Gap Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Associate

Gap Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1815 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
325 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "No better place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -flexible hours -super organized and driven managers -fantastic working environment -extremely good employee benefits

    Cons

    not enough hours all the time due to tight pay roll

    Gap2019-03-20

    Gap Response

    April 3, 2019Company Representative

    We're happy to hear about your positive experience on our team! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We understand scheduling can be a pain point for some of our store employees. We're constantly working to improve the way in which we staff our stores.

  2. "Good job flexible hours ok pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a great discount

    Cons

    Moving up or getting raises is hard

    Gap2019-04-26
  3. "Great retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Gap part-time

    Pros

    Great hours and fun place to work

    Cons

    High Turnover rate with employees and management

    Gap2019-10-08
  4. "Fantastic Place, Except for the Gap Card"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great managers and coworkers, allowed to make decisions based on what's best for the customer, ability to shift around based on what you're good at, company is decently moral.

    Cons

    low pay, sometimes far too busy for the small amount of employees working at any given time, low pay. did I say low pay? Pushing Gap card and the rewards program.

    Advice to Management

    Management was great at the location I worked at, but for the higher ups- if you want to keep the amazing people that you hire, you need to pay a competitive amount. Expecting the educated, intelligent, versatile people who offer great customer service, to stay for ~10 dollars an hour is shameful. Overall not a bad place to work.

    Gap2019-10-07
  5. "Sales Associate/Shipment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Southlake, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees were great to work with. Management understood when you needed to take time off.

    Cons

    None, I loved it there.

    Advice to Management

    I had the best managers, they were fun and hard working.

    Gap2019-10-06
  6. "Like any retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Allen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    rewards, good community, reasonable pay, time & a half for holidays

    Cons

    long shifts, got sent home a lot at the end which is why I left from our store not getting customers

    Gap2019-10-05
  7. "Great company but not always the most cohesive management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    growth opportunity great work environment great discount

    Cons

    people onboarded can be easily hired on at a higher rate

    Gap2019-10-04
  8. "Working at Gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team I worked with was great. Flexible hours. Decent pay for retail. Great for little to no experience people who are willing to learn new things.

    Cons

    Little to no room for professional growth.

    Gap2019-10-02
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Huntersville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, employee relationships, ability to move up in roles

    Cons

    Very Strict weekly and monthly goals

    Gap2019-10-01
  10. "Positive Experience That Ended Poorly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gap Outlet Sales Associate in Topeka, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really loved the team that I worked with. Everybody carried their weight and there were enough people that asking for a shift to be covered was easy.

    Cons

    Management put a lot of pressure on selling credit cards, which drove many customers away for good. This seemed to lead to alienating more and more customers, which would ultimately cause the shutting down of the store.

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on credit card and more on customer relationships. You could really tell that pushing more products from customers who were already committing to buying was really frustrating for both parties in the transaction.

    Gap2019-10-01
Found 1815 reviews