Gap Inc. Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
53 Ratings
  1. "Managing with Gap Inv"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Operations Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    With so many brands there are many opportunities for advancement and movement. Flexible hours, great mentors that value people

    Cons

    Having to work holidays and weekends.

    Gap Inc.2017-10-20
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Positive work environment, big opportunity for advancement if willing to transfer to another store, sister brand, or re-locate, great pto.

      Cons

      Work life balance is that of retail, so not good. That's why the pto is so good.

      Gap Inc.2019-07-16
    • "Positive experience with top global retailer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Legal Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends

      I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Surrounded by passionate and smart people Work-life balance

      Cons

      Too many people needed to make a decision

      Gap Inc.2019-07-03
    • "Great for experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Department Manager 

        I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time

        Pros

        Great health care benefits, matched 401k, stock opportunites

        Cons

        must work holidays, not a good work life balance

        Gap Inc.2019-06-20
      • "You can do better"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Work life balance and culture

        Cons

        Salary and leadership need lots of improvement

        Gap Inc.2019-06-10
      • "End of an era"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Chicago, IL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Peers and subordinates are awesome! Everyone is like family! The pay structure and vacation allowance are best in show

        Cons

        Art Peck has run this company and it’s people into the ground. Gap Inc has lost its luster due in large part because they wish to do the same things they’ve always done. Not only is the company stuck in a time warp, but Art seems to think the business can run like the good old days but with 1/3 of the people. The people are what make the business, that’s why sales are falling, customers are shopping on their own, so they...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Stop churning and burning employees it’s not who you are! And be more respectful of your leaders as they are trying to grow your business. You’re laying off in the Chicago market so I assume my feelings have already fallen on death ears...

        Gap Inc.2019-05-30
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - General Manager 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time

        Pros

        Encourage growth and provide training to do so.

        Cons

        The retail hours tend to be the hardest component of the job.

        Gap Inc.2019-05-15

        Gap Inc. Response

        May 28, 2019Company Representative

        Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. At Gap Inc., we are dedicated to providing opportunities for our employees to develop professionally and grow on our team. In fact, many of our longest tenured employees got their start in fashion at one of our stores!

      • "Good company."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Technical Manager in San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        good technology stack in all areas of application development

        Cons

        like a small fish in a big pond. Headwinds in overall retail segment impacting company growth.

        Gap Inc.2019-04-19

        Gap Inc. Response

        April 23, 2019Company Representative

        Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience on our team. We're thrilled to see you would recommend Gap Inc. as an employer!

      • "OK place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Creative Manager in San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Can be a positive experience depending on department you work under.

        Cons

        Constant corporate restructuring makes for an unstable environment; very limited career development for most hq employees who aren't involved with the field.

        Gap Inc.2019-04-19

        Gap Inc. Response

        April 23, 2019Company Representative

        Thank you for leaving a review. We are fully committed to the professional development of our employees. We will keep your feedback in mind as we continue to promote positive change across the company.

      • Helpful (1)

        "A great company for work/life balance"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great office location, empathetic leadership, excellent work/life balance, no emails on the weekend, and ability to transition between teams and roles across a large, diverse company.

        Cons

        Below average pay range for the location, political culture, leadership does not always have a clear vision to execute on, lots of organizational restructuring.

        Advice to Management

        Spend more time understanding your employees and listening to their ideas.

        Gap Inc.2019-04-08

        Gap Inc. Response

        April 11, 2019Company Representative

        Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will keep these points in mind as we continue our work to improve the experience for all employees across the company.

      Found 106 reviews