Gander Outdoors Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Gander Outdoors Sales Associate Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Marcus A. Lemonis
3 Ratings
  1. "amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    great place to work, caring company

    Cons

    not payed enough money but good experience

    Gander Outdoors2019-04-04
  2. "Uncaring and Lying Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Flint, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The actually work of selling product and talking with customers is great. Nice discount.

    Cons

    New policies are not rewarding the best producing employees with more hours. Upper management has flat out lied to employees several times. Reduced pay rate for new hires down from what is was a year ago and the new employees are getting more hours than the older ones do to their cheaper cost of work. Expected to take on the responsibilities of a supervisor after one left without extra compensation or fulltime hours.

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to your employees and actually take care of your employees and they will take care of you in return.

    Gander Outdoors2019-05-06
  3. "Management could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hermantown, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I liked the job and the people I worked with. Decent employee discounts

    Cons

    Really pushed the credit card sales to the point customers wouldn't talk to sales associates. some managers were on a power trip. Very little incentive to actually sell the cards

    Advice to Management

    hire new managers that treat employees like humans

    Gander Outdoors2019-04-15
  4. "Great Work Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Awesome people -Great work environment -Good employee discounts -Room to grow

    Cons

    -Sometimes stuck with unfavorable hours

    Gander Outdoors2019-03-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Commission is nice. Discount is great.

    Cons

    Pay, hours, scheduling comes out the day before that week, unfair treatment.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are not numbers. Don’t treat them like they are.

    Gander Outdoors2019-02-12
  6. "Sales associate over summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very nice people and I enjoyed it there.

      Cons

      Pay could be a little higher

      Gander Outdoors2019-02-05
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in McDonough, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I enjoyed selling guns, it was fun!

      Cons

      No cons or complaints from me, it pays what retail pays.

      Gander Outdoors2018-11-21
    • "Great discounts"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      awesome discount program, keep up with your hobbies

      Cons

      Company closed. Cant work there anymore.

      Gander Outdoors2018-09-17
    • "Great place to work if you love the outdoors"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Company of other employees and management

      Cons

      Sometimes disorganized on working schedule.

      Gander Outdoors2018-08-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fishing Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Fishing Sales Associate 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Working environment was fairly laid back, and the job was not difficult.

        Cons

        Management cared more about selling summit protection plans and credit cards rather than the actual outdoor equipment. It didn't matter how good of a salesman you were, if you didn't constantly push credit cards and protection plans on the customers then you would lose hours. Gander filed bankruptcy not long after I left.

        Advice to Management

        Worry more about satisfying the customer's needs rather than only reaching the corporate quota for credit cards and protection plans.

        Gander Outdoors2018-06-19
      Found 101 reviews