Gander Outdoors "credit cards" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gander Outdoors Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 743 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Marcus A. Lemonis
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Ok, but then everything went to pot..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service and BATF Associate in Roanoke, VA

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved my co-workers. I loved my managers. The discount was pretty good, and I enjoyed the customers for the most part. Christmas season was terrible, but that's retail.

    Cons

    They are SO adamant about pushing credit cards, pro-plans, summit warranties, etc. They ended up clearing out our entire store because of this. No one I knew when I worked there is still there.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people. Our manager might not be there anymore, but I think that's a mistake. He was a great leader and a genuinely great human being.

    Gander Outdoors2016-04-08
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gander Mountain is very considerate and willing to work with various schedules, but if something comes up, not many people are able to take your shift.

    Cons

    No focus on how the employees are treated and only care about metrics and not the customers even coming back. I have lead the store in protection plans and credit cards multiple times and never got a raise. (Also been there 2 years)

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to lead and not yell at employees. The main concept of a manager is to lead towards goals not make people fear for their job because they only got 10 credit cards in a week instead of 11.

    Gander Outdoors2016-04-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Laughable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Paducah, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Discount is the ONLY reason I stayed, you're able to buy firearms and 40-60 percent below MSRP.

    Cons

    Terrible hours. Communication, What communication? I received several calls when the managment would claim I was on the updated schedule when I had checked it the day before and I wasn't on it. If you work hard and do your best they'll use you. They push credit cards like its going out of style. Your hours are based on how many credit cards you can get approved during your shifts. Management is laughable at best...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just quit, If you listened to the needs of your employees you wouldn't lose so many.

    Gander Outdoors2016-05-06
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Fair Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time

    Pros

    Overall, their were lots of enjoyable people I worked with. The discount they offer is very nice and they are fairly flexible most of the time

    Cons

    There is way too much emphasis on credit cards and protection plans. Some managers were more of team destroyers rather than team builders

    Advice to Management

    Relax on the metrics. Employees are more likely to try if they are rewarded rather than punished. Cutting hours for not reaching metrics is extreme and creates a negative environment.

    Gander Outdoors2016-03-14
  5. "firearms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Firearms Sales in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some discounts on firearms once you do tests on the brands

    Cons

    everyone looking just to make an extra buck and steal sales, credit card app they try to push and if you don't get enough you get fired, every thing is over priced

    Advice to Management

    don't treat people as a number

    Gander Outdoors2016-04-23
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Fishing in Chambersburg, PA

      I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good Staff, clean store, reasonable hours

      Cons

      Hard push to sell credit cards and protection plans

      Gander Outdoors2016-03-10
    • Helpful (4)

      "Management is a joke, store manager could care less if you are there or not, everyone is replaceable in his eyes."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Softlines Zone Manager in Montgomery, AL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Discounts, 3 point 5 training and discounts, commissions, part time flexibility

      Cons

      SM is lost. They only care about credit cards and pro plans. This is not a place for a career, watched to many good employees leave. Upper management does not value the truth of how the store is being ran into the ground.

      Advice to Management

      When multiple associates bring the same issues on how bad the store is being ran it is your job to make sure you take their concerns to heart or all the good ones will leave!

      Gander Outdoors2016-03-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Friendly family ridiculous credit card"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Detroit, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Co workers are awesome. The employee discount is great. Lots of perks as far as discounts on clothing and gear.

      Cons

      Not a lot of training. Systems are old and don't fiction well. It's sink or swim a lot of the time. No employee benefits unless you're full time and they do everything they can to keep you under 20 hours. They strongly push you to sell the credit cards and summit protection plans. The protection plans are awesome, the company really backs their products. However the interest rate on the credit card it ridiculous 16%...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Don't cover up empty pegs with other product. Let corporate see their ordering system is jacked up.

      Gander Outdoors2016-02-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "My time with Gander Mountain with three diffrent job titles"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      3point5 discounts and store discounts Co-workers Nothing else.

      Cons

      -When working for Gander Mountain, you are expected to sell the hell out of credit cards which has 25% interest, no way to pay in-store and charges fees for all methods of payment and summit protection plans. You as an employee are expected to make 10 credits and 25 summits a week by company standards, but daily sales goals given by corporate is 15 credits and 20 summits. -The pay, minimum for some couple of dollars...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Fix everything above, please.

      Gander Outdoors2016-03-09
    • "Firearms associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Firearms Sales 

      I worked at Gander Outdoors

      Pros

      Flexible schedules, great management team, employee discounts are great at 30% for any merchandise that is gander brand and 20% on anything else.

      Cons

      Prices are expensive so sales are hard to make, constant push to make metrics on credit cards and insurances.

      Gander Outdoors2016-02-01
    Found 743 reviews