Gap Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 924 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
359 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance: many are expected to do overtime especially ahead of big store visits(in 45 reviews)

  • "constant restructuring of upper management(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Data Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great balance between work and personal life

    Cons

    No visible issues but business has to step up

    Gap Inc.2019-03-08

    Gap Inc. Response

    March 18, 2019Company Representative

    At Gap Inc., we believe in the overall well-being of our employees, both in and out of the workplace. We're thrilled to see you note this in your feedback. Thanks for sharing.

  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Adopting to new technology and great work culture.

    Cons

    No cons for this great organization.

    Gap Inc.2019-08-14
  3. "Amazing group of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Technical Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great benefits. Enjoyed my time working at the Gap.

    Cons

    Hard to recruit people to IT for retail in the hotbed of San Fran.

    Gap Inc.2019-08-09
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Planner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of smart and good people

    Cons

    Not long enough to know

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Gap Inc.2019-08-02
  5. "Horrible leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchant -Gap Brand 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great group of diverse, creative people. You’re always learning.

    Cons

    Leadship and company culture. Leadership doesn't seem to understand that a company can’t turn around until it fixes its culture. It doesn’t matter how amazing of an assortment you have. How employees feel about the company culture directly correlates with how the customer feels towards the brand -you don’t need to have an MBA to realize that.

    Advice to Management

    Trust the people you hire to do their jobs. Think more about what’s right for the customer. Focus on fixing the company culture -take note from companies like Zappos!

    Gap Inc.2019-08-14
  6. "Great Experience So Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Short Hills, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive people to work around. They work with you the best they can. They offer tuition assitance, childcare help, medical coverage among other things.

    Cons

    The standard hours are not always guaranteed as well as nor exactly equal opportunity for internal growth.

    Advice to Management

    How can we create opportunities for growth for sales associates aside from using perks incentives?

    Gap Inc.2019-07-24

    Gap Inc. Response

    August 8, 2019Company Representative

    We appreciate hearing about your employee perspective. At Gap Inc., we value the professional development and career growth of our employees. We have re-launched our development planning program, GPS, and are working hard to make sure managers are accountable for their direct reports’ ...

    Show More
  7. "Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Associate Sorter in Fresno, CA

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get payed good . Benefits are good smooth schedule

    Cons

    The heat , work in a heat fast environment

    Advice to Management

    They teach u the best . And if u don’t get it the first time they will help you out

    Gap Inc.2019-07-25

    Gap Inc. Response

    August 8, 2019Company Representative

    Thanks for leaving a review about your experience. We believe in teaching our employee skills they can utilize to succeed on our team and beyond.

  8. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Huntsville, AL

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discount and crazy markdown items.

    Cons

    Sometimes there would be negative pressure to get Gapcards. The schedule was also very unreliable and there was no guarantee you'd get the hours you want.

    Gap Inc.2019-08-04
  9. "Company with strong values going through an identity crisis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy and Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance and solid brands!

    Cons

    A Highly bureaucratic work culture!

    Gap Inc.2019-08-02
  10. "Not hard but very boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Pembroke Pines, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn sales, learn to market through card program, and learn to build bridges

    Cons

    Some of the most boring and unfulfilling work I've ever done in my life

    Gap Inc.2019-07-30
Found 924 reviews