Gap Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 987 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
386 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Data Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great balance between work and personal life

    Cons

    No visible issues but business has to step up

    Gap Inc.2019-03-08

    Gap Inc. Response

    March 18, 2019Company Representative

    At Gap Inc., we believe in the overall well-being of our employees, both in and out of the workplace. We're thrilled to see you note this in your feedback. Thanks for sharing.

  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Adopting to new technology and great work culture.

    Cons

    No cons for this great organization.

    Gap Inc.2019-08-14
  3. "Amazing group of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Technical Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great benefits. Enjoyed my time working at the Gap.

    Cons

    Hard to recruit people to IT for retail in the hotbed of San Fran.

    Gap Inc.2019-08-09
  4. "Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Associate Sorter in Fresno, CA

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get payed good . Benefits are good smooth schedule

    Cons

    The heat , work in a heat fast environment

    Advice to Management

    They teach u the best . And if u don’t get it the first time they will help you out

    Gap Inc.2019-07-25

    Gap Inc. Response

    August 8, 2019Company Representative

    Thanks for leaving a review about your experience. We believe in teaching our employee skills they can utilize to succeed on our team and beyond.

  5. "Great Experience So Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Short Hills, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive people to work around. They work with you the best they can. They offer tuition assitance, childcare help, medical coverage among other things.

    Cons

    The standard hours are not always guaranteed as well as nor exactly equal opportunity for internal growth.

    Advice to Management

    How can we create opportunities for growth for sales associates aside from using perks incentives?

    Gap Inc.2019-07-24

    Gap Inc. Response

    August 8, 2019Company Representative

    We appreciate hearing about your employee perspective. At Gap Inc., we value the professional development and career growth of our employees. We have re-launched our development planning program, GPS, and are working hard to make sure managers are accountable for their direct reports’ ...

    Show More
  6. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Huntersville, NC

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, wide variety of responsibilities, excellent employee benefits, great place to form connections with coworkers and customers.

    Cons

    Some complicated transaction procedures based on out-dated information

    Gap Inc.2019-07-15

    Gap Inc. Response

    July 23, 2019Company Representative

    Thanks for sharing your employee experience with us! We're happy to see you note our company as a "wonderful place to work"! We work hard to create a culture in which everyone is welcome and supported.

  7. "Great Company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Gap Inc culture is special. I truly enjoy working for this iconic brand, and feel supported every day. The company is very forward thinking with it's views on diversity and its progressive sustainability plans and overall goals to make the world a better place.

    Cons

    The unknown with regards to the the Old Navy split is on people's minds but because of the other brands within the company, it's just a little bump in the road.

    Advice to Management

    None. I feel supported.

    Gap Inc.2019-06-29

    Gap Inc. Response

    July 23, 2019Company Representative

    We're thrilled to hear about your employee experience and appreciate your thoughtful feedback. We work hard to create a culture in which everyone is welcome and supported. It's great to see your experience aligns with the way we approach our work. Thanks for sharing!

  8. "very friendly team and welcoming culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Technology Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. for less than a year

    Pros

    -we had a lot of learning lunches with top executives -my team encouraged me to go to a lot events the hosted (teaching about Gap's sustainability in the industry, how to manage your 401k/retirement, etc.)

    Cons

    -i wish different departments collaborated more on projects/ideas

    Gap Inc.2019-06-20

    Gap Inc. Response

    July 23, 2019Company Representative

    This is what we love to hear! We believe in teaching our employees skills we can utilize to succeed and grow throughout their careers. We're happy to see your experience reflected the way we approach our work!

  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time

    Pros

    good for teens out of high school

    Cons

    little to no room for advancement

    Gap Inc.2019-05-21
  10. "Great work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Desktop Support Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment at Gap

    Cons

    No Cons so far at Gap

    Gap Inc.2019-05-04

    Gap Inc. Response

    May 7, 2019Company Representative

    No cons? This is what we love to hear! Thanks for taking the time to share what it's like to work on our team!

Found 987 reviews