Gap Inc. Retail Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Retail Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
8 Ratings
  1. "Great company that I have worked at for 11 months part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    consistently gives breaks to employees, decent pay for the amount of work, good company policies, gapweb, the helpful site where employees can go to check benefits and recognize each other, employee discount, great no tolerance of discrimination policies, and outstanding managers (at least at the store where I work).

    Cons

    Training of new employees could use some attention. The managers are really busy with other tasks, and should direct other employees to train the new associates.

    Advice to Management

    A training checklist of tasks to learn would ensure that all areas are covered, and that the new employees aren't making mistakes that cost many labor hours to undo.

    Gap Inc.2018-09-13

    Gap Inc. Response

    October 2, 2018Company Representative

    Thanks for sharing your experience! We've read your comments regarding training. We believe in setting all of our employees up for success and we're committed to working on this. We recently relaunched our development planning program (GPS), and we're working hard to make sure managers ...

    Show More
  2. "Great First Part-Time Job as a Teenager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mentorship, great community, great values, and ability to move up

    Cons

    I cannot say that there is anything bad about working here.

    Gap Inc.2019-07-17
  3. "Good company to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Wrentham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment If you’re a good employee they will be more flexible and helpful with the hours

    Cons

    During January and February there are no hours to work as an associate, so you barely work 1-2 days a week

    Advice to Management

    None

    Gap Inc.2019-01-22

    Gap Inc. Response

    January 28, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for sharing your feedback on scheduling. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the way in which we staff our stores to ensure we are best utilizing our time and talent.

  4. "Understanding Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Merrimack, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible with scheduling, management is great, nice break room and food access, 30% discount at gap factory, 50% at Gap, Banana Republic, Old Navy and Athleta stores

    Cons

    The customers are very messy, constantly doing the same thing (as with most retail stores)

    Gap Inc.2018-11-29

    Gap Inc. Response

    December 7, 2018Company Representative

    Thank you for your review. We believe in investing in our employees both in and out of the work place and are proud to offer our employees a variety of benefits, including a 50% employee merchandise discount. We're happy to see you listed this as a pro!

  5. "Good Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great organization and cleanliness in stores.

    Cons

    Seemed to be outdated with the target market they were trying to reach.

    Advice to Management

    Find more creative ways to draw customers into the stores and make the experience more integrated.

    Gap Inc.2018-06-25
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good communication between employees, management, and corporate. Solid employee discount Relaxed atmosphere

    Cons

    Low wages (as with many retail jobs) Working with kids can be a bit cumbersome

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Gap Inc.2018-04-17
  7. "Gap factory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Mebane, NC

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours, good pay, good breaks

    Cons

    Management, unprofessional, large work load, constantly working.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t break rules you don’t want to be broken.

    Gap Inc.2018-01-03
  8. "Working at Old Navy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working as a part-time sales/ brand associate has its ups and downs. 1 pro is the flexibility, you are allowed to provide your availability and for the most part, management will allow you to adhere to that schedule.

    Cons

    Lack of communication and training. There are so many hours provided to each store and usually we are short-handed. Also there is a high turnover rate with sales associates and management. If you get used to one management style, you may have a different manager within 6 months to a year. Shifts can get cut without notice/ communication. Whenever new sales associates are hired hours are usually cut for the seasoned/...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with your employees.

    Gap Inc.2017-07-19
  9. "Great summer job at Westfield Mall."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great management, positive environment.

    Cons

    The work can get repetitive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Gap Inc.2017-05-13
  10. "I actually like working at Gap Factory, if only I got enough hours, and if only the employees weren't so fake & snooty."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Tupelo, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One good thing about being employed at Gap factory....you get a 30% employee discount(plus everything is already marked way down too). Another positive....there's variation in schedule/shifts(when I actually HAVE a schedule!!; The store is generally clean and tidy..

    Cons

    Managers shows favoritism BIGGEST TIME!; not very many friendly employees; early morning shipments

    Advice to Management

    Treat ALL employees the same, regardless of age, race, gender, social status....be honest and quit playing dumb and quit being so fake!

    Gap Inc.2017-01-02
Found 16 reviews