Gap Assistant Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Assistant Store Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
49%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
8 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful job with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is based off experience, the management was friendly, and the discount & benefits were amazing.

    Cons

    Being expected to work every single holiday/weekend and then being scheduled late night closing shifts to early morning opening shifts.

    Gap2017-06-02
  2. "Great Benefits/Crazy Card Goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Katy, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monroy Bonus, Flexible Hours, Culture, Pet Insurance, Volunteer Opportunities

    Cons

    Workload, Credit Card Goals, Shipment, Merchandising Allocation

    Gap2020-02-15
  3. "Mostly positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits for full time employees. Loved working with associates and forming relationships with customers. I learned most aspects of the business over the two years that I worked there. I would have loved to transfer but there was no store close to wear my husband transferred.

    Cons

    My GM just called it in most of the time and didn't really share information from corporate. I was very confident in my abilities because I have had my own business for years but he actually made me a nervous wreck. It was learn it on your own but get all of your responsibilities taken care of and do it without getting overtime. He left and things got so much better.

    Continue reading
    Gap2019-11-13
  4. "Fun but not a career..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere is fun and customers love to spend money!

    Cons

    Sales and loyalty are pushed daily by upper management.

    Gap2019-08-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing , felt like the rug was pulled out from under me when I left."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Central, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and time for yourself during the year.

    Cons

    Be careful no matter how well your managers treat you when you are working here, when they don't need you anymore you are gone. No questions, no chance to change whatever they supposedly are letting you go for, when they don't need you anymore you are brought into your managers office, told you are being let go, you have no chance to find out why you are being let go, no chance to improve yourself , you are just shown the door. Thanks for playing and get out.

    Continue reading
    Gap2018-07-10

    Gap Response

    August 17, 2018Company Representative

    We read each and every employee review that we receive, and we are sorry to hear of your experience as an assistant store manager. We recognize that our leaders play a significant role in our employees’ experience and we appreciate hearing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Austin, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap for more than a year

    Pros

    fun friend discount salary connections

    Cons

    work life balance visits credit cards

    Continue reading
    Gap2018-05-16
  7. "Good Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment for younger people. The benefits are some of the best I've seen, once you become full time. As a gay minority I never once felt out of place with my peers. Any time there was a month celebrating culture of any sort Gap is on top of it the month before spreading the word and really encourage a high employee turnout to any events they throw. They celebrate International Women's Month, Black History Month, Hispanic Heritage Month, Pride Month and more!

    Cons

    Customers , as expected, can be grating. It doesn't feel like there's a natural progression from position to position and it's hard to move out of the store. Options are limited to big cities if you're looking to be anything higher than a General Manager (in store position)

    Continue reading
    Gap2017-06-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager - Merchandise Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benifits, decent pay (not worth the work life balance though)

    Cons

    Upper management plays favorites, and is very clicky

    Gap2016-09-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "So Close Yet So Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gap offers young individuals an opportunity to start their carrier. Gap offers fantastic benefits for full time employees, and can pay competitively for retail.

    Cons

    Gap corporate is very disconnected from the store level. Long hours, and endless stress becomes the norm. Achievements are quickly forgotten, and every month/year you are expected to perform better than you did in the past.

    Continue reading
    Gap2016-06-01
  10. "Give & Take, Mostly Take"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Knoxville, TN

    I worked at Gap

    Pros

    The atmosphere is fun, and the sales people are usually great to work with. Almost no one gets fired even if they're completely incompetent, so you have job security. The benefits plan is great, aside from PTO.

    Cons

    I know retail means long irregular hours, but this company takes it above and beyond. I had no work life balance. They say you get a lot of PTO but everyone on our management team had some expire every June without being able to use it. I was in a high volume store and we constantly had visits and pressure before them.

    Continue reading
    Gap2016-04-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 25 reviews