure rival the bigger stores in sales and memberships.

    Cons

    Having to try and push maintenance plans and memberships to hit metrics.

    Advice to Management

    Better incentives for hitting metrics for the whole crew not just the solo artist.

    Gander Outdoors2019-03-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Gander Mountain former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Signing Specialist 

      I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule. Good management.

      Cons

      Lack of supplies was annoying

      Gander Outdoors2019-03-25
    • "Great Work Enviroment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lansing, MI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Awesome people -Great work environment -Good employee discounts -Room to grow

      Cons

      -Sometimes stuck with unfavorable hours

      Gander Outdoors2019-03-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Plenty of potential"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Product Specialist in Madison, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great for beginner sales people. Incentive pay in addition to competitive hourly wages. Generous employee discounts and free GoodSam Roadside. Very flexible if looking for part time hours. Definitely potential for growth.

      Cons

      It’s still retail. Hours and scheduling can be a hassle especially if you are a key holder. Part timers are obviously first to get hours slashed however you will still feel the effects of hours being cut as a full timer. Prices and layouts change constantly and shelves/products remain empty for weeks at times. Lacking a consistent flow of customers, stores look virtually empty too often.

      Advice to Management

      Don’t lose sight of employees that care about the business products and customers. Everyone is NOT replaceable.

      Gander Outdoors2019-03-22
    • "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors

      Pros

      Staff was like family. Pot luck's and Thanksgiving feasts

      Cons

      Poor management when it was Gander Mountain

      Gander Outdoors2019-03-21
    • "Not worth it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      None that I can think of.

      Cons

      Not enough pay for the amount of work.

      Gander Outdoors2019-04-01
    • "Could be better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shooting Sports Associate 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Decent pay for a part time job. Excellent place to work if your passionate about the outdoors. Very good discount programs.

      Cons

      Like any retailer these days they push their loyalty programs, credit cards, etc

      Gander Outdoors2019-02-21
    Found 736 reviews