Gap Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 896 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
350 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance: many are expected to do overtime especially ahead of big store visits(in 44 reviews)

  • "constant restructuring of upper management(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Data Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great balance between work and personal life

    Cons

    No visible issues but business has to step up

    Gap Inc.2019-03-08

    Gap Inc. Response

    March 18, 2019Company Representative

    At Gap Inc., we believe in the overall well-being of our employees, both in and out of the workplace. We're thrilled to see you note this in your feedback. Thanks for sharing.

  2. "Great company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business and Training Specialist 

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, team building, and accountability

    Cons

    Turnover in management, no follow through in management

    Gap Inc.2019-04-04

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 11, 2019Company Representative

    We're sorry to hear about your experience with management. We have always believed that Gap Inc. should be a place where all of our employees should feel welcome and supported. We work hard to activate this mission across our organization, every day.

  3. "Great for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Department Manager 

      I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time

      Pros

      Great health care benefits, matched 401k, stock opportunites

      Cons

      must work holidays, not a good work life balance

      Gap Inc.2019-06-20
    • "Great first job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      employee discount, flexible hours.

      Cons

      high turnover, low pay, favoritism.

      Gap Inc.2019-06-18
    • "Customer Focused"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Relations Representative 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      You have the ability to grow within your department as well as the company

      Cons

      There are not any cons

      Gap Inc.2019-06-06

      Gap Inc. Response

      June 18, 2019Company Representative

      We're happy to see you note our career growth opportunities as pros. We care deeply about the professional development of our employees. In fact, we're proud to say that many of our longest tenured employees got their start in fashion at one of our stores!

    • "Good Experience in Retail Supply Chain"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Merchandise Handler in Fishkill, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      good variety of tasks, good work culture, great discount on clothes

      Cons

      short breaks, long hours, limited food selection in cafeteria.

      Gap Inc.2019-06-02

      Gap Inc. Response

      June 18, 2019Company Representative

      We're happy to see you'd recommend Gap Inc. as an employer! We appreciate the feedback you have shared with us and will share your comments with relevant teams who are working to improve the employee experience for all.

    • "Alright"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in San Marcos, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Payed decently compared to competing retail jobs

      Cons

      A lot of manager turnover, inconsistent policies, and pushing of crappy credit cards.

      Gap Inc.2019-06-14

      Gap Inc. Response

      June 18, 2019Company Representative

      Thank you for leaving a review. We understand selling credit cards can be a pain point for some of our store employees. We've rolled out our BRIGHT Rewards program to help alleviate the pressure of signing up for a credit card. Hopefully, this will improve the experience for employees ...

      Show More
    • "You can do better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Work life balance and culture

      Cons

      Salary and leadership need lots of improvement

      Gap Inc.2019-06-10
    • "Picking"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - DHL in Groveport, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good pay nice people too work around

      Cons

      Far walk to your vehicle

      Advice to Management

      N/a

      Gap Inc.2019-05-23
    • "good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 

      I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time

      Pros

      good for teens out of high school

      Cons

      little to no room for advancement

      Gap Inc.2019-05-21
    Found 896 reviews