Gap Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 857 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
344 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work/life balance, expected to exceed expectations with very little resources(in 43 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not know what’s going on or what needs done(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Data Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great balance between work and personal life

    Cons

    No visible issues but business has to step up

    Gap Inc.2019-03-08

    Gap Inc. Response

    March 18, 2019Company Representative

    At Gap Inc., we believe in the overall well-being of our employees, both in and out of the workplace. We're thrilled to see you note this in your feedback. Thanks for sharing.

  2. "Great company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business and Training Specialist 

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, team building, and accountability

    Cons

    Turnover in management, no follow through in management

    Gap Inc.2019-04-04

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 11, 2019Company Representative

    We're sorry to hear about your experience with management. We have always believed that Gap Inc. should be a place where all of our employees should feel welcome and supported. We work hard to activate this mission across our organization, every day.

  3. "Good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good technology stack in all areas of application development

    Cons

    like a small fish in a big pond. Headwinds in overall retail segment impacting company growth.

    Gap Inc.2019-04-19
  4. "Experience depends on who your boss is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Merchant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great and fun teammates, smart coworkers

    Cons

    I happened to have a bad manager that was loved by leadership but hated by everyone she managed. This happens a lot at Gap, but it doesn't happen on every team.

    Advice to Management

    Less politics and bureaucracy

    Gap Inc.2019-04-20
  5. "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can be a positive experience depending on department you work under.

    Cons

    Constant corporate restructuring makes for an unstable environment; very limited career development for most hq employees who aren't involved with the field.

    Gap Inc.2019-04-19
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Gap Inc. part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    fun environment, fast-paced, great discoun

    Cons

    A lot of expectations while working the floor

    Gap Inc.2019-04-19
  7. "Overall, too much burden on managers for not enough benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time

      Pros

      -benefits better than most if you're part-time (401k, some health care) -pay equity

      Cons

      -work life balance: many are expected to do overtime especially ahead of big store visits -no PTO for part-time workers even though half of management is technically part time and are expected to work nearly full time -constant restructuring of upper management -too much pressure and work expected out of only a few people leading a store

      Gap Inc.2019-04-10
    • "They will fire you after a year"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Cashier 

        I worked at Gap Inc. part-time

        Pros

        Flexible schedule for part time

        Cons

        They will fire you after a year

        Gap Inc.2019-04-09
      • "A great company for work/life balance"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great office location, empathetic leadership, excellent work/life balance, no emails on the weekend, and ability to transition between teams and roles across a large, diverse company.

        Cons

        Below average pay range for the location, political culture, leadership does not always have a clear vision to execute on, lots of organizational restructuring.

        Advice to Management

        Spend more time understanding your employees and listening to their ideas.

        Gap Inc.2019-04-08

        Gap Inc. Response

        April 11, 2019Company Representative

        Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will keep these points in mind as we continue our work to improve the experience for all employees across the company.

      • "Excellent Friendly Culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Easygoing Culture, Daily Incentives,Upward Mobility

        Cons

        Pay could be better in my opnion--Thats It!

        Advice to Management

        Keep Up The Good Work

        Gap Inc.2019-03-23

        Gap Inc. Response

        April 11, 2019Company Representative

        Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy to see you note our career growth opportunities as a pro. At Gap Inc., we are proud to say that many of our longest tenured employees got their start in fashion at one of our stores!

      Found 857 reviews