Gander Outdoors "great discounts" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gander Outdoors Employee Reviews about "great discounts"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 739 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Marcus A. Lemonis
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Like any retailer these days they push their loyalty programs, credit cards, etc(in 132 reviews)

  • "Excessive focus on selling credit cards and protection plans(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great discounts"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "ASM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gander Outdoors

    Pros

    Good work life balance, great discounts

    Cons

    Poor communication between base camp and stores

    Gander Outdoors2018-11-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Expert 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount. Not busy so you dont have to work to hard.

    Cons

    Boring. Nothing to do. No shipment to put out. No customers. Micro managed by managers that do nothing but set in office. District manager is rude and nasty which got him promoted. That really sums up how the feel about their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Respect. You will be respected when you give it. And learn to treat people fairly. And stop having favors.

    Gander Outdoors2018-04-05
  3. "No developer support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Saint Paul, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great discounts at stores Great people to work with

      Cons

      The concentration here is on sales and not on improving software and development support.

      Advice to Management

      Too late.

      Gander Outdoors2017-07-26
    • "Theres a reason they closed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Firearms Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great discounts, easy work, closing bad great deals

      Cons

      Everything, bad management, poor pay, and high turnover

      Advice to Management

      This is Texas, not the north

      Gander Outdoors2017-07-11
    • "Pricing is everything!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors full-time

      Pros

      People and customers great. Discount were excellent. Had the opportunity to watch company grow and grow with it.

      Cons

      Base camp a train wreck. Unrealistic view of what we do at store level. Focus on wrong things to drive sales. Now in liquidation and customers still telling us prices are too high???? Whats really funny is now we are making budgets and margin is higher than ever. Base camp said we didn't have a pricing issue.

      Advice to Management

      Pricing is everything we never had it right!

      Gander Outdoors2017-05-28
    • Helpful (3)

      "Store Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Rochester, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great discounts and Pro deals. Used to have a great culture with knowledgable and engaged staffing,

      Cons

      Forgot about the customer! Worried too much on selling credit and protection plans. Could not retain the experts who drew the customers to the stores,

      Advice to Management

      Too Late!

      Gander Outdoors2017-05-08
    • "Wishy-washy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great discounts, fun people to work with, learned a lot of new cool things, decent pay, fun environment to make work fun.

      Cons

      Upper management has unrealistic expectations and always pressure you to force customers to buy things, hours are inconsistent for part time employees, prices for the products are higher than anywhere else always being nagged to price match.

      Gander Outdoors2017-04-12
    • "Good Discounts"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Paul, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great Discounts from manufacturers, good people to work with.

      Cons

      Career advancement opportunities, not competitive with other retailers in the area as far as benefits go.

      Advice to Management

      Recognize who performs well, and put them on a track to succeed or talented people will keep leaving.

      Gander Outdoors2017-04-08
    • "Construction PM"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Flexible work environment, Great discounts, I worked on a wonderful team!

      Cons

      company was/is struggling so advancement was harder

      Gander Outdoors2017-02-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Front End Lead"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Gander Outdoors full-time

        Pros

        Great discounts in store and through vendors starting day one, enjoyable environment.

        Cons

        Management pushes very hard for credit card and protection plan sales. This is very typical for retail jobs, but can become tough when you know the credit card has such a high interest rate and is most likely not in the best interest of the customer.

        Gander Outdoors2017-01-24
      Found 739 reviews