Gap Inc. Sales Associate/Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 909 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
356 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Data Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great balance between work and personal life

    Cons

    No visible issues but business has to step up

    Gap Inc.2019-03-08

    Gap Inc. Response

    March 18, 2019Company Representative

    At Gap Inc., we believe in the overall well-being of our employees, both in and out of the workplace. We're thrilled to see you note this in your feedback. Thanks for sharing.

  2. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Huntersville, NC

      I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling, wide variety of responsibilities, excellent employee benefits, great place to form connections with coworkers and customers.

      Cons

      Some complicated transaction procedures based on out-dated information

      Gap Inc.2019-07-15
    • "Great First Part-Time Job as a Teenager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in San Leandro, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Mentorship, great community, great values, and ability to move up

      Cons

      I cannot say that there is anything bad about working here.

      Gap Inc.2019-07-17
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

        I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Positive work environment, big opportunity for advancement if willing to transfer to another store, sister brand, or re-locate, great pto.

        Cons

        Work life balance is that of retail, so not good. That's why the pto is so good.

        Gap Inc.2019-07-16
      • "Great Company!!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Corporate Employee in San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        The Gap Inc culture is special. I truly enjoy working for this iconic brand, and feel supported every day. The company is very forward thinking with it's views on diversity and its progressive sustainability plans and overall goals to make the world a better place.

        Cons

        The unknown with regards to the the Old Navy split is on people's minds but because of the other brands within the company, it's just a little bump in the road.

        Advice to Management

        None. I feel supported.

        Gap Inc.2019-06-29
      • "Great for experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Department Manager 

          I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time

          Pros

          Great health care benefits, matched 401k, stock opportunites

          Cons

          must work holidays, not a good work life balance

          Gap Inc.2019-06-20
        • "Great first job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          employee discount, flexible hours.

          Cons

          high turnover, low pay, favoritism.

          Gap Inc.2019-06-18
        • "Positive experience with top global retailer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Legal Manager in San Francisco, CA
          Recommends

          I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          Surrounded by passionate and smart people Work-life balance

          Cons

          Too many people needed to make a decision

          Gap Inc.2019-07-03
        • "Really a bad company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Sales Associate in Dunwoody, GA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Meeting new people and they honored my Request for Sundays off due to the being on staff as a musician at church for two services. That’s bout it.

          Cons

          Where do I even Start. For one they told me I would get full time hours once I get hired my paper work says part time work four hrs a day. Three days a week. So my checks. Are very small. They throw you under the bus they don’t train you the only correct you when I see you make a mistake I’ve been there for over a month have not learned cashier yet. I’ve worked for banana Republic for over 10 years ago back home in...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Listen more to your employees care about their needs realize the people that are there that are hard-working and trying to do better don’t be so quick to chastise them when they’re sick they can’t control that be more understanding I don’t just wait until they make a mistake train them when they first arrive show them all the ropes the nooks and crannies about the business the standards etc. etc. etc. etc.

          Gap Inc.2019-07-03
        • "Good work life balance but very difficult to move up in Company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Reporting Analyst in San Francisco, CA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          great work / life balance...low pressure

          Cons

          promotions are very rare over all ....

          Gap Inc.2019-06-30
        Found 909 reviews