Cover image for Gannett
Logo
See All Photos

Gannett

Engaged Employer

Gannett

Add a Review

Gannett Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,171 of over 2K reviews
3.1
40% Recommend to a Friend
Gannett CEO Mike Reed
47% Approve of CEO

Found 2,168 of over 2K reviews

3.1
40%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Gannett CEO Mike Reed
Mike Reed
267 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with that want to accomplish tasks and see the business be successful(in 164 reviews)
  • "It offers good benefits and has a very strong financial base.(in 147 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers and peers.(in 66 reviews)
  • "Good work / life balance(in 47 reviews)
  • "good work environment and cowrkers(in 26 reviews)
Cons
  • "Corporate office makes the majority of decisions and local management has to execute those decisions without regard to any local input.(in 133 reviews)
  • "The pay is low compared to similar employers in the same region doing comparable work.(in 126 reviews)
  • "Constant layoffs and furloughs while top brass rake in bonuses.(in 100 reviews)
  • "1. Upper Management determines that something needs to be improved and formulates an ill(in 51 reviews)
  • "Salaries are low and not competitive(in 41 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Gannett and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years
    Featured Review

    Great Sales Management Training

    Feb 21, 2022 - Sales Leader in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great sales management training and growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Top-down direction leaves little room for creative problem solving.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    My review

    Sep 17, 2022 - Regional Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership and management are good.

    Cons

    downsizing in the near future

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Gannett team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Solid work environment, flexible

    Nov 18, 2022 - Data Analytics 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home generous time off flexibility

    Cons

    primary print newspaper struggling to generate digital revenue fractured leadership C-suite conflicting goals

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A challenging industry but a company with an amazing mission

    Nov 16, 2022 - Marketing Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of my favorite reasons for working at this organization is truly the culture elevating the most important work that I believe we do - honest and thoughtful journalism. I work with local newsrooms and believe that (regardless of what outsiders may think), that our organization is doing it's best job to build an economic model that can work for local news. The culture within the marketing team is one of support and care. The individuals and management truly care about your mental health and happiness in your work. ERGs that foster important conversation and elevate the voices of minority groups within the organization have been a delight to participate in .

    Cons

    The industry is difficult because of the decline of print journalism. If you join, know that you're jumping into an industry that has been disrupted for decades, so the changes and decline may not be for the faint of heart. The attrition at the leadership level has been substantial in the last 1 year plus of my being here. The stability of the C-suite has definitely caused there to be 'reorgs' across many parts of the organization and it's tough to keep track of sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company for media focused people

    Nov 28, 2022 - Senior Data Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good for media focused people, growing data organization

    Cons

    Data organization still at a nascent stage

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    A sinking ship

    Nov 26, 2022 - Web Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people with eyes on the journalistic mission

    Cons

    Bloated and lacks vision on big picture items

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Happy people, low pay

    Nov 11, 2022 - Copy Editor/Page Designer in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People for the most part are helpful and cheerful

    Cons

    Low pay, a recent increase in deadlines recently causes a lot more stress.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Loved my job

    Nov 8, 2022 - Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was originally hired as a part time data entry person until we got bough from Gannett. I became a business Analyst LOVED my job, the flexibility it provided and being able to have the option to stay remote was a plus I learned so much in the 5 years I worked with Gannet. Unfortunately after the pandemic cuts were made and our division was one of them. I would definitely go back!

    Cons

    Lay off, too many changes after they acquired overseas

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Frustrated and Disappointed

    Nov 22, 2022 - Sales in Green Bay, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have nothing good to say about Gannett. See below:

    Cons

    I am very disappointed with Gannett. They gave me a large raise and in 4 months I am laid off. I do not really understand how they determine who gets laid off. They definitely do not go by seniority, or I would still be employed. I do not think the raise helped me in the end, which is terrible on their part. I wish I could give good feedback, but I have nothing good to say at this point.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Billing

    Nov 8, 2022 - Senior Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Commission and bonuses are lucrative

    Cons

    Billing systems and communication is lacking

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,168 Reviews
</>Embed

Gannett Reviews FAQs

Gannett has an overall rating of 3.1 out of 5, based on over 2,269 reviews left anonymously by employees. 40% of employees would recommend working at Gannett to a friend and 31% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Gannett employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Gannett. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

40% of Gannett employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Gannett 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 2.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Gannett to be workplace, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management, career development.

Popular Careers with Gannett Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Gannett? Share Your Experiences

Gannett logo
or

Affiliated Companies

Gannett Careers

Cover image for Gannett

#TeamGannett isn’t just a hashtag Leaders and employees are united by a common goal, driven by a shared set of values and strengthened by...More

  • Inclusion at Gannett
  • Meet #TeamGannett
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Gannett

150 days ago

Company News
Meet Gannett's 43 interns participating in our 2022 summer news internship program in collaboration with the Freedom Forum, Ida B. Wells Society and Meta deepening our commitment to inclusion, equity and diversity in our news coverage and initiatives. #TeamGannett #internship #diversity #equity #inclusion #journalism #hiring
Shared image - Gannett Kicks Off Summer News Internships Focused on Diversity, in Collaboration With The Freedom Forum, Ida B. Wells Society for Investigative Reporting and Meta - Gannett
Gannett Kicks Off Summer News Internships Focused on Diversity, in Collaboration With The Freedom Forum, Ida B. Wells Society for Investigative Reporting and Meta - Gannett
www.gannett.com
Logo

Gannett

172 days ago

Culture
Diana Ross, Smokey Robinson, Aretha Franklin, Jay-Z, Betty Davis and Darius Rucker. This is a small list of huge influences, diversity, and talent. These various artists and their genres have inspired a world of beautiful melodies and remarkable moments throughout time. In celebration of Black Music Month, our African American Forward employee resource group has curated a Spotify playlist. Listen to it here: https://spoti.fi/3PYUps0
Shared image
See all

Gannett Photos

+ Add Photo
Gannett photo of: NOC Desk
Gannett photo of: First day in the AIG building
Gannett photo of: Indianapolis Star, Gannett
Gannett photo of: Arizona Republic Building
Gannett photo of: The infamous USA Today Blue Ball
Gannett photo of: Gannett HQ
Gannett photo of: Gannett/USA Today headquarters  (Photo thanks to Flickr user http://www.flickr.com/photos/jim_malone/2449704847/ All rights reserved.)
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Gannett Job Seekers Also Viewed

TEGNA Logo
TEGNA

3.4

438 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,269 Gannett reviews submitted anonymously by Gannett employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Gannett is right for you.