Gap Inc. General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for General Manager

Gap Inc. General Manager Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
10 Ratings
  1. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great Flexibility and benefits for full time

    Cons

    working weekends and on holidays

    Advice to Management

    Figure out quicker logistics and smoother program roll outs.

    Gap Inc.2017-01-24
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Encourage growth and provide training to do so.

    Cons

    The retail hours tend to be the hardest component of the job.

    Gap Inc.2019-05-15

    Gap Inc. Response

    May 28, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. At Gap Inc., we are dedicated to providing opportunities for our employees to develop professionally and grow on our team. In fact, many of our longest tenured employees got their start in fashion at one of our stores!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Married to career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    benefits, employee discount, opportunity for growth if truly committed to companu

    Cons

    work/life balance, expected to exceed expectations with very little resources

    Gap Inc.2019-02-14

    Gap Inc. Response

    February 21, 2019Company Representative

    We're fully committed to the career growth and development of our employees. We're happy to see your experience has reflected this! We appreciate your feedback and will keep these points in mind as we continue to drive positive change across the organization.

  4. "Assistant General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good bonus pay when you comp a quarter, nice people that work in stores.

    Cons

    Company is faltering and as a result of poor sales they are cutting management roles and growth opportunities are now limited.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your talented managers better, losing them all is not helping the store experience or your bottom line.

    Gap Inc.2018-08-30

    Gap Inc. Response

    October 8, 2018Company Representative

    Thank you for leaving a review. We’re proud to be able to offer all of our employees a wide variety of benefits and we are happy to see you list these as a pro! We’ve read your feedback regarding career growth opportunities and we appreciate your comments. We have recently relaunched ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Disorganized, high pressure, no work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid pay, full health care, 401k match, growth potential

    Cons

    Always expected to work on day off or after hours due to corporate mishandling of operations, supervisors obsess over brand card results over contribution. No work life balance, benefits are expensive for family - about 500 month for premium hra plan.

    Advice to Management

    Get control of operations, stop last second shipment doubling and tripling, stop last second floor flips with no notice. Value individual contributions, practice what you preach with a focus on a people culture, value each employee's personal time.

    Gap Inc.2018-04-19
  6. "Working for Gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gap is an iconic brand, and the customers at Gap are some of the most loyal I have ever known. This goes for the employee as well, there are some that have worked at Gap for over 30 years. My job expectations are to drive the customer experience, Brand Credit Card, recruit, hire, and train and develop time line talent to drive the customer experience and overall business. I am often running the sales floor, engaging...

    Show More

    Cons

    For a long time Gap did not know what direction they wanted to go in as a company so they were constantly changing to figure out how to best reach the customer, and drive there business in order to stay competitive.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you are very change agile and have a growth mindset.

    Gap Inc.2017-07-31
  7. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great People. Great Company. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Workload. Work life balance. Stressful work.

    Advice to Management

    Be willing to put in work and take initial to grow.

    Gap Inc.2017-07-21
  8. "Gap stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great discount and competitive pay,

    Cons

    Ever changing schedule, poor work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Stop changing things last minute.

    Gap Inc.2017-07-27
  9. "Gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Structure, career pathing, good training materials

    Cons

    Reactionary, slow promotion potential

    Gap Inc.2017-05-10
  10. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in New Haven, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Staff. Amazing District Manager that inspired and pushed her team to deliver the best results.

    Cons

    Not a lot of upward movement past a GM position.

    Gap Inc.2016-09-13
Found 16 reviews