KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Gannett

Engaged Employer

Gannett

Add a Review

Gannett Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Dec 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 of over 1,917 reviews

3.0
39%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Gannett CEO Mike Reed
Mike Reed
140 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, good benefits, driven by a bigger purpose/cause(in 65 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance, relaxed office culture, good benefits(in 62 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "newspaper companies arent as popular(in 112 reviews)

  • "Poor communication from upper management(in 57 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Gannett and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Chief People Officer

      Sep 24, 2018 - Chief People Officer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We are a transforming company merging old school media with our current digital world. We have 125 million uniques and we are making improvements daily. Great people to work with. A unique challenge to get us to where we need to be in the digital world.

      Cons

      We are still transforming, we are learning. We are three years old since we were spun out. We are a combination of 100+ years of history and a 3 year old start-up.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Okay.

      Dec 1, 2020 - Account Executive in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Resume builder & met some great people.

      Cons

      Poor management, guidance & training.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      You are NOT an employee, just a number

      Oct 1, 2020 - Manager in Lansing, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people work here who are smart and incredibly kind

      Cons

      Don't expect to work here very long

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great community, Great colleagues, Inflexible corporate thinking

      Oct 14, 2020 - Multimedia Reporter in Salinas, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Access to the great people of the community we served. Best part of the job.

      Cons

      Corporate rules and chronic underfunding.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Committed to Organizational Growth

      Sep 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, good benefits, driven by a bigger purpose/cause

      Cons

      Very large and can seem a bit fragmented in our approach but that can also just be the other side of the "diversify your portfolio" coin

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      It was great

      Feb 25, 2020 - Electro-mechanical Technician in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      To corporate , they didn't care about their employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good while it lasted

      Nov 3, 2019 - Senior Solutions Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunity for growth. Great knowledge base. Great people.

      Cons

      Constant restructuring and outsourcing makes for low morale and lots of confusion. State of the newspaper industry.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to work but everywhere has challenges

      May 20, 2019 - Senior Analyst in Des Moines, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, contributing to something bigger than yourself, everyday a new challenge in a positive way, many opportunities to advance or move elsewhere within the company, very generous amount of paid time off

      Cons

      Layoffs happen at least once a year; your job may not exist forever; constant change

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Client Success Manager

      Nov 29, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and database systems

      Cons

      Awful management and restructure has destroyed company moral and client retention

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      [Gannett Digital] Ok place to work. They try hard, but there are some real flaws.

      Oct 14, 2018 - Gannett Digital Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid back company culture, good work/life balance. Decent benefits, trending in right direction. They actually do try to make it a better place. Tons of great people work here. The tech stack embraces progression, it's not stuck in the past.

      Cons

      If you don't work in the D.C. office, or haven't previously, there is a significantly reduced chance of upward mobility. You and your career will be continuously ignored and de-prioritized, moving slower than everyone else. They know this is a problem and have been trying to fix it, but after all my time here I don't have any hope it's going to change. What incentive do those in power have to give it away ? Same goes for many positions/decisions across departments. If you are going to work in D.C. then you're likely ok. Also lets just say the "blameless" culture isn't actually blameless, I've seen some pretty gross things in closed door meetings, ridiculing and mocking other employees. Most people are nice and team players, but not everyone.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Gannett Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gannett? Share Your Experiences

    or